Chevron Left
返回到 天体生物学和寻找外星生命

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 天体生物学和寻找外星生命 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,258 个评分
618 条评论

课程概述

Learn about the origin and evolution of life and the search for life beyond the Earth....

热门审阅

VS
Sep 15, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

KG
Jul 24, 2020

A great opportunity to learn a lot of things especially in terms of seeking the origin of life here on our planet Earth and beyond in the vast universe. Thank you for the knowledge and everything.

筛选依据:

26 - 天体生物学和寻找外星生命 的 50 个评论(共 606 个)

创建者 Ethige I P S

May 15, 2020

Excellent and well-designed course! Thanks a lot, Sir for this amazing experience.

This course has its own beautiful flow from the beginning to the end and with very well understandable simple English for anyone in the world. I am so sure that this course is going to give me a huge boost to my future carrier and in my dream field.

Suggestions: Few contents have to be revised and updated since many major astrobiological findings were done during the last few years.

创建者 Nikola C

Feb 9, 2020

A great introductory course for those that have an interest on how life could possibly survive elsewhere other than Earth. I am self-educated by the means of reading and watching documentaries and this course peaked my interest. I was able to follow and understand the modules discussed, even though I haven't had any formal study for the past 15 years.

The structure of the course was simple and well-thought through which I thoroughly enjoyed!

创建者 Kazeem F

Apr 21, 2021

I have always been interested and wondered about life on our world and how life came into existence, what triggered life, and of course the meaning of life and where it originated from. Which is the driving force to taking on this course and so far its been very interesting and fascinating to learning the frontier of our ancient Astrobiologists. I will like to complete a diploma and be a Astrobiologist.

创建者 Susann

May 21, 2019

Excellent course by Professor Cockell from the University of Edinburgh. The lectures are interesting and easy to follow. A wide variety of subject are covered and presented very well. I did speed up the videos a little bit. Only point of criticism I have: In one of the quiz questions one possible answer is "about a decade ago". This of cause does not work well in a course that is online for a longer time.

创建者 James W

Apr 26, 2017

Excellent course! I'm an electrical engineer, not an astronomer nor biologist. However, I've always been interested in both topics. This course delved into both just enough where I stayed focused and understood everything. Each course was extremely interesting and I learned many new things in each. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the science behind the search for extraterrestrial life!

创建者 Nicholas K

Nov 4, 2018

The Astrobiology course is a brilliant MOOC which briefly explains the basic principles of astrobiology but also some extremely interesting facts in this field. The course has a nice and steady flow which is easy to follow and the deadlines are flexible and easy to manage. Overall, I really enjoyed spending my time on this course. It was the perfect way to learn more on this field. Astrobiology rocks!!.

创建者 Oriane K

May 13, 2017

Very interesting. I enjoyed learning more about biosignatures detections and proper conditions for life on other planets. I recommend this course for everyone interested in the subject. Please note the course seems to date back to 2013, and new discoveries have been made afterwards - like the TRAPPIST-1 system found in 2015 and recently announced by the NASA. But the fundamental notions remain the same.

创建者 Diana D B

Sep 3, 2015

This is a terrific course! I really enjoyed Dr. Cockrell's lecture style. He is very articulate and presents and explains the material very well. The photos and graphics were very useful for following the lectures and understanding the material.

I found the "What Have We Learned" summaries after each lecture very helpful. I would like to take more courses offered by Dr. Cockrell in the future.

创建者 Khushali B

Oct 20, 2020

It was very good investing my time in this course. The content and structure of the course is good enough to give you almost intermediate level of knowledge on the subject of astrobiology and most important benefit is that anybody who is completely unaware of the subject can also take up the course and understand everything that is explained. I enjoyed reading and learning from this course.

创建者 Rosa S

Mar 22, 2018

I would strongly reccomend this course to anyone who would like to have a first approach to the outstanding topic of Astrobiology. I was always fascinated by such argument, and this course have provided me the basic notions on it. Now I know which specific topics I would like to deepen. Moreover, prof. Cockell has the hability to make every subject understandable and interesting.

创建者 Prem K B

Aug 14, 2020

The course was good and was specific. Though the field of astrobiology is still in its very initial stages but the updation is required to the course as many new space missions and discoveries has been made. The case studies were good and quite ample but there is incorporation of case studies related to new space programmes. Nevertheless, the course was smooth and comprehensive.

创建者 Amber S

Jan 24, 2020

Very interesting course. I studied this topic in my biology degree and wanted to learn some more about astrobiology. It was interesting and engaging. The tests were fair, not too easy, not too hard - the right level of challenge. I recommend the course! Maybe for a beginner to the topic, it could be hard at first with the new vocabulary, but the course is well explained

创建者 Shivani D

May 3, 2020

This course has broadened my perspective on the origins of life on Earth, its evolution and the possible existence of extraterrestrial life. Professor Cockell and the University of Edinburgh has provided a great introductory programme to astrobiology, and it has confirmed my interest to pursue related studies at university. Thank you for such an invigorating course!

创建者 Coleen M

Aug 16, 2020

I have always been interested in astronomy and astrobiology, so I was extremely excited when I came across this course. Lecture material was not only interesting but concepts were explained simply and concisely. This was a great introductory course and I would recommend it to anyone who is also interested in learning more about astrobiology. Thank you!

创建者 Timothy E S

Mar 16, 2021

Professor Cockell is extremely knowledgeable and well versed in this exploration of astrobiology and the search for extraterrestrial life. He is an excellent communicator and skilled at presenting a logical breakdown of this course material. I thoroughly enjoyed his course and would strongly recommend it to anyone interested in this field of study.

创建者 Temesgen k D

Aug 3, 2020

The course is very interesting and covered many aspects to understand the origin of life on our planet. The evolution of life on our planet. And the possibilities of life elsewhere. In addition, it covers many aspects of the universe related to life and helps us to do more research in the areas to answer questions that are open and not concluded yet.

创建者 Sidhartha S S

Nov 11, 2018

First of all, thank you for such a wonderful course. Special thanks to prof. Cockell for teaching in such an informative and relatable way. After this course my love and fascination for this subject has increased. Let's see how far our civilization goes succeed in finding extra terrestrial intelligence. Once again thanks for these wonderful lectures.

创建者 David H

Apr 28, 2020

Five-stars. Thank-you Charles Cockell for a must interesting and informative course - even if I did realise towards the end the course is at least five years old, so some of the material is out of date.

But still I can catch up by continuing to watch Charles' "Life in the Universe Pandemic Series". I could certainly recommend this course to others.

创建者 Karen D

Sep 11, 2018

This course was extremely helpful and exciting for an aspiring astrobiologist like myself.

The instructor explained everything very clearly and was very direct.

My favorite part was when he talked about the possibility of life in our solar system, such as on Europa and Titan.

He made learning about astrobiology exciting and fun. I was never bored.

创建者 Stoyanov A

Mar 4, 2021

Many thanks to the University of Edinburgh all the people, who have taken part in production of this course, especially to Prof. Cockell! It is a really inspiring and multilateral course, which emphasises the basic provisions of studying extraterrestrial life, life on earth and methodology of detection life and planets suitable for life.

创建者 Arturo C M

Mar 8, 2021

Great course, really complete. It is a great starting point and the professor is a huge figure in the field. Just a small observation: not right away I noticed that the course is a bit outdated so it would be beneficial to point out the year in wich the courses are released just to have in mind how much the field has possibly advanced.

创建者 Eda S

Jun 17, 2020

I gained so many informations of the history and development of astrobiology as a new subject to lean into. The best thing while learning methods and researches done for the field, the course, has been prepared to seek out reasons and raise scientific questions in our heads for further investigation ourselves. Thank you Prof. Cockell!

创建者 Jean-Simon L C

May 2, 2020

Very engaging and fascinating course. I was very interested in astrobiology beforehand, but this course inspired me to pursue a career in Planetary Science!

For my first course on coursera, I am very impressed an wish to continue learning on this platform. Thank you very much for giving me a sense of meaning in these Covid times!

创建者 Nicola W

May 5, 2021

This was a fantastic course and a brilliant overview into the fascinating field of Astrobiology. It covers a lot of ground and fundamentals, is highly informative and is guaranteed to teach the reader/ learner a lot about the basis of this subject. The course is delivered well and it was a really enjoyable course to undertake.

创建者 Daniela V D

Mar 3, 2016

I really enjoyed it, the first modules where the ones i consider more important and tho it was pretty informative i would like to recommend the update of a few lectures and data of the same. In the case of the arrival of the spacecraft new horizons, i mean. But in general i really liked it, it compliments my college formation.