Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,084 个评分
316 条评论

课程概述

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

热门审阅

JC

Apr 1, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB

Apr 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

筛选依据:

276 - Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的 300 个评论(共 314 个)

创建者 Jhon F G L

Feb 23, 2019

Great !

创建者 Dillon T

Jun 20, 2016

Awesome

创建者 Bob T

Nov 29, 2021

superb

创建者 Angela S

May 20, 2022

great

创建者 Kathryn M

Mar 31, 2021

Loved

创建者 Mona A A

May 15, 2021

GOOD

创建者 RAGHUVEER S D

Jul 25, 2020

good

创建者 Jarrad R

May 23, 2019

nice

创建者 Danelle L

Jun 7, 2016

I'

创建者 Kym M

Jun 1, 2019

A

创建者 Robert C C

Apr 25, 2016

G

创建者 Daniel H

Jan 18, 2022

Review: I thought this was a nice course. Sometimes the questions gave me pause and forced me to think. One complaint I have is that occasionally statements about functional morphology lack nuance. For example, Kronosaurus is claimed to only be able to hunt prey it could swallow whole due to the lack of cutting edges on its teeth: there are plesiosaur remains with bite marks likely made by Kronosaurus (and these plesiosaurs seem to have been too large to be swallowed whole). Likewise, modern orcas and crocodiles, which also lack sharp cutting edges on their teeth, can easily prey on animals that are too big to be swallowed whole, so this inference does not follow. This course also seems to have a few bits of outdated info. For example, it is now known that Atopodentatus did not have a “zipper mouth”; this was based on a specimen that had a badly crushed skull. Overall, with just a bit more nuance on functional morphology and updated information, this course would be even better.

创建者 Carlo

Sep 9, 2017

Good class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in four weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, interactive geologic time scale and phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) Unfortunately, too often the course sounded too much like a catalog of facts. More scientific reasoning would have been nice.

创建者 Dorothy F S

Nov 9, 2020

Covers comparative evolution and explains how groups adapted to marine environments. Nomenclature-all the subfamilies, etc. was confusing and the evolutionary tree was hard to understand. It would have been good to be able to see all the groups at once on the tree. Liked the updates on research and the maps showing where specimens have been found, Could have gone into the geology a little more.

创建者 Guy M

Apr 11, 2020

There is a great deal of content in this course and as always the course materials are excellent. I would prefer at least two presenters to break up the style of the single presenter used. I find his presenting style quite hard. He sounds patronising when he introduces the quizzes and his pronunciation is at times rather odd. Phil Currie could teach him a thing or two.

创建者 DC

Jun 22, 2018

It's pretty good, though be prepared to be beaten to death with MANY often confusing and nearly unpronounceable taxonomic terms. Can't be helped I guess. Those who took the early vertebrate evolution course will be pleased to note that Mr. (Dr.?) Persons is a bit more subdued in this one with a bit less theatrical style.

创建者 Raena S

Aug 31, 2017

Very cheerful and concisely-speaking instructor! Although the course was vast in information to take it all in and could do better with more questions and quizzes. Very educative videos and data about ancient marine reptile palaentology. Beautiful course!

创建者 Ian A

Mar 8, 2020

This course is a great gateway into this fascinating part of our earth's history, I look forward to learning more from other courses that are offered and would highly recommend this course to others.

创建者 Robert P

May 11, 2020

Loved learning about these animals and learned a lot of things I didn't know already but the amount of video content each week was too much the theropod/bird class progressed in a much nicer manner.

创建者 Katherine M

Oct 16, 2016

Can be extremely complicated with all of the unfamiliar names, and I'd lose focus. As a result, I had a hard time keeping up. I'd recommend pausing and returning another day if you lose focus.

创建者 Stephanie V

Aug 20, 2017

Very informative and well presented. The videos could perhaps have been a little shorter. More videos of c. 15 mins are more readily digestible than fewer at c. 30 mins.

创建者 Brian D M

Jun 9, 2016

excellent course would love to see more on early crocodilians and turtles, I know turtles have a debated history but would be awesome to look at possible origins.

创建者 Marike S

May 25, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful course. Ancient Marine Reptiles isn't my main area of interest and I still enjoyed every second!

创建者 Kiran E

Apr 17, 2021

It was okay, could do better with explaining but still would recommend to anyone interested in paleontology.

创建者 Andres A

Oct 24, 2017

I would like more information about taxonomy an evolution. The couse focus mostly in the aquatic problem