Chevron Left
返回到 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

学生对 加州大学圣克鲁兹分校 提供的 Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的评价和反馈

4.6
1,818 个评分
470 个审阅

课程概述

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

热门审阅

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

筛选依据:

201 - Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis 的 225 个评论(共 460 个)

创建者 Nitin K

Jun 01, 2017

I loved everything about this course. It reminded me of my time in school. Papers and pencils. I look forward to attending the follow up course.

创建者 Raj s

Feb 09, 2017

Learned something new :). Lecture were excellent, but, I need time to digest and hope I will get opportunity to use it in future.

创建者 Julian R S

Nov 15, 2017

A great introduction to bayesian statistics. I warmly recommend this course to those already familiar with the frequentist approach and willing to expand their knowledge.

创建者 Guido W R

Oct 05, 2016

Very nice course that in my opinion nicely fits between Bolstad and Gelman in difficulty (talking in popular Bayesian Data Analysis books). Herbert Lee does a very good job at building one's intuition and understanding in the general Bayesian inference. Good starting point for moving on with Bayes.

创建者 Manos T

Jul 19, 2017

Exceptional course on probabilities and statistics from a Bayesian point of view. I would recommend this course to anyone wishing to learn more about probabilities and statistics.

创建者 Flavio P

Aug 10, 2017

Very interesting. It can help taking notes during the course... to avoid going again through it and take them ex-post.

创建者 Laura B

Aug 05, 2017

Great course! Well explained with useful additional material. Strongly suggested.

创建者 Rizzardig

Aug 30, 2016

Just an introduction to the topic but very clear.

创建者 Labmem

Sep 11, 2016

Good course. This course is quite challenging for people who don't major in math or physics. However, it isn't so difficult to understand as the post half of this course has a lot in common. In my experience, understanding the concept of priors and posterior estimation is the core of this course. Have fun learning this course.

创建者 Humberto R C

Nov 06, 2017

A clear and compact introduction. Quizzes and exercises are relevant. I got acces to grades and feedback in the audit one I took.

创建者 Musa J

Aug 11, 2017

Herbert Lee's Tests are fun (Best!) to learn during the test! Lectures are succinct; Format of writing on the glass towards you and then flipped was right & original. Went on to try Kaggle problems independently. For usable feedback need tiny bit more on Poisson, Gamma, non conjugate intuitively & darker shirts as background.

创建者 Isaac D

Jan 20, 2017

A step by step course, designed to pay attention all the time with tons of practical examples and very clear explanations, I would definitely recommend it!!

创建者 Vimos T

Aug 25, 2016

This course makes a lot of details clear to me. Thanks professor for this great course.

I still have one question, is the professor writing on a transparent board in inverse pattern? The technique is amazing!

创建者 Lau C

Apr 15, 2019

Super clear and easy to follow. Thanks for the introduction.

创建者 Adam S

May 01, 2019

This course is great! Very clear, very professional, and lots of useful content!

创建者 Dariia V

May 07, 2019

simple, clear and enjoyable. will take the second course in the series, then move to heavy literature on the topic.

Special thank you to the instructor! you are amazing!

创建者 liqul

Apr 28, 2019

There are books and courses out there teaching you how to use machine learning tools to solve real problems. But there aren't so many like this starting from the Bayesian way. Besides, this is a good entry point for me to read the book "Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning".

创建者 Vítor R

Apr 29, 2019

The practice exercises were very well conceived!

创建者 Deepanshu P

Apr 02, 2019

Very well structured and informative content. Also the delivery of content is amazing.

创建者 Cem T

May 11, 2019

It was a groundbreaking course. I highly suggest it.

创建者 Jenna K

May 13, 2019

The lectures are at the right pace; concise and challenging. Great examples. Thank you so much for providing us with great materials.

创建者 Xinyi J

Apr 08, 2019

Great!

创建者 Xiao W

Apr 08, 2019

This is an excellent course but you will need background in calculus and some statistics to begin with

创建者 Binghao L

Apr 12, 2019

nice course

创建者 Stephen S

Jun 09, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as I found it to have a good mix of background and application.