Chevron Left
返回到 统计基础

学生对 阿姆斯特丹大学 提供的 统计基础 的评价和反馈

4.6
4,165 个评分

课程概述

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

热门审阅

AD

Jun 27, 2022

Instructors have provided concise explanations of the concepts. There are many examples considered that make statistics easier to understand! Also, the illustrations are fancy. I enjoyed every video!

PG

Apr 20, 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.

Please allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

筛选依据:

976 - 统计基础 的 1000 个评论(共 1,025 个)

创建者 Mahamadshabir M

Jan 1, 2021

It has been really great experience studying on Such Platform. Has got lots new things to learn. Requesting to provide reading manuals/write ups. Although lectures were provided in writing.

创建者 Nikita F

Sep 13, 2017

Unfortunately I didn't like this course – the basic things are explained in great details (which is not always necessary), but more complicated terms are not covered in the way they should.

创建者 SRINIVAS R

Apr 2, 2016

some of the videos were outstanding and easy to understand. Need more handholding for understanding of concepts and review/explanation of the quiz results will reinforce learning further.

创建者 Steph B

Dec 27, 2020

Some info was presented really quickly and the course notes didn't help. Very shallow explanation. Having a recommended textbook that go into more depth would have been great

创建者 tressie p

Jan 4, 2020

I was expecting to learn basic statistic before diving into the programming. I did not take this class to get familiar with R programming. And it slow me down.

创建者 Christina P

Oct 26, 2017

It was a really nice and informative course. As a statistics rookie, I can say with confidence that I now know the basics of Statistics! Thank you very much!

创建者 Manish G

Jan 25, 2022

C​ouse name should mention something like Basic statistics with 'R since it cover pretty good amoing of R language

创建者 Ladden D N G U

Oct 11, 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE COURSE, YET I AM NOT THAT FAN OF THE rLAB BECAUSE OF THEIR INSTRUCTIONS THAT ARE HARD TO GET.

创建者 Bhupesh P

Mar 3, 2017

Course material is not enough, you need to also refer at least one reference book as well.

创建者 Alexandria W

Jul 17, 2022

C​ertain concpets are not well explained and some of the examples are actually incorrect.

创建者 Yutian L

May 16, 2017

if we can have a review before the final exam will help a lot. and the r lab is so hard.

创建者 Troy B

Jun 6, 2021

good information but the coding is far too difficult for a class of this level

创建者 Jon H

Jun 20, 2022

R​equires a working knowledge of R. Also not exactly an introductory course.

创建者 Pankaj M

Nov 25, 2016

2 Stars less because they should have included R video tutorials

创建者 SUNEWAD R L

Aug 1, 2020

good for the users , who wants to learn R lab coading.

创建者 Kevin H

Mar 29, 2021

The R Labs are hard to understand and very difficult

创建者 Deleted A

Apr 26, 2021

It would be better without R lab

创建者 Sujoy S

Jun 2, 2019

Very tuff quiz questions

创建者 Rasmus B

Jun 29, 2019

quite hard

创建者 asha s m

Jul 2, 2020

THANKS

创建者 Navya V

Aug 2, 2020

good

创建者 Mutcherla S

May 30, 2020

good

创建者 Anastasiya K

Apr 28, 2020

The course is good because it collects pieces of information together if you have studied something before. But I went through it for a very long time (relative to other specialization courses) and lost motivation several times, had to take breaks. Some topics are not described in such detail and with incomprehensible examples, which is why it is go difficult to solve problems. Tasks with R are generally difficult - but not because it's code (i'm good with it) – most often tasks were not related to lectures in the subject, and often instead of using functions and other convenient methods in R, you had to solve everything manually, simply substituting the numbers in the formula. But what's the point then in the code?

I would also like to draw attention to the fact that it’s very difficult to pass tests, sometimes the question and answer options are ambiguous, or it seems that there can be more than one answer.

Also important is the fact that the curators do not answer questions at all on the forum, I met questions written six months or a few months ago - and they were unanswered. How so?

In general, I am glad that I took this course, but I can’t say that it practically helped me. You will have to watch other courses to fill in the gaps and understand what was not explained here.

创建者 Courtney v S

Nov 10, 2016

Not very helpful. In the homework I spent more time wrestling with commands in R than actually gaining an understanding of the subject matter.

Also, I really didn't need so many subject matter examples about the professor's baby's pooping habits. (And my family is Dutch with all the offensive humor that comes with it, so it's not just a matter of the sense of humor not translating)

I'm re-taking Statistics with Calculus online at my local state university and frankly, I can't notice any benefit from taking this course first. My current online Statistics with Calculus course is rewarding and I feel like I'm truly gaining mastery of the topics, whereas in the Basic Statistics course I was floundering.

The graphics in the way the lessons are presented are well done! But I would have been just fine with fewer graphics if it meant more worked-through examples.