Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
2,957 个评分

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Aug 31, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

Oct 16, 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

筛选依据:

726 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 750 个评论(共 761 个)

创建者 roger

Jul 24, 2019

It would be better to add more explain about those equations and connect the math stuffs with the real world samples

创建者 Max H

Jul 14, 2019

It would be much better if there was a more sufficient introduction to the various distributions used in the course.

创建者 Victor D

Jul 9, 2019

Very informative as an introduction to concepts, but nowhere near the deep dive I'm now interested in taking.

创建者 Isra

May 4, 2020

Good course!!... Additional examples of real life explained and done in R or excel will make it great

创建者 Andres F P A

Jun 18, 2021

A lot of formulas and not that much interpretation. It is a good start in Bayesian concepts.

创建者 Binu M D

Sep 21, 2019

Too much theoretical than practical applications. No need to give both R and Excel videos.

创建者 A A

Nov 26, 2018

Would have liked more problem solving and real-world application examples.

创建者 YIHONG J

Jun 15, 2020

The workload is manageable however the homework is somewhat challenging.

创建者 Hassan A

May 11, 2020

Not well organized.

No sufficient materials, references, etc.

Very short.

创建者 sokunsatya s

May 31, 2018

Overall, it's Ok. but the explanation is too short and incomplete.

创建者 aref h

Aug 24, 2017

better to come up with more examples and more mathematical details

创建者 Rajesh k

Jan 1, 2019

This course could be taught in better understanding way

创建者 Tawan S

Jun 3, 2019

For some derivations, the explanations are too sparse.

创建者 JiaxinYang

May 31, 2021

thank you my teacher

创建者 Damir M

Apr 9, 2017

A bit too short.

创建者 Marjan H

Jan 3, 2021

I expected better teaching quality. The instructor is undoubtedly one of the bests in his area, but I personally did not like his teaching in this course. I felt he knows a lot of interesting concepts but intentionally does not teach them. The whole course was like somebody was reading from a textbook without adding any comments for students to actually grasp the concepts. In general I liked the course but I expected to learn much more from it.

创建者 Patrick K W

Jul 28, 2019

It's alright because it gives you an overview of what is covered in a Bayesian Stats class, but the material is presented quite poorly and I had to do a lot of second hand reading to answer the questions. It is not particularly enlightening even and the formulas are presented without proper grounding, context, and intuition. I can recommend this only for dedicated self-studiers who already have some sort of grounding in Bayesian reasoning.

创建者 Vinod M

Apr 26, 2021

Week 4 explanations are just theoretical where professor is literally not giving any intuition and rushing through the concepts with equations which did not make any sense to me. Till week 3 I could kind follow. I did this course with the intend of giving a based for Machine Learning study and I am an thoroughly disappointed the way it ended up.

创建者 Dennis R

Dec 31, 2020

Good content. However, way of presentation is not very engaging. Presenter's voice very monotonous and free of any engagement. In my opinion, scribbling formulas to the board does not make a helpful learning experience.

创建者 Marshall

Jun 17, 2021

A pretty standard "college-like" course with many definitions and derivations that do not help with conceptual understanding of the material. There are better tutorial/explanation videos on YouTube.

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 23, 2021

U​nsuficient explanation.

Lecturer just writes formulas without trying to explain background concepts. It is like reading a book of statistics. No way that most of the students will understand it.

创建者 Jorge P

Feb 2, 2017

Some matters were just given formulas and there was a lack of practice. The course should cover less materials or be longer to be effective in teaching.

创建者 Brett B

Sep 7, 2020

Disappointing. Hard to follow, as concepts are not fully explained or linked. Steps in equations are often skipped without notice.

创建者 Mehrdad P

Jul 3, 2019

it was an okay course, I liked that they used R occasionally in the course, but I did not like how the concepts were discussed

创建者 Fabian K

May 1, 2017

Not very much in depth and does not offer complete lecture notes, which are necessary for answering the quizzes...