Chevron Left
返回到 ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements 的评价和反馈

4.5
86 个评分
26 条评论

课程概述

This course is for activists, artists, and thinkers who wish to better understand and participate in social change. We will focus on the prolific and exciting overlap between socially engaged art and cultural practices generated by recent social movements around the world. Rather than assess the political efficacy of activities like mourning, listening, organizing, dancing, or partying, the lectures examine such cultural activities next to, and within, contemporary art practice. Included in the course are guest presentations by key artists, activists, and scholars, like: Rebecca Gomperts, Chido Govera, Gulf Labor, Hans Haacke, Sharon Hayes, Jolene Rickard, Gregory Sholette, Joshua Wong, and many more. Designed by artist and Duke professor, Pedro Lasch and co-taught by Creative Time artistic director, Nato Thompson, the course challenges learners to treat the MOOC itself as a social and artistic form. This happens mostly through the practical components, local project productions, global exchanges, and critical feedback. While no prior art making or activist experience is required, projects also offer challenging options for advanced learners. For other course offerings or language versions in this series, just search 'ART of the MOOC' inside the Coursera course catalogue....

热门审阅

SD

May 30, 2020

Muchas gracias por los contenidos. Descubri nuevos artistas, temas y proyectos para trabajar en equipo con Arquitectos y Diseñadores.\n\nSaludos cordiales,\n\nSandra Daza\n\nHistoriadora del Arte

IA

May 23, 2018

This course was really helpful in understanding the significance of art in social activism, and the project was a lot of fun.

筛选依据:

1 - ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements 的 25 个评论(共 27 个)

创建者 Sara R

Oct 05, 2017

This course has been such a nourishing experience and such an exiting opportunity to learn about great artists and wonderful rebel souls of around the world. I thank you very deeply because this course has reinforced my motivation to create, to express my most deep thoughts and to take positive action for what I believe in as a person and as an artist. Special thanks to Pedro Lasch and Nato Thompson.

Regards,

Sara Rojas

saelrosa@gmail.com

创建者 Eliza M

Mar 01, 2018

It is an extraordinary tool of learning about history of activism, contemporary artistic movements, exhibitions and civil society. At the same time it teaches you how these elements relate to our daily life, reveal controversial social problems, ignite creativity to create a plural discussion forum and eventually influence beneficial social change towards a more inclusive living environment.

创建者 Lina C

Jul 05, 2020

Fantastic overview. I was definitely broadened in my thinking and understanding. I also was exposed to a good spread of variation and artists to give breath to the concepts, and also introspection to who I may be, what my contributions, comforts, discomforts, and options are. What are the issues that embolden me? And more of a framework for enactments.

创建者 Wendy

Aug 06, 2019

I am applying for grad schools for my Phd. I am reevaluating what direction I want to go in and this course was part of my decision to change direction. Where I am in my life right now, I am not relocating otherwise I would apply to Duke. One of my classmates did and we are in touch, I'm slightly envious.

创建者 Melissa S

Jan 04, 2018

I have gained an appreciation for forms of social activism and the contributions of artists to social activism. This was a life changing course for me. I highly recommend it to others who are concerned about the trends towards authoritarianism and the stifling of the debate of ideas.

创建者 Kristina S

Feb 20, 2019

I was learning a lot from this course! getting familiar with activism history, concept, rethinking common things from another angle. watching videos is not enough, google all the concepts and art performances! all the best to professors!

创建者 Laura P

Oct 19, 2019

A fantastic, inspiring course that has reconnected me to my creativity and introduced me to powerful artist activists who are effectively raising awareness about important social issues through art.

创建者 sandra d

May 30, 2020

Muchas gracias por los contenidos. Descubri nuevos artistas, temas y proyectos para trabajar en equipo con Arquitectos y Diseñadores.

Saludos cordiales,

Sandra Daza

Historiadora del Arte

创建者 Ina A

May 23, 2018

This course was really helpful in understanding the significance of art in social activism, and the project was a lot of fun.

创建者 Daniela F

May 05, 2020

So interested to have a everyday reflection about our context, to experience art in everyday life

创建者 Lane M

Jun 30, 2020

I plan to go back and rewatch some guest lessons and look at the materials in the future.

创建者 Steve B

Jul 08, 2018

Exciting, different & eye-opening. Innovative assessment strategy (once it opens)!

创建者 Maxine C

Nov 16, 2017

Wonderful Course, very enlightening and empowering. makes you think!!

创建者 Ellen M

Jun 10, 2018

Loved this! Thank you for collecting this info into s course.

创建者 Doug M

May 14, 2020

A great course to be part of. a good learning experience

创建者 Jon

Apr 27, 2018

This has been literally the best educational experience.

创建者 Viktoryia

Mar 02, 2017

Wow! It was such an inspiring journey!

创建者 JOHN Q

Jul 01, 2017

Interesting course. Thanks.

创建者 Anna F P

Dec 23, 2017

I love it. Thank you!

创建者 Ana S M G

Mar 27, 2018

Maravilloso!

创建者 Ayushi

Jun 13, 2020

FAB :)

创建者 Selina S

Jul 04, 2020

I really loved many aspects of the information this course touched on and found many of the artist discussions and projects very inspiring. Pedro was an insightful and generous interviewer. The honours assessments were interesting and challenging and took me out of my comfort zone, in a good way. BUT it feels like it has become a set and forget project for the instructors. The transcriptions are often inaccurate or missing sections, the audio occasionally bad, and many of the links with a 404 feeling that you've landed somewhere that once was, but no longer is. The promised network of collaboration is not easily accessible and disappointingly the forums posts are a little like having a ships in the night greetings with not much follow up. Really could use active moderation and better archiving of projects to draw on for inspiration.

创建者 Jason R

Jan 01, 2017

The bi-weekly assignments mixed with the bi-weekly lessons is a really great course structure. The audio on some of the videos interviews can be poor, and I wish some lectures, especially the last one were more in depth, but over all great course with a good pace.

创建者 Paola L

Apr 12, 2018

Great explanations for entry level art students, perhaps I would have liked them to go a little deeper into each topic. The interviews with other artists were very nice, the visuals and references throughout the course were very appropiate.

创建者 Monica A

Apr 16, 2020

Nato Thompson is the WORST. If you can get past him interrupting Pedro Lasch at every opportunity he gets, you'll be able to survive the course. I also feel that the transcription of the lectures needs to reviewed and improved quite a bit.