Chevron Left
返回到 At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

学生对 罗马大学 提供的 At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC 的评价和反馈

4.5
363 个评分
146 条评论

课程概述

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

热门审阅

CH

Mar 13, 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

DA

Aug 9, 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

筛选依据:

26 - At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC 的 50 个评论(共 146 个)

创建者 Tony a E L

Jul 9, 2020

I found this course outstanding, and Doctor Nigro an excellent teacher. His English is very good and his presentation is clear and easy to understand. He makes you feel that you are out in the field in Motya with his students. The quizzes were well-organized, and it has been obvious that you had to focus on your studies to pass them. Thanks to La Sapienza for making my life richer.

创建者 Matthew P

Apr 14, 2021

I absolutely loved this course and would like to do more similar ones. I thpught the presenter was really articulate despite his English being uncertain at times. I have not visited Motya (but I plan to do so now!) but I have visited Byblos and this has brought to life so much of what I saw there. More courses on archaeology and the Phoenicians please on Coursera!!!

创建者 Damaso V

Jan 30, 2022

Estoy muy satisfecho de los conocimientos adquiridos por medio de este MOOC de la Universidad de la SAPIENZA de Roma.

Era un campo este de la Arqueologia que nunca habia tenido la oportunidad de observar, y por medio del curso, se me ha abierto una curiosidad especial.-

Muchas gracias a la Universidad y especialmente a Coursera por coordinar este tipo de Cursos.-

创建者 Luis B

Apr 28, 2020

Is the second time that i do this course, a little different from the first one anda i enjoy it very much. Tanks for prof. Lorenzo Nigro because he loves what he do. I'm digging a city in Portugal, with large walls and a fosso, and begin in the IV Millennium B.C. and was abandoned in the roman times, II/I centuries B.C.

创建者 Christine B

Oct 12, 2019

Excellent course which helped me understand the development of ancient Mediterranean civilisation and the contribution of various people groups to its rich contribution to our own western civilisation. Knowledgeable and generous professor who did a good presentation in English. Bravo Professor Nigro!

Thank you.

创建者 Luisa S L

Jun 7, 2018

M

u

c

h

í

s

i

m

a

s

g

r

a

c

i

a

s

p

o

r

h

a

b

e

r

m

e

d

a

d

o

e

s

t

a

o

p

o

r

t

u

n

i

d

a

d

que ha de sido de gran interés para mí. Excelente el trabajo del curso y fantástico el profesor. Muchas gracias por todo. Sois lo mejor que conozco. A mis 68 años tengo mucho interés para conocer y lo debo a vuestras oportunidades. Saludos para todos.

创建者 Manuel J P

May 5, 2020

Great course, entertaining lecturer and good materials. I am currently doing my PhD in Archaeology, and this actually gave me some new insights! I did not expect the strong focus on Motya, but the earlier period case studies of Jericho and Khirbet al-Batrawy are sufficient to understand the process.

创建者 黄中

Oct 12, 2019

Very great course, focusing on one city and use it as a model to know how the Phoenician Civilization work and function. Plus, there are many archaeological skills in this course, also many beautiful pictures and videos. After compeleting this course, I have strong interest in archaeology. Thanks

创建者 Lara

Mar 13, 2021

Fantastic course and the instructor! Had NO idea about Mozia and the life in this city back in ancient times. Yes, questions in the tests and answers sometimes are confusing but this is nothing compare to the great knowledge I gained. Baravi to all who made this course available! From New York.

创建者 Joaquim

May 6, 2020

A fascinating journey through a culture and people nearly forgotten, the phoeniciants, whose endevours and sprit made the foundation of the Mediterranean civilization. Professor Nigro conveys his passion for the topic, provides authoritative information and engages students.

创建者 Genevieve S

May 25, 2017

I can't say enough about this course! Professor Nigro's enthusiasm about this fascinating subject just makes you wants to delve even further! If you are at all interested in the roots of civilization and how it spread, then you should absolutely take this wonderful course!

创建者 Robert L

Mar 5, 2022

Good overview of how the Phoenicians expanded accross the Mediterranean as well as an in depth exploration of the archaeological site of Motya. Prof. Nigro provides a great insight into the many discuveries he and his team made there during their excavations.

创建者 Ale V

Aug 2, 2020

Un placer recorrer Motya, el Mediterráneo. Conocer un poco más la civilización fenicia, que tantos cambios trajeron al Occidente, Un gusto, poder haber participado este curso, sentí por un momento que participaba de algún descubrimiento arqueológico. Gracias!

创建者 Wojciech W

Oct 20, 2018

Fascinating journey through Mediterranean. You can learn a lot about Phoneicians and their Sicilian colony of Motya. The course is amazing also because professor Lorenzo shows real excavations and takes You to museum to better understand the topic.

创建者 Ellen H

Aug 13, 2020

A thoroughly absorbing account of the Phoenician settlement on Motya, with background and context. Lorenzo Nigro was personable and enthusiastic, with carefully constructed lectures and slide shows.

I hope there are more courses like this one!

创建者 Juan P S

Aug 22, 2019

Ha sido un curso muy ameno en el que he aprendido un buen bagaje de conocimientos para entender el concepto de "ciudad" en el Mundo Occidental Antiguo, enfatizando también en aspectos como arte, escultura o mitología. Muchas gracias.

创建者 Holly F

May 26, 2019

The course is interesting and the professor is quite passionate about the history of Motya and the/his excavations there. I definitely worked hard taking notes, and reading the supplemental readings, when available in English.

创建者 Cecilia C

Aug 1, 2017

Thank you, Professor Nigro and team, for this wonderful and enlightening Course! I have enjoyed myself immensely and I am sorry the Course is finished. I will keep myself informed about Motya, I love it! Grazie mille! Cecilia

创建者 Cecilia H

Jul 24, 2020

This was such an enlightening and interesting course that helped introduce me to some of the founders of Mediterranean civilisation. Thank you so much for all the hard work put in to creating this course, amazing work!

创建者 CRAN

Jul 5, 2018

Excellent cours, présenté avec beaucoup de pédagogie. Riche et varié. Très bonnes illustrations et documentation bien structurée. Bravo au professeur Nigro et son équipe. J'espère pouvoir assister à un autre cours !

创建者 Shagaret

Nov 22, 2020

I have liked the course very much. It has been a trip to the past with Professor Nigro who has made it not only interesting but also enjoyable. Congrats, Professor! I would like to meet you again in another course.

创建者 Joy B

Aug 26, 2021

I enjoyed the presentations and the in-depth information provided or referred to throughout the course. I look forward to more courses like this one. It holds the interest and encourages curiosity to learn more.

创建者 SHIVSAM B

Sep 8, 2020

This was really good and gave a nice view and gist of how archeology is super interesting and how we as humans traversed places and evolved our cultures and practices due to the various things we faced.

创建者 Claudia H

Mar 14, 2021

This was a great course, it was great to be out 'on location' with the archaeologists and Lorenzo Nigro. There was also a great selection of reading material which offered more in-depth information.

创建者 Adrián D G L

Feb 23, 2020

A very interesting course, indeed. I feel that I want to know much more about the hitite and mittani empires, and also from Carthage. Thank you for accesibilizing knowledge for our world!!