Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,818 个评分
470 个审阅

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

筛选依据:

376 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 400 个评论(共 460 个)

创建者 Marc S

Oct 10, 2018

Good use of R but maybe use the actual coefficient from the equations themselves rather than picking numbers pre-selected which may confuse.

Unable to look at discussion forum without posting myself.

创建者 Ekaterini T

Oct 31, 2018

I found the need to search for most of the material needed to understand the lessons in other sources. Other than than it was a relatively easy class, which covers nearly the basics. This is not a tutorial on Data Analysis on R, although a short introduction is provided.

创建者 Oleg

Nov 10, 2018

It was my first Bayesian course. Good introduction! However more accent should be placed on intuitive understanding rather than mathematical formalism. To be fair that the issue not only with this course, that the issue with 90% of all stat courses/books. As for me, I find mathematical formalism is hard to digest, intuitive understanding should come first ... May be it's just because of my limited knowledge of stats. I'll update my belief once I get better understanding of stats:) Thank you very much Dr Lee!

创建者 Denitsa S

Nov 20, 2018

What I liked in the course is that it focuses on examples and solving actual problems. The quantity and the quality of the lectures is great, but what I really missed is written lectures where one can always lookup forgotten things or read details etc. Also, one thing that I think might be added easily is a reference to Mathematica and Maple's routines. I'm using Maple and it took some efforts to get on track. And finally, I think that 4 quizes per week is really too much for working people. It's true that the tests weren't that difficult, but it took me about an hour to do each, so I think 30 mins of lectures vs. 4 hours of quizzes is a bit unfair. Of course, my background in statistics is non-existent so it may be that it took me longer than average. But I think the course material could have been spread over say 6 weeks for lighter load on the students. All best to the team!

创建者 Sergio

Sep 30, 2018

Very nice introductory course, practical and to the point. Good starting point for more detailed courses

创建者 Aravind M

Apr 17, 2019

Good introductory course. Could provide more hands-on examples

创建者 Yahia E G

May 04, 2019

Very good course for beginning bayesian inference. The syllabus is easy to follow, but I also think one could benefit even more by complementing the lectures with other sources (books or other youtube explanation)

创建者 Eddie G

Apr 21, 2019

It would have been better to have more data analysis applications

创建者 Aditya D

Jul 17, 2019

The course itself is well structured and covers a lot of material.

There are points in the course where the order of reading material and videos needs to be switched. Also, it would help to update some videos with a little more explanation. It appears as if the lecturer is skipping steps.

创建者 George K

Jul 30, 2019

Really enjoyed the course! Thank you. I would have given a higher rating if: 1) the instructor had spend more time on the intuition underpinning different derivations, 2) provided more context, 3) discussed more examples from practice. However, I am definitely continuing on to "Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models"! Thank you once more, team UCSC!

创建者 Jan J

Aug 28, 2019

Good course, but it could really use some PDFs with lecture notes ( as in contents of videos, not supplementary material).

创建者 Arasch M

Jul 07, 2019

The course helps in developing a quite sound grasp of the Bayesian approach to the world. The assignments are feasible and help in gaining a deeper understanding of each subject. However there is a caveat: You definitely need to review your math skills before starting this course (esp. calculus, arithmetics and combinatorics) otherwise you'll be struggling with the particularities !

创建者 Darjo

Jul 09, 2019

Most of the stuff is explained quite well and I managed to understand it. I am quite satisfied overall and I am glad I completed the course. The exercises, however, were somewhat boring. I wish there were some optional exercises that are more challenging and require you to solve more realistic problems. I also wish there were more additional materials with more in depth theory and examples of how they use these concepts for solving problems that are actually of some use. I feel like these improvements would make the course much more interesting and engaging.

创建者 Mohd S K

Nov 19, 2019

Course covers the concept in a very simple way. Examples and assignments are very good.

However some of the statements made throughout the lectures needs more explanation , the course did not dedicate any videos to get familiar with terminology related to probability.

创建者 Lucas M

Nov 18, 2019

It was a very nice course that got more practical towards the end. The only thing I found a little bit confusing is the regression part, without theory videos and with practical outcomes that are exactly the same as frequentist approaches.

Don't be discouraged if you come from a background where integers and derivatives are not usual! I come from psychology and I found it a little bit hard at the beginning, but if you put effort you will get to understand almost everything. As long as you get the idea of where things like formulas are coming from and why are they done that way I think it is enough.

创建者 Massimo G

Nov 17, 2019

Very good method and quality of teaching, I'd recommend more solved and commented exercises for each topic exposed, before each week test.

创建者 Raja G

Dec 12, 2019

The course content is great and provides a good introduction to bayesian statistics. The assignments could be a little more challenging as a lot of the questions require just plugging numbers into formulae.

创建者 Danil G

Dec 09, 2019

It was a good course for me to get familiar with the new perspective on statistics. Thank you!

Maybe, some extended practice exercise at the end of the course would make it even better)

创建者 Michael M

Sep 25, 2019

Very clear and informative. Would like a more extensive and combined reference material (PDF, so less need to lookup e.g. definitions of effective sample size for various distributions).

创建者 Thierry C

Oct 01, 2019

The course was well explained and there were several exercises pushing the learner to understand the logic behind the mathematical concept. I think it is a suitable class for people with already a certain level of statistics knowledge, even though all concepts are well explained.

创建者 Colin J

Nov 12, 2019

A great intro to Bayesian analysis and probability distributions. Personally I skipped the Excel content and converted the R code to python, which was itself valuable learning.

创建者 Jose N d l R

Apr 17, 2017

I think that, besides lesson 11 and 12, everything was very well explained. I was a bit confused with lessons 11 and 12 since I am not new to econometrics. Perhaps I found it confusing the theory background related to the lessons themselves. Just my opinion, very good course.

创建者 Michael D

Sep 11, 2018

the notes for the lectures are missing.

In my opinion the notes, which includes the video materials could be very useful.

the course was good. I learnt some new concepts in bayesian thinking.

创建者 Yalong L

Oct 10, 2019

The first question in Week 4 Honor Quiz, the coefficient for intercept, I got 138 which you show incorrect, would like to know the correct answer.

创建者 Zhenkai S

Oct 08, 2019

The course is in general well structured. The professor used a lot of mathematical equations to explain the contents. I have no problem understanding them. Everything goes smoothly, until the last section: Bayesian Linear Regression (BLE). In the last section, the professor skipped all the mathematics aspects and rushed the content with R / Excel examples. This is not what I expected. Overall, I will rate the course 4 stars.