Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,809 个评分
468 个审阅

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

筛选依据:

426 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 450 个评论(共 457 个)

创建者 Suyash C

Dec 24, 2017

Plus Points of the course -

It starts with a context of where and why bayesian statistics comes into play. Good real world examples and questions are posed to drive home this point at the start of the course.

Where it could have been more helpful -

1) Somewhere in between the course gets lost in math expressions and distributions drifting away from real world implications. This would be ok for someone looking for pure math/stats. However it would become less relevant for someone coming from data science/business side. More real world use cases could have been there. (2) Better guidance on which other streams of data science/business can have application of this knowledge would be helpful (3) More comprehensive set of resources (pdf ones) would be great

创建者 Jens L R

Jan 31, 2017

It was pretty intuitive and easy to follow the first couple of weeks, but then the assumed knowledge of beta and gamma distributions and their frequentist usage, stood in the way of me fully grasping the Bayesian part of it. In the end I just copied the examples from the lectures and passed the tests ... without really getting it.

创建者 Pranav H

Jul 02, 2018

The course could have given more information on tiny details which can confuse people during the exercises. But overall a good learning experience

创建者 Jesús R S

Jul 19, 2017

Good course as an introduction to bayesian statistics if you want to pursue more advanced courses in the field or to get some practise working with distributions under the bayesian framework.

创建者 Augusto S P

Sep 24, 2017

The course is good for beginners in statistics. In my opinion it would be better to invest more time explaining different topics about bayesian regression and bayesian time series.

创建者 Ahmed S

Jan 04, 2017

This course requires solid grounding in mathematics. No meant of Social Science graduates without proper training in statistics/mathematics. The course was good in the sense that we could how probability distributions are used to model real world problems.

Study material was certainly not adequate.

创建者 Francois S

Sep 05, 2017

Nice introduction to Bayesian concepts. Presentation sometimes focused on the details of the calculations and could gain from more perspective. Sections relating to Normal variables - variance unknown and Linear Regression could be more explicit. Useful overall as an introduction, but require to get additional external material to get to the bottom of it.

创建者 sokunsatya s

May 31, 2018

Overall, it's Ok. but the explanation is too short and incomplete.

创建者 Olexandr L

Jul 01, 2017

It was quite difficult to learn from just the material provided here, and I had to look for info on the web. Also, adding modern real life examples and going into detail would make this course better

创建者 Alessandra T

Jun 30, 2017

We still don't understand how Bayes differs to Frequentist... A worked example comparing the two at the end would have been nice.

创建者 aref h

Aug 24, 2017

better to come up with more examples and more mathematical details

创建者 A A

Nov 26, 2018

Would have liked more problem solving and real-world application examples.

创建者 Ken M

May 01, 2019

It would have been great if more graphs had been provided, for easier visualization of the e.g. distributions, or concepts.

创建者 yogi t c

Jun 22, 2019

I don't have background in math and statistics, in the first week of the lecture i can catch up with the lesson, but coming into week 3 and 4 it's really hard to me to understand what's happening, since the lecture / videos only talking about the formulas and only taught us how to use the formula. Actually for person like me who want to know Bayesian Statistics application in the real world and also fundamentals of it it's quite not recommended to took this lecture, honestly. However in the general understanding this lecture quite can help me how Bayesian thinking works what is the connection between likelihood, prior, how to choose prior, etc.

创建者 Victor D

Jul 09, 2019

Very informative as an introduction to concepts, but nowhere near the deep dive I'm now interested in taking.

创建者 Tawan S

Jun 03, 2019

For some derivations, the explanations are too sparse.

创建者 Max H

Jul 14, 2019

It would be much better if there was a more sufficient introduction to the various distributions used in the course.

创建者 roger

Jul 24, 2019

It would be better to add more explain about those equations and connect the math stuffs with the real world samples

创建者 Tianchi L

Aug 15, 2019

-1 star: Some discussions and derivations do not have adequate context and background. I expected more thorough explanation on concepts and more advanced topics. There are also a few minor typos that confused me. It is only a helpful introductory level course on Bayesian without depth.

-1 star: quizzes are not challenging enough and they only require plugging in numbers into equation. Not a good way to study

创建者 Binu M D

Sep 21, 2019

Too much theoretical than practical applications. No need to give both R and Excel videos.

创建者 Leandro G G

Oct 22, 2019

This course provides a good overview to Bayesian statistics, but a larger dose of explanations of would be very useful. Mr Lee discusses, in the beginning, the differences between frequentist and bayesian paradigm. I feel that this would be beneficial in the other parts of the course, too. I feel that many of the lectures simply go too fast. After lectures full of Math, it would be useful to present lectures analyzing what had just been taught, in order to better grasp the content. And in general, this happens through the whole course - most lectures are basically math, without much time for grasping the intuition and underlying logic. For example: in the final part, under linear regression, it might be be difficult to grasp what a bayesian predictive interval means. All in all, I recommend this MOOC, but you might find hard to fully grasp it.

创建者 Damel

Nov 29, 2019

Most of the support material should be prior reading. Lecturing could be more useful i.e. explaining ore about why we use certain distribution and how to apply them. Most of it as just reciting formulas and felt like a waste of time...

创建者 Jorge P

Feb 02, 2017

Some matters were just given formulas and there was a lack of practice. The course should cover less materials or be longer to be effective in teaching.

创建者 Martin E

Apr 13, 2017

I get lost a bit too often.

The teacher sometimes explains easy concepts and omits the difficult ones (e.g. exponential distribution is explained as "for example if you are waiting for a bus that comes every ten minutes" and then he tells you how to compute expected value and moves on, but he does not say WHAT IT MEANS - is it the probability that I will meet an oncoming bus? is it probability of waiting ten minutes for the bus? is it the average waiting time? is it average number of buses that come every hour? - but there is detailed explanation of what A squared means in lesson two (!))

The teacher often makes me confused as to where he got the numbers he is plugging in the formula or what answer the formula gives.

But I take it as a challenge and I intend to finish the course despite all of that. Sometimes it is fun to decipher the mystic equations. And maybe it is me, maybe I was not born to be a statistician. Maybe there are people that find this stuff easy and understand it right away.

I really like the quizes. They are HARD.

One last thing: Wearing white shirt and using white marker makes it impossible to read what he writes. But I take it is part of the challenge ;-)

创建者 Fabian K

May 01, 2017

Not very much in depth and does not offer complete lecture notes, which are necessary for answering the quizzes...