Chevron Left
返回到 At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC

学生对 罗马大学 提供的 At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC 的评价和反馈

4.6
307 个评分
123 条评论

课程概述

Which are the deepest roots of that mix of cultures that we use to call ‘Mediterranean Civilization’? Which are comminglings and exchanges which produced its most complete fruit, i.e. the city, a place for landscape-modelling communities? And which elements did contribute to build up that baulk of customs, ideas, and innovations which compelled to confrontation and hybridizations different peoples for millennia? What did it made, from pottery to metallurgy, from gastronomy to architecture, from art to religion, of a sea a cradle of civilization? Archaeology may help in disentangling such questions, seeking unexpected answers , by tinkering what ancient Mediterranean peoples left buried in the ground. A privileged point of view of our course is the ancient Phoenician city of Motya, located exactly at the centre of the “sea in the middle”. Throughout the live experience of excavation, with images taken on the field, this course will let you touch the many tesserae of the great mosaic of the Mediterranean Civilization. The field diary of the archaeologist, and the handpick will be the two tools, which will lead us across the sea to discover what such early cities actually were, and how their contribute is still a major part of our shared memory....

热门审阅

DA
Aug 9, 2017

wonderful explanation along with good slides and maps and incredible readings\n\nbut the main organization was my favorite part because I learned so much about ancient cities as well as Motya

A
Jul 28, 2017

A very informative and interesting study of the origins of Mediterranean civilization. The course is packed with examples and explanations and delivered by the superb Prof. Nigro

筛选依据:

76 - At the Origins of the Mediterranean Civilization: Archaeology of the City from the Levant to the West - 3rd-1st millennium BC 的 100 个评论(共 123 个)

创建者 Bindu V S

Aug 16, 2020

Interesting topic

创建者 Thomas v d B

Mar 26, 2020

very well done

创建者 Júlio C M d F

Jan 17, 2018

Fantastic !

创建者 Catherine L

Aug 13, 2020

Thank You.

创建者 Jisha N

Jul 17, 2020

Very Good

创建者 David B

Jul 31, 2017

Excellent

创建者 Claudette D

Oct 6, 2019

E

创建者 Damon T R

Jul 7, 2018

I

创建者 Charles E M

Jun 27, 2018

G

创建者 Carmen

Aug 3, 2017

F

创建者 Javier G G

Apr 27, 2020

Ha sido realmente bueno el poder repasar el mundo fenicio. Lo que he echado mucho en falta es que se hubiera hablado del mundo fenicio en términos más ámplios geográficamente hablando, y no solo basarse en un solo yacimiento. El curso está muy bien pero únicamente se basa en el yacimiento de Motia y no se habla casi nada de los enclaves fenicios del norte de África o de la Península Ibérica. Debe quedar claro que es un curso sobre los fenicios en un lugar muy concreto: Motia. El título del curso debería cambiar sustancialmente ya el mismo nos induce a confusión, no tiene nada que ver éste con el curso a realizar.

创建者 John M

Oct 18, 2020

I enjoyed learning the material, however, the narrator was Italian and his translations to English/American needed quite a bit of interpreting and proofreading. Numerous times the printout of his narration had incorrect words that could easily mislead the student. Also, some of the "Readings" were not in English and I needed to find a translator program to convert to English so I could read them.

Otherwise, I enjoyed learning about the early expansion of the Mediterranean civilizations and the factors that made for success and development of the people.

创建者 Shelley A

Oct 1, 2019

The content was excellent and the new information was personally very exciting to me. Prof. Nigri and the staff are to be complemented. As a native English speaker, the English in some of the transcripts and certain quiz questions did cause me to stumble at times (e.g., there is a major difference between 'basement' and 'battlements')--but I appreciate the effort it took to teach this course in a foreign language. I learned so much and this course has opened up a whole new world of ancient history to me. I want to visit the excavation at Motya! Grazi!

创建者 Jamie W

Jun 25, 2020

Very interesting case studies into ancient civilizations. I took this class because of my own Sicilian heritage and it was fulfilling in that it taught me about my history. I think more connections could be made between the various civilizations we read about. Some articles were also written in Spanish and Italian, which I can't access with my level of ability in those languages. Otherwise I would recommend to someone who is interested in this time period or culture.

创建者 Elisabeth M

Mar 1, 2020

Curso muy interesante!. me interesa la historia como pasatiempo y desconocía totalmente la existencia de Motia y sus ruinas. El próximo Mayo, si el coronavirus me lo permite, voy a ir a Túnez y Malta, por lo que estoy leyendo acerca de los Fenicios, y es probable que me acerque a Sicilia, donde ya estuve, pero no conocía estos lugares. Gracias profesor Nigro, transmite su entusiasmo. Desde Argentina

创建者 Diane W

Oct 1, 2020

A very interesting course for anyone looking to learn more about the growth of urbanism in the Mediterranean. The professors English is not perfect but is easily good enough to understand and he is an engaging teacher and obviously knows his material inside out. The course transcripts need some work on them! A glossary would also be useful for non-specialists.

创建者 Rodrigo C S M

Aug 8, 2020

Great course! It was really interesting to know the ancient origins of Motya and how were conducted the the archaeological studies of its remais. I would only point out that the english text of the lectures has several mistakes. Other than that I really appreciated the course!

创建者 Ellen S

Jun 30, 2019

I enjoyed learning this material. It was fun trying to interpret the English text which I assume was done by machine with some strange results. Most, but not all, of the time I was able to figure out the word by listening to the audio in slower speed.

创建者 Fethi O Ö

Jul 7, 2017

Phoenician is a specific subject in the Ancient Mediterrenean History.Why Phoaenicians came to the west from the east? Where did they live in the west? Many thanks Sapienza University and Lorenzo Nigro for the laborious course.

创建者 Daniel V

Nov 29, 2017

Very informative and the lecturer is quite engaging. The items in the quizzes are sometimes a bit cryptic and every now and then one finds oneself guessing at exactly what is being asked.

创建者 Heather C

Jan 5, 2021

I really enjoyed this hands on approach to teaching. the professor was enlightening and entertaining and passionate about the subject. loved it being on site most of the time8

创建者 Vasso C

Feb 6, 2020

The material was extremely interesting. I have learned many interesting things. Unfortunately, the subtitles were so bad that I had to spend a lot of time to decipher the text.

创建者 Elizabeth G

Apr 13, 2020

Some of the lectures were difficult to understand ( names and places) and the translation texts were incorrect. Good course otherwise, enjoyed it!

创建者 Judith M S

May 1, 2018

Really interesting course! The quizz needs some improvements in terms of grammar (some questions/answers are difficult to understand). Thank you!!

创建者 Rafael M

Jan 7, 2019

Bom curso, o professor é querido, mas muitas vezes pareceu mais uma série de leituras de relatórios arqueológicos do que uma aula de história