Chevron Left
返回到 Archaeoastronomy

学生对 米兰理工大学 提供的 Archaeoastronomy 的评价和反馈

4.5
886 个评分
270 条评论

课程概述

Archaeoastronomy is the “science of stars and stones”. It is an interdisciplinary science in between architecture, archaeology, and astronomy. It studies the relationships between the ancient monuments and the sky, in order to gain a better understanding of the ideas of the architects of the past and of their religious and symbolic world. The course provides the first complete, easy introduction to this fascinating discipline. During the course, many spectacular ancient sites of archaeology – such as Stonehenge in England, Giza and Karnak in Egypt, Chichen Itzá in the Yucatan, Macchu Picchu in Peru and the Pantheon in Rome – will be visited and the fascinating events occurring there in special days of the year (such as solstices, equinoxes, or the day of the foundation of Rome) will be shown and explained. The course also provides the necessary background on Astronomy with the naked eye and a general introduction to the role of Astronomy in religion and in the management of power among ancient cultures....

热门审阅

II

Mar 03, 2019

Amazingly made MOOC. Perhaps it feels a bit short in comparison to some of the others, but the material is well presented and the suggested readings give plenty of opportunity for further learning.

WT

Sep 17, 2019

It is a great course. I have enjoyed each of the segments covering many more ancient sites than I have known about in the past and explaining the ones I did know about in much greater depth.

筛选依据:

26 - Archaeoastronomy 的 50 个评论(共 268 个)

创建者 Ekain R

Apr 02, 2017

Increíble. Me ha parecido un Curso con un valor agregado impresionante. Es de los pocos cursos que he hecho que he terminado muy satisfecho por todo lo que he aprendido; tanto a nivel astronómico como a nivel cultural.

创建者 Gonzalo V

Sep 06, 2017

I enjoyed this class a lot! Living in Mexico, surrounded by ancient ruins (not "european" ancient, but ancient nonetheless), I am know visiting archeologic places with a different view... and a compass in hand.

Thanks!

创建者 Jose A C A

Mar 01, 2020

Fue una experiencia muy grata, aprendí muchas cosas que desconocía, ahora puedo entender mas sobre las grandes cosas oculta que desconocemos acerca de algunos resto arqueológicos.

创建者 Fiona L

Sep 25, 2019

A really interesting course, both wide-ranging and detailed. I found some of the astronomical data hard to get my head around, but still thoroughly enjoyed the course - thank you!

创建者 daniel e

Nov 10, 2017

It was a very interesting course, and had addressed the subject matter in an organized manner. It was challenging at times, but maintained my interest throughout the course.

创建者 Alexandra C Z G

Jun 25, 2020

La materia es interesante y los vídeos muy explicativos, sin embargo la última unidad es solo lectura y me hubiese gustado que siguiera la misma metodología de las anteriores.

创建者 WILLIAM F L

Apr 18, 2020

The course is well organized in the first few weeks of content, The section on Egypt, Maya, and Inca was great. However, the content quality drops significantly right from the Asia section. Here are a few complaints or points of improvement.

1) concepts in week 1 explained poorly, I am familiar with the basics of astronomy but those videos did nothing but confuse me.

2) quizzes... I seen so many reviews mentioning this, quiz content from several sections are not elaborated in the lessons, a huge gap of information in between.

3) the part on Asia could be much richer and much more interesting

4) the greek and roman part is complicated yet poorly explained, compare to the egyptian part and you will see what I mean.

5) the last reading section is just inconsistent with the rest of the course in terms of relevance and difficulty.

I finish this course in one sitting and enjoyed most of it as it opens a new world and perspective.

but I have to say, it could have been much better.

创建者 Abhishek V

May 28, 2018

I was just looking to experiment and this seemed very interesting given the blend of architecture with astronomy. My sense of imagination with respect to the 3D is very poor and thus I didn't put enough effort in a few places. These were the very ideas which required effort and dedication to be put, for the other parts of the course are easy enough to understand. Overall it seems like a light course not requiring enough effort and often effort and your learning are linked together and you might leave the course not having learnt as much as you had hoped. The course and coursework should be made more rigorous to expose the students to the core ideas like visualising space, directions through other means ans thus you end up giving the students a way of thinking and looking at the world.

创建者 Ginny H

Aug 17, 2017

Too much information crammed together. Videos way too short and astronomy concepts not well explained. The quizzes would be almost impossible if it weren't for the ability to retake them as many times as necessary to pass. I didn't retain much from this class.

创建者 Alejandra L P

Jun 21, 2020

I enjoyed each segment when learning about each culture and how astronomy gives us an insight, and how we can apply simple and complex knowledge we have. What was for me the plus of this course is the way the professor makes the difference between the pseudo-scientific rumors around and the data we can gather from this new brand discipline. It was a lot to study but the material made it easier to get and to use all the other tools, such as Stellarium, for a better understanding of what had been explained.

创建者 Theofilus H P

Jul 27, 2020

Very educational and well described. This course is a good start for those interested in archaeoastronomy. I learned a lot of interesting things and methods to use in doing researches around this topic. The professor described every detail of the course in clear and organized lectures which made understanding archaeoastronomy fun and easy. I hope that in future developments of this course, more archaeological sites that happened to have astronomical alignments in them will be discussed.

创建者 Melissa R

Oct 20, 2020

This was such an interesting course; I knew nothing more about archaeoastronomy than Greeks orienting their temples East to allow the rising sun to fall into them in the morning. This has vastly expanded my knowledge of other ancient cultures that I have only heard of in passing and have never had the chance to delve deeper into. I had no idea there was so much in the connection between archaeology and astronomy. Thank you Dr Magli! :)

创建者 Wattana K

Sep 05, 2020

This is amazing, I've learned from this class a lot. The knowledge is very interesting and I think I could apply it to my work as a writer to distribute the ideal and perspective about archaeoastronomy in a much more excited and corrected way. And the way the professor describes and narrates is easy to understand and gives me a clear picture of what we are learning.

Thank you so much for such a splendid class^^

创建者 Heba

May 23, 2020

The course is easy and full of fun and interesting cultures and the way it describes the events , monuments and the mentality of ancient people is fascinating ... I really hope to have a written copy of this course content ... The only problem that there are many complicated words to be understood ..

However i really have enjoyed learning this course

创建者 SANTIAGO H M

Jul 04, 2020

Hola. Me pareciò muy interesante aprender esta relacion entre la arqueologia y astronomia. Muy claro y con muy buena calidad de las fotos y lugares que se iban mostrando en el curso. Ayuda mucho a entender sobre lo que hablaba el profesor.

No tanto la parte tecnica de astronomia, por lo menos, a mi no me interesaba.

Gracias y seguimos en contacto.

创建者 Tristan C

Apr 12, 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course. LOVED !!!!! I am an Environmental Engineer by Trade, and the videos where fantastic!!. This course has made me want to travel to see all the great megalithic structures in the world. I will listen to the videos again and will seek the books you have recommended. Well done Politechnico Milano !!!

创建者 Lara

Oct 13, 2020

Great new course that provides interesting connections between temples build by different nations using knowledge of stars. I wish it was more temples included in this course, such as from the Middle East. Looking forward to learn more from Politecnica Milano, that related to astronomy and architecture. Grazie from New York.

创建者 Rakesh M

Jun 14, 2020

Excellent introduction to the less known but fascinating field of Archaeoastronomy. The content has been designed meticulously and explained well by Dr. Giulio Magli. Some parts of the week seven content, like the motions of the moon and the Venus, if explained through animation would make it even better. My felicitations!

创建者 Elizabeth G

May 16, 2020

This is a fascinating overview of archaeoastronomy. I learned a lot about ancient monuments that were built in accordance with movements of the sun, moon, and stars. It is challenging to understand all the concepts, but worth the effort. I bought Dr Magli's book and look forward to reading it. I want to learn more.

创建者 John F G

Jun 04, 2020

Very informative course! Learned much about how astronomy is linked to various monuments and ancient civilizations. Particularly enjoyed the architectural alignment of monuments/buildings with stars and movement of our solar system. Thank you for developing and teaching this course!!

创建者 Jennifer H

Jul 02, 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course. The videos were well organized and informative. I really liked the way the instructor had images and maps in the background as he explained them and even showed him self perspectively placed so it looked as if he was there in the images. I loved it

创建者 Fouad

Jul 17, 2020

Extremely interesting and filled me with wonder about how different ancient civilizations perceived the sky and its connection to their earthly presence.

Would recommend for anyone who enjoys learning about the past, but devoid of a trash-archaeology Ancient Astronaut spin.

创建者 Aitor1979

May 25, 2020

A very interesting course that open doors and minds on how to look at ancient cultures and archaeology. Even is for beginners, the subjects are demanding and its not just an easy path to the end. You must read, think and understand challenging knowledge. I recommend it.

创建者 Yasi Z

May 14, 2020

Wonderful course with great insights into the field of archaeoastronomy! Professional explanations of knowledge with a wide range of significant examples, but I guess it's better to have some basic knowledge about astronomy in mind before starting this course.

创建者 Vanessa S

Sep 22, 2020

Thank you for offering this fascinating and informative course. I learned how to dispense with a few more unconscious biases, I can now approach the concepts of the ancient monuments with new lenses of consideration and understanding, which I value greatly.