Chevron Left
返回到 天文学:探索时间和空间

学生对 亚利桑那大学 提供的 天文学:探索时间和空间 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,300 个评分
404 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed for anyone who is interested in learning more about modern astronomy. We will help you get up to date on the most recent astronomical discoveries while also providing support at an introductory level for those who have no background in science....

热门审阅

UA

Jun 27, 2019

Amazing introductory course and covers wide variety of topics ranging from history, to astronomy to astrobiology. Really great of amateur astronomers and for anyone who is remotely interested in it.

VP

Dec 13, 2016

This is a really good course for learning all the amazing things in our universe. My favorite part is the opportunity to pose questions directly to Professor Impey on the YouTube Q&A sessions.

筛选依据:

51 - 天文学:探索时间和空间 的 75 个评论(共 397 个)

创建者 Emmanuel M L

Feb 27, 2020

it would help if the course have subs in spanish

创建者 Omar H

Dec 19, 2017

Entertaining, but very basic. Suits a beginner with very little knowledge of physics.

创建者 Aitor C C

Dec 08, 2015

I can't have my certirficate and already I pay for it!

创建者 Sarah

Mar 10, 2020

Really fantastic! I'm an amateur, took the course with my high school daughter who is thinking of a career in astronomy so we wanted to explore basic concepts and understand what astronomers do. This was perfect for that purpose. I'm not sure she'll finish, but I found it so interesting I did. The course is just the right balance of videos, readings, activities. The videos are also well-done and it helps that it is not just a talking head the whole time, or reading of off a slide deck. I appreciate the sometimes fun and humorous asides in videos. Only critical feedback is that it seems to get out of date fast... the videos should have had time stamps on them or avoid terms like "recently", "about to" because we don't know if you are talking about something 5 years ago, or today. Hope to make time for more courses in the futur, thanks for doing this Chris and the Steward Observatory Team (and the teaching assistants, poor things, who have to wade through all of the comments from people confused about how to submit assignments... when there were actual questions, they answered promptly, clearly and well.)

创建者 Richard E

Aug 24, 2017

Note that I am probably an unusual student in that I have both T.A.ed and lectured in the past. I would give this course at least 90% ("A") for a survey of Astronomy course [no Math or Physics prerequisites]. The professor (Dr. Impey) is quite skilled in communicating with non-majors and encouraging them to learn more about Astronomy and Cosmology. Also, the free textbook material superbly matches the course and contains links to more detailed study [excellent!] I'd like to try a course for majors with him as well. Maybe, I'd have to become a UofA student remotely from Dallas?

=================================================

Issues in course (How much is due to Coursera limitations?):

(1) Not enough lab work. Lab reinforces lectures and it is simply a lot of fun, especially for the novice.

(2) The writing assignments are reviewed by inexperienced peers -- we are unqualified and also this practice might tempt some to collusion.

(3) Some of the lectures need an update. Hopefully, this will happen in time for the next session.

创建者 Robert E K P

May 19, 2017

Astronomy: Exploring Time and Space is an excellent way to gain an overall view of the science of Astronomy. The course contains just the right amount of rigor to challenge the student and to continuously stimulate the desire to know more about each of the topics copies. There isn't any math or physics to worry about although the role both of these areas play in the study of the universe and the stars and objects it contains is described when necessary. There are peer reviewed writen assignments that help develop a better understanding of the subject material. The course also has some of the best and most involved mentors of any Coursera course I have taken. They are also available to answer questions and are very knowledge of the course materials. Dr. Impey's lectures are clear and very enjoyable to watch and the accompanying course materials are also excellent.

创建者 Surya

Jun 03, 2018

Truly beautiful course, if you've got that tiny bit of love for the night sky or physics just dive into it. It's just perfect. Its the perfect blend of fun references, clippings and simulations with absolutely great teaching imparting so much knowledge and info, every little thing from the videos to the script to the theories and concepts are laid out just picture perfectly. I couldn't have asked for more, it's one of the best courses there is out there if not the absolute best one! One heck of a journey I'll never forget! Thank you so much for everything Prof. Impey! Just owe so much to you! You've put together the best course I could've asked for! You're one of the best teachers ever! Thanks a million University of Arizona! (PS If anyone back in Arizona see's this please, please let the Prof know!) Cheers!

创建者 Pedro J d C

Dec 08, 2016

I am very happy to have completed the course. I was able to learn a lot about various aspects of astronomy, especially galaxies and globular clusters that are objects that call my attention. I was able to read much of the material provided in teachastronomy, thank you for the kindness of making the material available. I watched all the videos of Professor Chris and I was able to follow well due to the availability of the subtitles in English, this was important. The interviews I could not follow completely by the lack of subtitles. This was a great opportunity for me that likes astronomy, but because of the distance that I live from the great centers of study, it is very difficult to access good and reliable information. I am very grateful and congratulate the institution for making this course available.

创建者 Michael F

Apr 27, 2018

What an amazing class and enjoyable experience this has been for me personally. I feel that now I can at least understand some basic fundamental properties of the cosmos. I have been a follower of Dr. Carl Sagan for many years and Professor Stephen Hawking (RIP) as well. I thank my lucky stars (pun intended) for wonderful teachers like professor Chris Impey who has created a remarkable presentation of facts, theories and ideas that we know about the universe and salts our curiosity to continue exploring the big questions of who we are, where we came from, and what does it all mean. That you professor Impey for all you and so many others introduced in this class have done.

All the best,

Michael Fredericksen (Indiana, USA)

创建者 hamid m

Mar 24, 2019

thank you professor chris for making my day(s). really, when i see all the useless things people do, it is your astronomy class that puts things in perspective. plus, i hate to say this on a public forum; playing your videos helped put me to sleep at night, kinda like a bedtime story. truly, i have separation anxiety wondering how i'm going to be able to fall asleep now. the biggest problem i experienced with this was trying to keep track of my videos, because it would autoplay and cycle through an entire week. if coursera could put an option in there for that. i ended up playing my videos in reverse chronological order so when i fell asleep it would cycle through all the ones i had already watched

创建者 Matko Z

Oct 04, 2016

I am a First year master in software engineering, but also a really curious "kid". In my search for interesting course related to astronomy I found this one.

Although I am only half way through the course I state that this is the most compelling course I have taken on Coursera. Since I have more then some knowledge of scientific method, physics and other topics talked about in the course, but not as much in astronomy I find the course tailored for me. Especially taking into account that this course is in the right spot between popular knowledge and a little bit of science and engineering.

Prof. Impley is excellent in explaining, even amazing at some points :)

创建者 Utkarsh T

Jun 08, 2019

This course has a deep impact on my vantage point about the obvious things that I have always taken for granted without considering the possibility of a scientific basis behind them. It helped me understand the fundamentals not only in astronomy but also real-life day-to-day things and I am so glad to write about historical viewpoints and beliefs that this course has provided me.

I am so impressed by the work of Professor Chris Impey and his team. You people have made it possible such an organized course for all the students(especially who are not from astronomy background).

Looking forward to be a part of any other similar course in the future.

创建者 Arjun S

Dec 07, 2017

This course has been a wonderful and very informative experience. Aimed at novices like me, it manages to explain very complicated stuff in easily understood ways. I guess Prof Impey is a fan of Carl Sagan and is carrying on his proud tradition of making difficult science more accessible to people who don't have the necessary training. However, I would advise future learners to spend as much time as possible researching the Teach Astronomy website which is an invaluable source for material directly connected to the course. You will find it much easier to tackle the assignments if you do. Can't wait for them to offer other courses like this!

创建者 Eric Y

Apr 29, 2017

Chris Impey eases into the subject of astronomy, with increasingly difficult subject matter as the course proceeds. However, he is very methodical and plain (in a good way) in his language, and his videos are a joy to watch. I started this course already interested in amateur astronomy and learned a lot of new things about the technology and methodology in astronomy. I'd recommend this to anyone who is really interested in astronomy. Be prepared to make a not insignificant commitment, because the course is nearly four months long! Time well spent in my opinion. Thank you to all who made this course possible.

创建者 Luís C d C J

Mar 29, 2020

Curso incrível. Pude compreender desde conceitos básicos em física e metodologia em ciência pra poder facilitar o entendimento de conceitos mais amplos e o estudo de objetos astronômicos como formação de sistemas solares, galáxias, o próprio universo e mesmo outras áreas como biologia e suas possibilidades.

Astonishing course. It taught me since basic concepts in physics and scientific method so it could facilitate the understanding of bigger concepts and the study of astronomical objects as the formation of solar systems, galaxies, the universe and even other subjects as biology and its possibilities

创建者 David B

Aug 13, 2017

I have taken 5 or 6 online courses through Coursera and this have proven to be the most interesting of the lot. I enjoyed the professor's delivery style and all the topics that were covered. I had little knowledge of Astronomy before taking the course and now feel I have a much better insight into outer space. Great job Professor Impey and those that assisted. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in gaining a broader knowledge in science. You do not need to have any previous knowledge of Astronomy to be successful in this course and to gain knowledge from this great course.

创建者 Aleksandar M

May 26, 2018

This course is a must for everyone interested in astronomy with very little to no prior knowledge. The instructor has huge experience in education and is clearly very familiar with the most common misconceptions people have. To me it was a fascinating journey from Earth, through our Solar system, to the most distant quasars. It also follows the Copernican revolution from the Heliocentric system, to Multiverse and Simulation theory.

Quizzes are not that hard, but there are some assignments to write. Some videos you might want to watch couple of times to fully understand them.

创建者 HELEN P

Jul 16, 2019

Having just finished the course successfully, I would recommend it to anyone who loves astronomy. Coming from a different scientific field , but with a great love for astronomy, I feel that this course clarified a lot of meanings and introduced me to great concepts. And although English is not a native language, the course as well as all visualizations and material used, were very clear. Professor Impey is very well understood and does not use technical details that could confuse. Thanks Professor Impey and the Steward Observatory Teaching Team!

创建者 Frank B

Aug 13, 2016

The astronomy course exceeded my expectations. I learned a great deal from the video lectures and the astrpoedia textbook. I was surprised that preparing for the essay questions was also a good source for added knowledge in researching for the assignments. I am indebted to Chris Impey for the excellent lectures and course. Everything was well presented and explained well but I could not get up to understand much of the last lesson – Life in the Universe.

In summary, great course and recommend it without reservations. Kudos and thanks to Chris Impey.

创建者 Tracy C

Sep 08, 2019

Brilliant course, really interesting. Professor Chris Impey has clearly put a great deal of thought and work into it and is a fantastic lecturer - very easy to listen to (which is important when you are feeling tired after a day at work!). The regular, live youtube sessions were an unexpected bonus and more than I would have ever expected for a course that was to all intents and purposes free. Thank you so much, not least for maintaining my interest through a busy summer and getting me to the end (many before have failed!).

创建者 Ignacio D L P

May 27, 2018

Great course, material is great and extensive. Recommended for people who have some interest but not a lot of knowledge in astronomy and would like to get a wide view of the field. One thing noting, although it doesn't take away from the overall experience, is that it is a bit outdated, as it was made in 2013-2014. It wouldn't take much to update the lecture slides letting students know the current state of things. Once again, it's not a big deal, and you should research online anyway. 5/5.

创建者 Natasha J

Jun 14, 2019

This course is a perfect beginners guide to astronomy. It's simple enough to follow yet detailed enough to give you a real sense of the field. The video lectures and readings are interesting and well organised in week by week topics. The assignments are challenging without being too time consuming. Professor Impey holds live YouTube question and answer sessions almost monthly, giving you direct access to him.

I found this course engaging, satisfying and truly educational.

创建者 Sathish V

Jul 29, 2019

Wonderful course and Prof. Impey was articulate in his explanation with the right level of details to explain various phenomena and principles that govern astrophysics, space and time. The online interactions were really useful in understanding several new facets on the frontiers of modern study and investigation. Thank you Prof Impey for putting together this wonderful course, it helped me understanding few concepts that I was keen to understand and learn.

创建者 Xenia P

Jul 28, 2019

This course is very interesting and very informative! It is perfect for all people who would like to know more about the astronomy, but don't know where to start. This is a whole bunch of information all in all, but Chris Impey manages to teach so, that you don't feel overwhelmed, but only interested and hungry for more! There are also from time to time the opportunities to ask questions live. I highly recommend this course, it helped me a lot!

创建者 Lauren P

Oct 01, 2015

I am in LOVE with this course. No, seriously. I can't stop talking about it. With EVERYONE I MEET. I have a degree in Chemistry, and teach Earth Science and Chemistry to high school students, so my knowledge about science for this course is up to par, but I like that it adds a LITTLE more info, and it's going to give me a chance to bring stuff back to my students. The text book is amazing, and the videos are on point. Thanks for a great class!