Chevron Left
返回到 Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers

学生对 鹿特丹伊拉斯姆斯大学 提供的 Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers 的评价和反馈

4.8
285 个评分
122 条评论

课程概述

Are you a teacher in higher education wanting to get the best out of your students and assessments? Then on behalf of Risbo, Erasmus University Rotterdam, we would like to welcome you to this MOOC on Assessment in Higher Education. In this MOOC we will guide you through the different phases of preparing, creating and evaluating the assessments in your course. After participating in this MOOC, you will be able to: 1. Design an assessment that is constructively aligned (content, level, methods) with the course objectives and activities 2. Apply the quality criteria with respect to validity, reliability and transparency for construction of assessments and assessment items 3. Analyze the assessment output and results, assess the quality of the assessment and make decisions about students’ grades accordingly 4. Formulate future improvements for an assessment For the assignments, you will be working with your own teaching materials. For example you will create your own assessment plan for your course. Next to that you will become part of a learning community with teachers from all over the world. We are offering you instructional videos, interviews, animations and checklists. In addition to these, there will be course activities, such as assessments, and discussion prompts. By participating in this MOOC, you will find answers to the following questions: • What is the role of assessment? • How can you select the right methods of assessment for your course? • What is constructive alignment? • How can an assessment plan and matrix help you in the construction of assessments? • Is it possible to make an absolute reliable and valid assessment? • How can the formulation of good assessment questions have an impact on that? • What is the role of feedback? • How can rubrics help with providing feedback? • What are the things to consider when performing an exam or item analysis? What aspects should you look out for? • How do you draw conclusions from an exam analysis and make plans for future improvements? • If good students fail on certain questions, what does this say about the question… or about your teaching? Are you ready for enhancing your teaching skills? Then take this journey with us....

热门审阅

AD
Oct 7, 2020

Very intriguing 5 weeks indeed. You need to literally spend at least 4 hours a day, otherwise, you will be staring at a backlog. Personal experience, but I managed to pass. Happy for that!!

SS
Sep 15, 2020

I had a great opportunity to learn more about the assessment and its structure. I am sure the skills that I have learnt in this course will be helpful for me in future. Thank you !!!!!

筛选依据:

101 - Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers 的 124 个评论(共 124 个)

创建者 Бахметьева А А

Feb 4, 2021

-

创建者 Josh C

Jun 29, 2020

Overall, this is a very well structured course insofar that it provides learners with a strong foundation in creating assessment plans. Learners who complete this course will walk away with the ability to create learning activities that are aligned with clear CABD learning objectives. Assignments are straight-forward and give ample opportunities for learners to apply the various knowledge and skills gained through the various modules in this course. One key drawback of this course is that it relies on a peer-reviewed system. In my experience, I saw a number of students who did not provide any feedback on my assignments. As such, I did not find the "peer-review" aspect of this course to be helpful at all. A second key drawback is that there appear to be a large number of students who will try to "cheese" their way through the course. I wanted to provide meaningful peer feedback for my fellow classmates. However, my ability to do so was limited by classmates who submitted blank assignments — as if expecting that no one would flag them. Thirdly and lastly, the final quiz in Module 5 is difficult in that several of the questions ask learners to judge the quality of multiple choice questions. I found the quiz itself to be a bit ironic, given that many of the educators leading the modules in this course stressed that it is important to issue assessments that accurately test what a learner learned during the course. There was minimal emphasis on how to evaluate multiple choice questions in this course, which was why I found the final quiz so difficult.

创建者 Kevin F

Apr 20, 2020

This was my second online course and I found this course excellent. As a student I liked the step-by-step learnings and interactions, especially the videos where you can add your thoughts at certain stages on the videos. Some builds more actual case-studies to view to see rather than verbally discussed would have been useful for me personally. I also liked the interactions with my peers too. The platform is robust and clear with good nav UX (User Experience, Navigation) So important for the online student. A few glitches using from iPad to mobile but that's minor. Word of caution the final 25 multiple questions is hard even with studying and going over the content again, a few questions were tricky :) Overall very good and would recommend, so much so I'm now looking for another course. So thank you.

创建者 Jacob F

Mar 4, 2019

A lot of this course was reviewing what I have already studied when I was in university. Since having been an educator for five years since having earned a Masters degree, and having worked with many talented people in the field, assessment makes a lot more sense. It seems like night and day, in terms of selecting the right answer, but there is so much more to it, especially with item analysis. I really enjoyed this course. I do wish there were more interaction with others also enrolled in the course.

创建者 Barbro W

Jul 2, 2018

I liked the course very much, but some of the course materials where difficult to follow. The first half, on the assessment plan and constructive alignment were great. More examples would help, especially where we are supposed to learn "judgment calls" - this is difficult without a larger peer group to discuss with. If you can take the course at the same time as one or more colleagues, that would help. There is also a lot of focus on multiple choice questions, which may or may not be relevant to you.

创建者 Aiden P

Jul 26, 2020

I accidentally signed up for this course however, I do not regret taking part as it has really deepened my cognitive development of how Assessments can be chosen and the different types of assessments one can choose from. I have learnt the do's and don'ts when creating multiple-choice questions and much more. I did this course in the "nick of time" as we will be dealing with Assessments within my course of study!

创建者 Kathryn H

Feb 7, 2021

The course work is good and quite interesting, however the final exam is very challenging. It was noted the University stated a very high fail rate (84% of people on their first attempt at the exam) This should be reviewed, as suggested by the course content.

创建者 Andrea M A

Jul 21, 2021

Excellent course. Relevant material (videos and readings). Although, the final exam had many questions that required more information and analysis that not necessarily was covered in the previous weeks (i.e. statistical analysis).

创建者 Islam O A A

Sep 18, 2020

Thanks a lot, it was a good course and added a good value to my knowledge in my carrier field as a trainer and the progress and sequence of the material was helpful and was in good sequence.

创建者 Abderrahmane L

Aug 8, 2020

the course was great and i did learn alot, but sometimes too much has been said just to give the core of the specific information, great overall grazieeee

创建者 Peter A

Oct 18, 2019

Great course. The peer review assignments may take a while to complete, since you need to wait for other participants to review your submissions.

创建者 Emmanuel A G

Jul 25, 2021

i​t was great. i have learnt a lot more on how to provide assessment questions to students and the varying forms of assessments. thank you.

创建者 David M

May 18, 2020

Good course but at times too theoretical. It would be better to have a single main instructor to guides us through the whole course.

创建者 Kostas L

Jul 1, 2018

I would have liked more thorough examples on the analysis on the reliability of assessments

创建者 Javier C

Jun 26, 2020

A very useful course for professors of higher education.

创建者 Jaweria S

Dec 8, 2021

A very good coursegoodcoursecoursecourse

创建者 Naresh V A

Jul 23, 2020

Challenging and fruitful.

创建者 D. U

Jun 15, 2020

Useful Course. Thank You

创建者 Derek R

Apr 14, 2019

OK

创建者 Theresa R

Jul 22, 2021

I enjoyed the material and all of the different techniques used to go through this course. It was a new experience for me. I felt I had learned a lot during the session. It was a lot of work into the course, but that was good because it did help me learn. What I did not like about the course is the way it was assessed by peers. The reason for this is, I feel that the peers did not fully read my assignments as I was told I was missing information. I had doubled checked and all the information was there, but it is on a second page, so if they do not see it, they just gave me a 0, with my only feedback being that I did not complete the assignment.... Part of this course was learning about how to provide constructive feedback, but if they do not look at the whole assignment, they are not able to provide the constructive feedback that would benefit me. Therefore, the peer assessment did not work very well in my case.

创建者 Patricia G E

Jun 9, 2020

Probably, the course is good for some people. But, for me, it is no so motivating. The videos are very long.

创建者 Vanessa R

Aug 26, 2020

Yes, the ideas are great. You learn a lot from the videos and some of the readings. However, many of the readings require you to purchase them. That, however, is a small thing. The main reason I give this certificate class 2 stars is that the peer review assignments and the final quiz suck. We are asked to grade for things that weren't presented in the lectures, readings or the assignments themselves. The final quiz asks a LOT of questions about our interpretations related to statistical data; this was NOT covered in the lectures. I didn't do much of the readings on this because statistics isn't something I know or understand, so doing those readings wouldn't have helped me to pass the first time. Yes, I had to retake it; my second result was 83%, but most of the questions I missed were related to these interpretations of statistics (no surprise there, right?). There was a clear lack of alignment, something they emphasized in the lectures. It suggests that the teachers who created this course don't practice the things they're asking us to do, and the best evidence for that is the graded assignments. This certificate was free to me due to CourseraPlus; if you're thinking about spending money, don't. Just audit this certificate class, as you'll get more out of it that way. Spending money on this is a waste of money unless you need to have the certificate for your institution. I feel my learning was cheated.

创建者 Kari D A

Sep 9, 2021

This course has a good content. However, I cannot give it more than one star due to its assignments, peer-grading and misleading information. Firstly, the course is not self-paced as announced. You will have to deliver within given dates to pass the course. Thus it is not really self-paced. Secondly, the first assignment is massive. One of the questions in the assignment asks you to create a feedback plan for the entire course you will teach...for every week!! That will be a huge undertaking if your course lasts for a whole semester. And this is just one of the questions. Thirdly, your fellow students will be grading you!! Better cross your fingers and hope that they have understood the curriculum or you will be in trouble. When I pay for a self-paced course I expect it to be self-paced. I also expect the grading to be fair, and not randomly set by a student that may or may not be competent. In summary, I did not bother to finish this course, and I cannot recommend it to anyone else.

创建者 Daniel G S

Nov 28, 2021

It's not acceptable to wait others evaluate my exercises. Several weeks waiting to conclude this course for that.