Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Algae

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Introduction to Algae 的评价和反馈

4.7
984 个评分
286 条评论

课程概述

This course was produced by the Algae Technology Educational Consortium and UC San Diego with funding from the Algae Foundation, the National Renewable Energy Lab, and the U.S. Department of Energy. Algae are an extremely diverse group of organisms that can be found in almost every ecosystem on the planet, and they play an essential role for life on earth. They are little bio-factories that use the process of photosynthesis to create chemical compounds that we can utilize for food, feed, medicine, and even energy. We’ve brought together some of foremost algae experts from industry and academia to teach you the fundamentals of algae. This course will cover what algae are, why they are important, and why we are interested in them for both their environmental benefit, as well as their use for products. You will also explore the vast diversity of algae including the characteristics and applications of some of the main types of algae that are in commercial use today. Later you will learn about algal ecology and how interactions with environment, including pests and predators, affect algal productivity. And finally you will examine the processes of algae bio-manufacturing including production processes, as well as some of the products, benefits, and challenges that impact our ability to make commercially viable products from algae....

热门审阅

AZ
Apr 9, 2019

one of the best course to know everything about algae. I recommend all people who decided to work on algae pass this course. I learnt about different aspects of algae and seaweed. thanks Coursera.

PG
Apr 15, 2020

Very interesting and inspiring course! So cool to learn about the history and great diversity of algae, as well as the potential uses of algae in renewable energy and for sustainable materials.

筛选依据:

26 - Introduction to Algae 的 50 个评论(共 284 个)

创建者 Tee C S

Jul 1, 2020

Very interesting course started with introduction of the algae classification, how to grow the algae large scale to harvesting the cells. It also cover the bio-manufacturing which I found most interesting. I wish the algae bio-manufacturing expanding in the future to produce value added products.

创建者 vicky v

May 10, 2020

Very educational, didatic, ineresting and entretaining course. It gives great insight of algae and algae production. The professors speak fluently and clearly for the student to be able to undestand and keep up with the course. I really liked it, and would totally recommend it.

创建者 Savannah P

Dec 30, 2019

I found this course to be informative and interesting! The instructors lessons on algae diversity, ecology and applications were all very captivating. This course strengthened my existing interest in algae technologies and I am grateful that it was made available to the public.

创建者 Luis E R G

Jul 8, 2020

This was an excellent course, so clear and easy to understand, it goes over all the major important subjects in the matters if algae, I hope some day this folks will open a new course about algae a little step further, like more specialized in taxonomic or applied industry.

创建者 Alyson M

Oct 2, 2021

As a long time fishkeeper, I've always been curious about all the different types of algae in my tanks. This course was an interesting look at algae's potential as a renewable and more eco-friendly solution to manufacturing so many of the products we use every day.

创建者 Ruth H

Sep 7, 2021

​an interesting introduction to this topic. I thought I knew a bit about algae as a biology teacher, but I learned a lot more about them biologically and was introduced to a new and amazing area of the economic uses of algae. Thanks for the opportunity!

创建者 Harry A H

Oct 15, 2020

Fascinating subject. Extremely well presented by a team of some ten people., but the information is well divided between them. The lectures are well to the point. Does exactly what it says it will, give you a good introduction to the subject.

创建者 Jiawei L

Nov 3, 2020

Very interesting and awarding course. Many speakers/professors will talk about different aspects of the algae industry. You will also learn about the background of algae. No biology background is required. You will learn a great deal.

创建者 Muhammad A K

Jun 5, 2021

Courses from UCSD are very very informative, and interesting at the same time. This course is no exception. An extremely informative course which broadens your perspective of how to use algae, a green alternative, in so many ways....

创建者 Kenan Y T

May 25, 2021

Amazing course. As a master student in plant sciences, I broadened my perspective on algae research. This course also enabled me to identify ongoing issues and groups that are working on them. Thanks for making this available.!!

创建者 Abhilash K

Apr 10, 2019

It is the perfect Introductory course on algae ,most of the explanation is given in simple language from one algae pioneers , I would suggest every one this course , who want to know the applications of these beautiful creatures

创建者 Jhonny E R E

Oct 11, 2020

Muy buen curso, he aprendido muchas cosas básicas que no sabia a pesar de que he realizado cultivos experimentales de microalgas en la Universidad. Muy satisfecho con el contenido y con los profesionales que dictan las clases.

创建者 Kester L C

Sep 12, 2019

Thought it was a nice accessible course for a beginner to algae, as I was. It covered key topics comprehensively, and touched on more complex issues to give students an idea of how to study further if desired. Recommended!

创建者 WIRINDUGE A (

Nov 4, 2020

I was able to improve my knowledge. This course is very important for the degree I am currently studying (Aquatic Resources Technology degree program). Thanks to Coursera for giving me the opportunity to do this course.

创建者 Aleksandar M

Oct 30, 2019

Great introductory course for anyone who thinks algae are not interesting. There should be more courses like this, dedicated to groups of organisms that are neglected, yet essential and crucial members of our biosphere.

创建者 Pim v d B

Nov 2, 2018

This coarse gives plenty of insights in different algae spiecies and how they are used. Some material is repeated multiple times which makes it more easy to remember. The lectures are all from the field of algae!

创建者 Vijayalakshmi.M

May 24, 2020

Thanks a lot for providing good opportunity to learn basics of algae. Im happy to join in this course and successfully completed this course. Minimum effort gives better knowledge, it's possible by this course

创建者 Ian F

Jan 20, 2020

This is an excellent introductory course to Phycology and Algal Bio-Manufacturing. Highly recommended to anyone pursuing the fields of marine biology, botany, ecology, bio-manufacturing, or cellular biology.

创建者 Gabriela R S B

Dec 17, 2020

It's a great course to have a general idea of the processes involved in biomanufacturing algae. The course covers all the essentials to understand key processes. And very well explained. Thanks from Paraguay

创建者 Samantha A

Nov 2, 2020

I had already earned a degree in marine biology. This course was a great insight on what is done with algae in terms of renewable sources and energy. Excited to get more involved with algae and biofuels.

创建者 Julien

Mar 25, 2019

Clear (even for a French guy!), very interesting and many informations about the potential of algaes in the futur (bio products, alimentation, car fuel…) A revelation !

Thank you to all the team :)

创建者 Gerardy D R V

Aug 26, 2021

It is an incredible course. They have a great way to explain every topic and I can use all of this information to understand Algae and it really motivates me to continue investigating about it.

创建者 ALEJANDRO C M

May 14, 2020

Aunque soy de habla hispana entendí completamente el curso, tiene muy buenas explicaciones sobre todo el universo de las algas, conocerlas y saber sus aplicaciones; un curso muy recomendado.

创建者 Scha k

Jul 17, 2021

Absolutely wonderful course. They teach about algae in the most interesting and engaging way possible, I'd love to immediately start working with them on algae research! What a cool field!