Chevron Left
返回到 Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

学生对 墨尔本大学 提供的 Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization 的评价和反馈

4.8
254 个评分
60 条评论

课程概述

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

热门审阅

BO

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

HA

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

筛选依据:

1 - Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization 的 25 个评论(共 56 个)

创建者 Boris O

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

创建者 Vítor R

Apr 28, 2019

I've never been more engaged in a MOOC!!

创建者 Pablo H

Aug 07, 2019

This is an amazing introductory course to discrete optimization. All the learning materials are very high quality, and teachers are awesome. All concepts are introduced with very practical examples, and the assignments are incrementally difficult. You will learn MiniZinc that it is a declarative programming for discrete optimisation.

It is really enjoyable thanks to the background story. I love workshop videos where teachers solved a problem similar to the assignment before you tried. Definitely, I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to introduce in this area.

创建者 王星宇

Mar 07, 2020

Challenging optimization puzzle with interesting background story setting. This course provides us some basic knowledge about discrete optimization and the usage of MiniZinc Modeling Language. However mentors focus too much on the modeling process, the program sometimes has a different behavior from our expect. How to locate the potential bug and to fix them, I though, is also important to us. Overall, this is really a good course, suitable for the one without much background knowledge. Recommend!

创建者 Jaye H

Jan 06, 2019

This course was amazing! Far more interesting, entertaining, and educational than I was expecting to find. There's a trailer for this course, which indicates how well-produced it is and how much effort has been put in to make this more than just dry lecture material. The course-creators have done an amazing job with this one; if you are a beginner with any interest in optimization or constraint programming then this is the course for you.

创建者 Carlos V

Feb 12, 2017

"Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimiation" is an excellent course for anyone interested in optimization models, improving their problem-solving skills and have a nice challenge.

The explanations and examples are fantastic and all these complemented with the utilization of MiniZinc, which make the course so much natural in comparison to other optimization tools.

Highly Recommended 5/5.

创建者 Alexander P

Jan 06, 2020

Very good introduction into combinatorial optimization problems and constraint programming. This course does not teach how to develop algorithms. Instead, you learn how to formally describe the problem using a declarative language and apply a solver to obtain a solution.

创建者 Arnaud L R

Dec 04, 2018

This course is very well done. The story gives a fun context to the exercices. The exercices allows one to really start to understand how important modeling is and how to do it, they are so well calibrated that I wonder if they were generated by a solver :-)

创建者 Stefano N

Mar 11, 2017

Excellent course. The high level modeling language that is presented is very powerful and relatively simple to use. Maybe a couple of more lecture specifically dedicated to the modeling languange itself would allow easier kick-in to the course.

创建者 Jason H

May 10, 2019

An excellent course, very well explained and a nice touch with the story and animations. The workshops and assignments were fun and challengining. It was amazing to see the difference in efficiency given by different approaches.

创建者 Thiago O P

Jan 21, 2017

Amazing course, amazing material and amazing lessons. For everyone interested in Discrete Optimization MiniZinc is a must know technology and this course does an amazing introduction with lots of different applications.

创建者 Gabriel D d A

Feb 25, 2019

Ótimo curso para introdução a otimização discreta, tive dificuldades nas tarefas, mas boa parte devido a minha falta de atenção. Diferente de outros corretores, o Feedback do MinZinc funcionou muita bem!

创建者 Juan C G V

Jan 06, 2018

Enjoyable and challenging. Great professors and TAs. Excellent introduction to modeling and declarative programming. If you want to learn programming with constraints definitely I recommend this course.

创建者 Alexandre P

Jul 30, 2017

Very interesting and neatly prepared course. It was very easy to dive in the course and to stay motivated. I would highly recommend their course for its amazing quality.

创建者 Mikhail S

Sep 22, 2018

Great course, but huge gap in difficulty between weeks two and three, as it seemed to me. Knowledge given by course is applicable both for a work and a hobby for me.

创建者 Hala A

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

创建者 Philippe C

Jan 14, 2018

Great course to learn modeling discrete optimization problems. Excellent pedagogy and amusing problems to model using MiniZinc.

创建者 Clot J

May 30, 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

创建者 Charles E T

Jun 08, 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

创建者 Tino W

Nov 26, 2017

It's a fun course and can be applied on many optimization problems in the real world.

创建者 Cristian R A

Oct 09, 2019

This course is very useful for learning basic CSP Modelling with Minizinc

创建者 Ferry d B

Mar 03, 2020

Great course, quality of the lectures and exercises was outstanding!

创建者 Dharyll P A

Jun 24, 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

创建者 Juan L R A

Sep 26, 2017

A very good course. Thank you to the teachers and Staff in general.