Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,052 个评分
307 条评论

课程概述

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

热门审阅

JC
Apr 1, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB
Apr 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

筛选依据:

51 - Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 的 75 个评论(共 305 个)

创建者 Victoria Z

Jan 12, 2019

Really enjoyed the course. It's not hard to keep up with, but does take you beyond a nature documentary level of detail. Excellent instructor too, very clear and enthusiastic. I really wish they would offer a course like this on pterosauria too.

创建者 Stephanie S

Mar 24, 2020

I've done several paleo courses from the Alberta University and this is my favorite so far. The summary at the end of the last video was really appreciated, and I really enjoyed seeing the artistic recreations and fossils in the course.

创建者 José Á T C

Jul 23, 2020

This is an awesome course, the teacher gave really comprehensive and easy to understand explanations on the topics seen, and most of the lessons sparked my curiosity on biology and my interest in animals, both living and prehistoric

创建者 M S M

Aug 23, 2020

a very delightful course which provides many insights on these Marine Reptiles who once dominated the ocean and how they adapted and evolved to solve the aquatic problems whom they faced upon re-acquiring the marine life

创建者 Yve

Jul 6, 2020

Highly recommended! A nice and interesting course! Was having lots of fun during the lessons. Will keep following the Paleontology courses from University of Alberta. Thank you Dr. W. Scott Persons! Thank you Coursera!

创建者 Monica d l P

Jun 11, 2016

Wonderful... just love how much there's to learn. Love the exposition the data, how it was developed. The perfect timing of the sound and english subtitles.

Excellent professor.

I will enrol to more Paleontology courses

创建者 Andrew E

Oct 4, 2016

This is a fascinating journey into the evolution of ancient marine reptiles. if you're a fan of paleontology and ancient animal life like I am, this course is for you. It's really well done and you won't regret it.

创建者 Himanshu M H

Aug 22, 2020

It was very informative and has enkindled interest about this subject. It has given a lot of insight of how the world was, what the habitats were, how incredibly diverse the marine reptiles may have been. Thank you.

创建者 David H

Nov 16, 2021

I really enjoyed all aspects of the course. A lot to learn and extremely interesting. The professor was very knowledgeable and easily explained all the info presented. A very good course even for general knowledge.

创建者 Thomas H j

May 15, 2020

It was fun, consistent and did a good job of explaining itself. Whenever I got something wrong the people explain how it's wrong in a way that can help you understand without directly giving the answers to you. A+.

创建者 Gary

Jun 28, 2020

Great presentation and a very enthusiastic instructor. I learned so much more than I can retain but the information is now available for future reference now that I have a better understanding of the subject area.

创建者 Bruno L P C

Aug 15, 2018

This course was great! Lots of information regarding the evolutionary history, stratigraphy, biology of these ancient marine reptiles, etc. I would definetely recommend the course. I've learned a lot, thank you!

创建者 Mw S

Jul 26, 2020

This course was very helpful for learning so much about the marine reptiles, Ichthyopterygians, Sauropterygians and Mosasauroids. It also provided me with a lot of information about aquatic amniotes in general.

创建者 Joanne O

May 24, 2017

Amazing course from the University of Alberta, the enthusiasm from the team just sparkles, the lectures are wonderful and the course notes are superb. This course stretched my brain. I loved every minute it!

创建者 Jose F P C

Aug 3, 2020

An absolutely stellar course. The material is easy to understand and incorporate, while also retaining the difficulty and complexity that come with naturally with paleontology. Cannot recommend it enough.

创建者 Mina N

Jun 8, 2021

I strongly recommend this course! The narrator, Mr W Scott Persons, was very good at narrating, so enthusiastic and nice. Very informative and this course made me decide to keep on studying Paleontology.

创建者 Darwin A

Aug 10, 2019

this course is so good I learn a lot about how to differentiate the major groups of marine reptiles of the Mesozoic era and I learn new things about taxonomy anatomy and how the marines animals behave.

创建者 IVÁN M H

Aug 28, 2021

Un fantástico curso que aborda todo lo que tienes que saber para comenzar a interesarte en el mundo de los antiguos reptiles marinos, de manos de un gran especialista y un muy buen docente.

创建者 Timi A

May 25, 2018

Great short course, perfect for an introduction to ancient marine reptiles. I recommend taking the other Palaeontology courses by this university on this site if you haven't already.

创建者 Jae H A

Jun 24, 2017

This course was very interesting and helpful. It helped me to really understand marine reptiles, unlike many introductory science books that only lists the names of those reptiles.

创建者 Allison O

Sep 12, 2017

Thank you so much for these courses. This is the third one I've completed and I've loved them all. Special thanks to the hosts who have kept the information exciting and flowing.

创建者 Spencer B

Apr 29, 2018

A few spelling errors in the video captions and text downloads, but overall a truly wonderful course that I enjoyed immensely. It was educational and fun. Please make more!

创建者 john c

Apr 16, 2021

excellent loads of info and very well presented , i struggled with some of it as my knowledge of ancient marine reptiles was minimal but i learned some much thank you all

创建者 Jennifer C

Nov 26, 2017

A great course with just enough detail to get into the subject without overwhelming those without a university background.

Love the delivery style and assessment options.

创建者 Wolf

Jul 31, 2019

The course would have benefited from being spaced more over a week or two with more resources to cover but otherwise is was excellent and I learned a great deal from it.