Chevron Left
返回到 ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements 的评价和反馈

4.5
128 个评分
36 条评论

课程概述

This course is for activists, artists, and thinkers who wish to better understand and participate in social change. We will focus on the prolific and exciting overlap between socially engaged art and cultural practices generated by recent social movements around the world. Rather than assess the political efficacy of activities like mourning, listening, organizing, dancing, or partying, the lectures examine such cultural activities next to, and within, contemporary art practice. Included in the course are guest presentations by key artists, activists, and scholars, like: Rebecca Gomperts, Chido Govera, Gulf Labor, Hans Haacke, Sharon Hayes, Jolene Rickard, Gregory Sholette, Joshua Wong, and many more. Designed by artist and Duke professor, Pedro Lasch and co-taught by Creative Time artistic director, Nato Thompson, the course challenges learners to treat the MOOC itself as a social and artistic form. This happens mostly through the practical components, local project productions, global exchanges, and critical feedback. While no prior art making or activist experience is required, projects also offer challenging options for advanced learners. For other course offerings or language versions in this series, just search 'ART of the MOOC' inside the Coursera course catalogue....

热门审阅

KK

Jan 4, 2022

Absolutely wonderful course. Detailed, informative and extremely interesting. I frequently refer back to information related to this course. Highly recommended.

IA

May 22, 2018

This course was really helpful in understanding the significance of art in social activism, and the project was a lot of fun.

筛选依据:

26 - ART of the MOOC: Activism and Social Movements 的 38 个评论(共 38 个)

创建者 JOHN Q

Jul 1, 2017

Interesting course. Thanks.

创建者 Stavroula V

Jan 25, 2021

excellent, most interesting

创建者 Taozheng Z

Jul 12, 2021

Raise riots & mobs, cool

创建者 flavia p

Dec 22, 2017

I love it. Thank you!

创建者 Ana S M G

Mar 27, 2018

Maravilloso!

创建者 Moises G G

Jul 14, 2021

muy bueno

创建者 AYUSHI 1

Jun 13, 2020

FAB :)

创建者 Selina S

Jul 3, 2020

I really loved many aspects of the information this course touched on and found many of the artist discussions and projects very inspiring. Pedro was an insightful and generous interviewer. The honours assessments were interesting and challenging and took me out of my comfort zone, in a good way. BUT it feels like it has become a set and forget project for the instructors. The transcriptions are often inaccurate or missing sections, the audio occasionally bad, and many of the links with a 404 feeling that you've landed somewhere that once was, but no longer is. The promised network of collaboration is not easily accessible and disappointingly the forums posts are a little like having a ships in the night greetings with not much follow up. Really could use active moderation and better archiving of projects to draw on for inspiration.

创建者 Jason R

Jan 1, 2017

The bi-weekly assignments mixed with the bi-weekly lessons is a really great course structure. The audio on some of the videos interviews can be poor, and I wish some lectures, especially the last one were more in depth, but over all great course with a good pace.

创建者 Paola L

Apr 12, 2018

Great explanations for entry level art students, perhaps I would have liked them to go a little deeper into each topic. The interviews with other artists were very nice, the visuals and references throughout the course were very appropiate.

创建者 Rebecca N

Apr 22, 2021

Interesting course materials. I particularly enjoyed the guest lecturers. Some of the main lectures were a bit scattered and difficult to follow. Also the subtitling and notes on the various videos were poorly done, often leaving out the most important words and replacing them with : [foreign]. At one point the coursera subtitles, which was just the word foreign, obscured the video subtitles so that I couldn’t read them.

创建者 Monica A

Apr 16, 2020

Nato Thompson is the WORST. If you can get past him interrupting Pedro Lasch at every opportunity he gets, you'll be able to survive the course. I also feel that the transcription of the lectures needs to reviewed and improved quite a bit.

创建者 Alisha B

Jun 6, 2021

Not what I was expecting but I'm glad I stayed for the whole course. I learned something new and that's all you can ask for.