Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,647 个评分
433 个审阅

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

筛选依据:

151 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 175 个评论(共 424 个)

创建者 Mark S

Feb 08, 2017

I found this course to be really useful. It did progress through the math a bit quickly for my liking, but it was paced very appropriately and the discussion forums were helpful. Excellent examples are contained and I loved how both R and Excel modules were leveraged. Looking forward to seeing more Bayesian courses on Coursera in the future.

创建者 John G

Oct 30, 2017

Prof Lee derived the formulas in an upbeat way, which helped me learn. I'd suggest putting the actual lectures into pdf for later reference, like is done for supplementary material. Homework assignments were challenging and educational. You might suggest a review of prob distributions as pre-requisite.

创建者 Pawel P

Jul 22, 2017

Concepts explained very well, useful and informative examples.

创建者 Michal K

Oct 24, 2017

Excellent course. For such broad discipline I'm sure it was difficult to choose most important material to fit 4-week course, yet professor did it perfectly. I'd love to see this course in Python, but I guess I can't have everything ;) I'd also love see some examples of using probabilistic programming packages, like Stan or PyMC3 in more real-life problems - I would give 6/5 stars for it!

创建者 JOSE F

Jan 18, 2018

Great explanations, and great reference material.

创建者 Igor K

May 29, 2017

Very gentle and at the same time mostly rigorous introduction into the Bayes probability.

创建者 Howard H

Apr 10, 2018

A very solid introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Lectures were sufficiently detailed and of excellent quality, and the problem sets supported and reinforced the material very well. I look forward to taking part 2 of this sequence.

创建者 Yukio F

Oct 01, 2017

Excellent course.

创建者 Huang h

May 23, 2017

A Good Introduction to Bayesian Statistics. I always get quick response after I post a question on the forum.

创建者 Nicolas R

Jan 13, 2017

An excellent course, it opened a new perspective on statistics for me.

创建者 Takashi Y

Aug 18, 2017

This is a very good course!

创建者 jalal e h

Sep 13, 2016

Great introduction to bayesian statistics

创建者 Sudhir K P

Nov 16, 2017

This is first time exposure to bayesian statistics and I must say it has given me a different perspective to analyzing data especially when dealing with unpredictable data or unknown data.

创建者 Deepak K

Sep 17, 2017

Very well structured course. Problems and quiz are real life problems, and it's challenging and rewarding to solve them. Thanks to Prof. Lee for delivering an awesome course.

创建者 Daniel J R V

May 15, 2017

Great course. Delivers what promises: Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis.

创建者 Adam B

Jun 05, 2017

Great course as an introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Interesting material and the pace was very reasonable.

创建者 Oaní d S d C

Apr 22, 2018

Amazing. Simple, fast, dense, very well taught. I loved the professor, his commentaries and way to explain the contents. Thought the exercises were OK, maybe simpler than I taught but the comments in them helped me a lot to understand the topics. 10/10, a new and better way to teach! Very useful.

创建者 Mohini R

Aug 18, 2016

I enjoyed the course.

创建者 Max L d M

Jul 24, 2017

Very good course!

创建者 KK

Dec 01, 2016

Although I only spent less than one week to finish the course, I think it is quite valuable if you are interested in statistical inference and want to learn more specific in Beyesian Statistics. High Recommended.

创建者 Jeff N

Mar 30, 2017

As a long time frequentist, I occasionally run into problems that are very awkward to fit into the frequentist paradigm. I was aware at a high level that the Bayesian approach could be applied more naturally. Unfortunately, I was unable to "get it" simply be reading a book on the subject. This course made it very approachable. Professor Lee showed us the difficult math (tough integrals) behind it and how we can apply the results of that math in Excel or R

创建者 Anna B R

Dec 17, 2017

Great!

创建者 Mohan N

Mar 03, 2018

Alot of information, concise and clarity is awesome. Would recommend this course to anyone. And I did too. Great, professor. My only suggestion is to speak a little slower.

创建者 Zhu L

Nov 26, 2017

A very well-organized course. Not a hard one, but one with sufficient quizzes to make sure you understand every concept by solving problems.

Another thing I like about this course, is that I had to actively write a lot of codes in Python and Matlab when doing the exercises(due to my familiarity with these two), although the course teaches a little bit R and Excel programming. This is a very effective way of teaching.

创建者 Cooper O

Jun 28, 2017

A Fantastic course. Detailed learning materials, Lots of opportunities to test your knowledge, and difficult enough to make you learn something!