Chevron Left
返回到 Anti-Racism I

学生对 科罗拉多大学波德分校 提供的 Anti-Racism I 的评价和反馈

4.6
114 个评分
39 条评论

课程概述

Anti-Racism I is an introduction to the topic of race and racism in the United States. The primary audience for this course is anyone who is interested in learning about race/racism in the US who has never taken a course in critical race or ethnic studies or affiliated fields (indeed, who may not know what the fields of critical race studies or ethnic studies are), who has never read a book about race/racism, or attended any race equity or diversity trainings on the topic of race/racism. In this course you will learn how to: - Use and comprehend contemporary intersectional terminology through a provided glossary - Critically discuss “whiteness” - Recognize the concept of White privilege that all White people have whether they want that privilege or not and to differentiate between White supremacy as a systemic concept vs. White supremacists (who are professional racists like the KKK). - Distinguish between being not racist and being anti-racist - Define systemic and institutional racism - Accept the unequal history of race and racism in the United States that has created racial hierarchies that has disenfranchised Black Americans - Share with others the true foundations of United States’s histories beginning with the acknowledgement of settler colonialism and the rewards that White people have received due to White supremacy and Black oppression. - Talk about race and racism - Explain why phrases like “All Lives Matter” and “Blue Lives Matter” are racist - Recognize that anyone can be anti-racist--it only takes the dedication and decision to be anti-racist, to educate yourself about the history of racism in the US and then to talk in an anti-racist way and to act as an anti-racist Course logo image credit: Liam Edwards, 06/04/2021. Available on Unsplash at https://unsplash.com/photos/x15GAQNepcQ...

热门审阅

TM
Jan 23, 2021

This course has been an excellent start to my education around what it means to be anti-racist. My education has just begun and I look forward to Anti-Racism II. Thank you for this opportunity!

TR
Mar 25, 2021

Shawn and Jennifer made this course easy and learn and understand social injustices past and present. I look forward to the idea of Anti-Racism II.

筛选依据:

1 - Anti-Racism I 的 25 个评论(共 41 个)

创建者 Catherine M

Sep 17, 2020

I have complete my course but till now I didn't get my certificate.

创建者 Sue H

Apr 22, 2021

This course was a good introduction to some of the issues around race and some of the ways we can combat racism. I think this course is especially useful for white people (like me) who want to be better allies. That requires us to confront our own issues and dig deep. The first section of this course focuses on the issue of whiteness, white priviledge and white fragility. This may be difficult for some people, as it was for me, but I encourage you to stick with it and really process your thoughts and feelings. I am ongoingly and continually surprised at the way the conditioning I received all my life resurfaces. The course consists mostly of readings and videos, with two discussion prompts and no quizzes. There is a lot to think about and process in this short course though. The instructors are knowledgeable and approachable. I would be interested in taking additional courses in this series.

创建者 Omid N

Apr 3, 2021

i completed the course several days ago but it still shows: 0 min remains and not being completed. but the contents of the course was good enough to encourage me to participate.

创建者 Jennifer H

Aug 31, 2021

I learned so much from this course. I highly reccomend it to anyone, it brings so much awareness and gave me the ability to understand how to be an Ally to Anti-Racism. Also, it helps avoid misunderstandings and sensitivies to unbias-racism. Understanding so much about my own defensive styles, and how important it is for myself and others who are oppressed, ways I can be part of the solution. There is so much information that is set up in a way that it is helpful and opened my mind to so many things I didn't know, provides a lot of awareness.

创建者 Semone I

Jun 9, 2021

T​he Anti-Racism course was very enlightening and helped me to very much develop a better dialogue with friends and family. The insights, such as the various podcasts, different presenters and even various scholars such as Mr.Kendi in the course material. I am certainly interested in how Anti-Racism II will build on what I've learned

创建者 Kathaleen B

Sep 24, 2020

I found this course to be an excellent starting point for discussion and understanding anti racism. Look forward to part 2.

创建者 Luis C

Oct 8, 2020

Very interesting, great materials, videos, readings. I would totally recommend it

创建者 Júlia K d C

May 26, 2021

The course is very good, however the platform must be with a problem because even when I finished it says that its still "in-progress". A lot of people are having this problem too, but Coursera didnt give us any responses.

创建者 Heather W

Jul 21, 2021

Anti-Racism I is such a great introduction to those beginning their journey of being an anti-racist. I had learned a lot regarding anti-racism from my parents but even then, there are layers upon layers of information and history that I wouldn't be able to know if it hadn't been for this course. The readings and videos provided in the modules are brilliant and are fit for anyone. Jennifer Ho and Shawn O'Neal have provided an open-minded environment to learn in; they really encourage us to sit with our discomfort which while it has not been easy, it has been extremely benefiting. Definitely looking forward to Anti-Racism II. This course has allowed me to delve into a lot of self-reflection and it really helped me open my eyes to the non-overt racism that is all around me that I would never have noticed if I didn't take this course. Highly recommend this course!!

创建者 Kim C

Mar 15, 2021

Excellent course. A well thought out and curated mix of discussion, podcasts, readings, videos.

The only way we can ever address and begin to right the wrongs of racial injustice is for white people - like me - to realize and acknowledge their white privilege. It's not going to be an easy road.

Hope there will be an Anti Racism II

创建者 Susan W

Mar 15, 2021

This was a well-done course, excellent selection of readings and videos (lots of variety and I found all of them enlightening). Jennifer Ho and Shawn O'Neal provide a great combination of perspectives, experiences with race/racism and with teaching. So glad I took this course!

创建者 Cynthia B

Jun 8, 2021

I thought the selections of both the readings and videos were very informative. I especially liked being able to listen , view or read lessons/articles fitting my mindset at the time. I think the course was well thought out and I am looking forward to taking Anti-Racism ll.

创建者 Kim W

Feb 7, 2021

This was a great introduction to the idea of anti-racism. The readings were varied and the town hall was especially interesting. It has been helpful for me to learn a bit more about myself and has helped me learn a few different points about having conversations about race

创建者 Jessica S

Jan 8, 2021

This is such a comprehensive course and I truly learned a great deal of information. I feel lucky to have taken this course and prepared to go out and practice anti-racism each day with intention. Great information and content and I look forward to Anti-Racism II

创建者 Douglas M

Apr 14, 2021

I really enjoyed taking this course. I am not very good at learning with distance learning, but this course I learned perfectly. All these things that have been happening in the world, in some way gave me an incentive to learn more about racial causes.

创建者 Sonali D

Jan 15, 2021

Wonderful course to begin one's journey into Anti-racism. Very much appreciated the genuine and committed teaching by both instructors. Certainly gained valuable knowledge and references that I will continue to learn from. Many thanks,

Sonali

创建者 Paul O

Aug 25, 2021

A great course that can build a foundation in understanding the anti-racist movement and. most importantly, yourself. I believe it has helped me become more aware of my own biases and given me some strategies to work with.

创建者 Tiffany M

Jan 24, 2021

This course has been an excellent start to my education around what it means to be anti-racist. My education has just begun and I look forward to Anti-Racism II. Thank you for this opportunity!

创建者 Tara R

Mar 26, 2021

Shawn and Jennifer made this course easy and learn and understand social injustices past and present. I look forward to the idea of Anti-Racism II.

创建者 Stephanie R P

Dec 28, 2020

An informative beginning-level course that is thoughtfully designed and engaging. The conversation between the two facilitators was most valuable.

创建者 Meg P

Oct 18, 2021

Absolutely essential course to help understand how North America colonialism has been founded on racism and how to start dismantling it.

创建者 Teresa L

Jan 26, 2021

I loved this course and would recommend it to anyone, to be honest. I would love to attend a sequel, will definitely stay tuned.

创建者 Victoria T

Jul 26, 2021

What an eye-opener. Every human being should take a course like this. I wish I had been able to take this course 20 years ago.

创建者 Bert H

Dec 10, 2020

Well-conceived & executed introductory course. Excellent choice of videos & articles. Teacher discussions are enlightening.

创建者 Ingrid W

Oct 15, 2021

Excellent course! Insightful and lots of heavy topics to absorb and build a new understanding