Chevron Left
返回到 算法,第一部分

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 算法,第一部分 的评价和反馈

4.9
5,741 个评分
1,182 个审阅

课程概述

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

RM

Jun 01, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

BJ

Jun 03, 2018

Good contents and the logic of the whole course structure is very clear for a novice like me. The weekly homework is also awesome. Would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about computer science.

筛选依据:

1 - 算法,第一部分 的 25 个评论(共 1,134 个)

创建者 Sai

Jun 05, 2017

I am a bit dissapointed for the fact that this forces people to code in Java. Need to provide flexibility for someone coming from C/C++/Python who are well versed and can code in those. It becomes more of programming hurdle than logic implementation.

创建者 Eduardo C C

Apr 12, 2019

Everybody should take and learn from this and the algorithms II courses, both are awesome. Why?, because you will learn a lot of skills beyond the algorithms taught in the course, (which by the way are all awesome, for example you will learn to implement the kd-tree algorithm and also how it is used for computer graphic acceleration and how it's implemented in the famous machine learning algorithm k-NN, and if you dive a little more in the material you will be able to run the famous flocking boids algorithm developed by Craig Reynolds in the field of artificial life)

By working on the project assignments, you will learn by doing the best practices in OOP, coding style and documentation writing. And the most important, you will gain the skills necessary to think algorithmically to effectively solve hard problems and how to write fast and memory efficient code. All those skills will be very useful when you work in your own projects.

Also, you will understand why a good algorithm worths much more than a super computer and the importance of its study, because knowing about algorithms will make you able to answer questions like: how do I now if the algorithm I'm writing is the best option available to solve this kind of problem?, Does my algorithm scale well with the size of the problem I'm trying to solve? and much more. After completing this course you will be able to answer all these very important questions and you will have the right skillset to tackle real world problems. Definitely this and the algorithms II courses are among the bests courses in the world available in CS and you can take both for free!!!!

创建者 Oleksii M

Apr 08, 2017

Even though there is a lot of useful information in this course, I personally don’t like it. I wouldn’t take this course again if I had a chance to go back in time.

All hometasks are much more about programing in Java than algorithms. Open any week's discussion forum, you will find out that 90% questions and problems are about Java, not algorithms. If you are not a professional programer, you will spend at least 30-40 hours a weak instead of 6-10 hours.

5 week’s task is just a pure joke: 30 minutes explanation about most difficult structure in the course and not a single line of code.. After that you must write it by yourself. Just look at week 5 discussion forum. Do you know why there are 42 topics in week 3 and only 7 in week 5? Because people decide not to do it.

The goal of a teacher must be to make students love the course\matherial\science, not to hate it. I’m not sure about hating, but it was annoying as hell.

创建者 Bosheng J

Jun 03, 2018

Good contents and the logic of the whole course structure is very clear for a novice like me. The weekly homework is also awesome. Would recommend to anyone who wants to learn about computer science.

创建者 Robert M

Jun 01, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

创建者 Maruf H

Jan 02, 2019

I've completed both Part I and Part II. So my review belongs to two of the courses.

I took this course to gain a better understanding of data structures and algorithms and also to learn more about the Java language.

Best way to learn algorithms is through visualization. In this course, Professor Sedgewick slowly but steadily presents each algorithm and data structure with dynamic visualization. The animations really help to clarify exactly how the algorithms process the data and solve a problem.

Another important aspect is that this course discusses the implementation details of the algorithms by using Java programming language. They developed a java library where almost all the algorithms in a traditional algorithm text-book have been implemented. It's really satisfying to read such nice, concise and elegant code.

I started this course with an intermediate level of knowledge on Java. That's why it was pretty easy for me to keep pace with the implementation challenges. However, I learn and apply many java specific technique such as generics, iterator, object equality, immutability, testing etc. in-depth in this course. From my experience, I would recommend, to get the most out of the course, you should have a little bit of programming experience in Java.

In order to pass the course, you have to complete a programming assignment in each week. The assignments are well written, pretty much challenging and fun to solve. You will get the feelings to solve large-scale complex problems. They expect you to spend 3-5 hours for an assignment to pass (80%) each assignment. However, I lost track of how much time I spent to chase the benchmarks for 100% in each assignment. You will definitely have a challenging time to score 100%.

The evaluation system of the assignment is very sensitive. You have to maintain a prescribed API, otherwise, your solution will not be accepted. I wonder about their effort, how much time they spend to make such unit testing code. In some cases, I see that they wrote 1200-1500 lines of unit testing code to check our only 200-300 lines of solution, definitely praiseworthy!

Overall, this was a great course and it was a great opportunity for me to take such an enriched algorithm course. I highly recommend it to every serious programmer who wants to learn more about data structures, algorithms, and the Java language.

创建者 Reuben P

Jun 11, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

创建者 Nathanael Y

Feb 14, 2019

Simply awesome, the slides, lecture and assignments are very good. The assignments are challenging and difficult, but just enough for you to finish them and improve yourself. I would definitely recommend this course to every programmer I know.

创建者 Muhammad D

Feb 15, 2019

I am so grateful for this course. I had to practice Java, which is something I haven't done in years. I loved the historical explanation behind red-black trees. Especially, I loved the tasks .. they were very difficult, engaging and it felt so good after finishing them :) . Thank you very much for the effort and the well-crafted material.

创建者 Manoj K

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course material, including the programing assignments.

I wish there were additional programming assignments spanning more topics from the course (shorter ones in addition to those in this course).

创建者 Yu H

Dec 10, 2018

best algorithm course I've ever seen!

创建者 Tao Z

Jan 01, 2019

非常好,清晰明了。

创建者 志勇 赵

Nov 30, 2018

评分系统太棒了,老爷子讲的也真的是好,课件和学校用的真不一样,太用心了

创建者 GK

Nov 01, 2016

Extremely well designed course. The assignments touch all the concepts taught in the class. Lot of concepts get clarified when you try to reach 100% on each assignment. Highly recommend this course.

创建者 Kamenskyi S

Feb 03, 2019

The most interesting and compelling course on Coursera. The autograde java program is awesome!!!!

创建者 Derevyanko N S

Feb 23, 2019

Курс рекомендую для людей которые совсем далеки от алгоритмов и хотят начать в них разбираться. Если вы уже имеете представления о том как оценивать сложность алгоритма и знаете хоть какие-то структуры данных, то этот курс будет слишком легким и мало что нового вы из него узнаете. Лучше начните сразу со второй части этого курса.

创建者 Keith N

Apr 04, 2018

Ridiculous first assignment, and while they say Java is a minor thing, actually they are overly invested in Java.

创建者 Eldar K

Dec 14, 2018

I very love this course!

创建者 Никита

Nov 30, 2018

Great course with awesome lectures and very useful tasks

创建者 经纬

Dec 18, 2018

Love this series Algorithm course!!!

创建者 luv_l

Dec 02, 2018

非常棒!

创建者 Yunfei D

Jan 09, 2019

I love the assignments which really level up my skills.

创建者 李亚林

Jan 09, 2019

除了中国境内看特别的卡之外,没有别的什么缺点。堪称完美的课程