Chevron Left
返回到 天文科技:天文学发现背后的科技

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 天文科技:天文学发现背后的科技 的评价和反馈

4.7
316 个评分
86 个审阅

课程概述

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

热门审阅

AS

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

EE

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

筛选依据:

26 - 天文科技:天文学发现背后的科技 的 50 个评论(共 82 个)

创建者 paneri p

Apr 09, 2017

amazing course.....

创建者 Nabarup G

Apr 18, 2018

good

创建者 Roland U

Oct 14, 2017

Good and Interesting course, specifically about the Technology used for Astronomy.

创建者 Alan h

Dec 28, 2017

HI. i learned a lot of things i had not thought about before. thanks

创建者 Robert B

Mar 11, 2017

Very good course. Explanations of new technology and

basic concepts were informative and easy to understand.

创建者 Denise W

Feb 06, 2018

Thank you for putting on this course, I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Brice B

Jun 21, 2018

Great course!!! Very clear, very interesting! Just the right level of detail to be interesting to both people who know no physics and people who know a little more (high school physics). The different technologies are presented by showing how they can help us explaining a specific astronomical phenomenon. The integration is not seamless (there is some overlap / some physics points are spread across several weeks) but it's close enough. I would take another course by the same instructors without any hesitation. If you are interested in astronomy as a science (and not only as a body of knowledge) don't miss this course!

创建者 Rujaya T

Mar 05, 2017

I love this course. Easy explaining so it's easy to understand.

创建者 Ashwini V S

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent Course!! Amazing Teachers!! You can learn a lot of fundamentals if you are new to the field.Highly recommended for people for starting who just getting into astronomy.

创建者 José F

Jan 02, 2017

Great course for learning not only the way the universe work but also the way we have learned it!

创建者 Mohamed N

Sep 07, 2017

Excellent Course!

创建者 Eleftheria M

Feb 27, 2017

Many thanx for a fantastic course! Waiting for your next one!

创建者 Evanshu

Apr 27, 2018

This Course is phenominal and the mix of practicals shown with the consistency of thery makes it a remarkable product of gaining basics ofAstronomical knowledge

创建者 George V P

Mar 03, 2017

A very interesting course for beginners and a very good first step in pursuing deeper knowledge. Thank you Edinburgh University and Coursera

创建者 Cipactli M

May 08, 2017

I loved the course and i learnt a lot about technology in Astronomy!

创建者 Aishwarya S

Apr 04, 2017

Great course. Would definitely recommend it.

创建者 Sharan S M

May 13, 2017

This was a really good course.

创建者 Alfonso Y

Apr 30, 2018

Good course with interesting information.

创建者 Txinto V

Nov 02, 2017

Easy but a good approach to astronomy science cases where instrumentation help is fundamental.

创建者 José F Q V

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent course.

创建者 Antonio B

Jul 11, 2017

Explanations are clear and insightful. The concepts discussed are far from simple, but they are exposed in a very natural way. An extended, deeper version or a follow up course would be nice!

创建者 Aline S

Oct 05, 2017

It was a great overview! I looking forward for more courses.

创建者 Nikhil N P

Dec 02, 2016

Provides new insights for Dark Energy and Dark Matter and also helps one understand the basic Physics as applied to Astronomy.Really nice course !

创建者 Priyadarshini J S

Jan 06, 2017

Fantastic course for a beginner like me with no prior knowledge about Astronomy. Gives you loads of information about different elements of the universe with good details around how technology integrates with all the different elements to help us understand the overall picture better and be able to predict and past and future of our ever expanding universe. I am very glad I took this course.

创建者 shakib C

Mar 21, 2018

Learn lots of interesting things. Thank you.