Chevron Left
返回到 Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development 的评价和反馈

4.6
86 个评分
30 条评论

课程概述

We’re excited you’re here! This course, “Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development,” is the first course in the upcoming Sustainability and Development MasterTrack Certificate program (Fall 2020), but you can also take this course as a stand-alone learning opportunity. Sustainability and development pose unprecedented challenges as human societies grow and seek to ensure future wellbeing and prosperity. In this course, we’ll focus on addressing the twin challenges of sustainability and development with actionable knowledge for innovating solutions to the world’s most pressing problems like climate change, poverty and inequality, and biodiversity loss and ecosystem degradation. Rather than sustainability being a qualifier for development (e.g. sustainable development), we conceptualize Sustainability and Development as co-equal fields of inquiry and action that seek to build bridges between the natural, social and applied sciences and the humanities. When sustainability and development are placed on an equal footing, it requires us to think more explicitly about the trade-offs, co-benefits and synergies between them, which we will be exploring in depth in each week. Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the theoretical currents in Sustainability and Development, and will garner an in-depth understanding of the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). We will also consider the methods and skills necessary for designing innovative solutions to sustainability and development problems through the emerging field of Sustainability Science. In this course, we will explore three of the most pressing challenges undergirding the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) including climate change, poverty and inequality, and ecosystem degradation and biodiversity loss, with case studies to guide and challenge our thinking. In the final week of the course, we will discuss the trade-offs, co-benefits and synergies between these challenges, especially as they relate to designing innovative solutions for achieving our sustainability and development goals. By the end of this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand and explain the world’s most pressing problems with a specific focus on poverty & inequality, ecosystem degradation and biodiversity loss, and climate change. 2. Critically analyze the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and their relationship to the world’s most pressing problems. 3. Use frameworks and evidence necessary to develop solutions. 4. Assess relevant solutions that would help realize the SDGs and at the same time solve the pressing problems. 5. Apply skills learned to implement solutions....

热门审阅

LJ

May 30, 2020

This course is insightful and eye-opening. I certainly found it useful and would not hesitate to recommend anyone with interest in sustainability or development to attend.

SS

Jun 24, 2020

A well designed course on sustainable, environment and the future. Highly recommended and thank you the Michigan University and the Team.

筛选依据:

1 - Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development 的 25 个评论(共 31 个)

创建者 Prottoy R

Apr 29, 2020

Content is fantastic. But I am not fully satisfied with all of the instructors. The basic problem that I have felt that while delivering theoretical lectures, the session should be more interactive, there should be clear real life examples and more lively environment so that a learner never feels bored for even a moment. It was a bit horrible experience about the performance of the University of Michigan, sorry to say.

创建者 Mohammad K F

Apr 24, 2020

Poor voice quality, noise, poor delivery!

创建者 Priyanka C

Jun 28, 2020

This is a very relevant & informative course which helps us to understand sustainability and development beyond the SDGs as suggested by the name itself. I would highly recommend this course for all the sustainability enthusiasts. The teaching is very versatile and highly updated which gives a very clear picture of the current situation of our planet.

创建者 Yalda S

Jun 10, 2020

This course was incredibly helpful for understanding sustainability. The lectures was extraordinary good and useful, on a very well described pattern. I learned a lot and suggest it to anyone interested or works in the field of sustainability. I appreciate the contribution of the professors at University of Michigan.

创建者 Trish P

Jun 07, 2020

A highly informative course. Truly enjoyed taking it and learned an enormous amount. I look forward to taking more courses on the subject. Highly recommend the course for anyone who is interested in sustainability and development.

创建者 LEE C G J

May 30, 2020

This course is insightful and eye-opening. I certainly found it useful and would not hesitate to recommend anyone with interest in sustainability or development to attend.

创建者 Sachin S

Jun 24, 2020

A well designed course on sustainable, environment and the future. Highly recommended and thank you the Michigan University and the Team.

创建者 Ramesh S

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent Course, This course help to successful implementation of SDG. Addressing Sustainability and Development for livelihood.

创建者 Avishek G

May 15, 2020

Excellent. Got a broad view on implementation part. if possible start a course on Methodology to assess SDG indicators.

创建者 Judith F

Jun 08, 2020

I Loved this course, it was exactly what I was looking for in terms of content and the work load was perfect for me!

创建者 Abhisek G

Jun 08, 2020

It is an excellent course and highly informative and effective for the sustainability studies

创建者 SAIRA I

May 05, 2020

A valuable coarse content regarding the sustainable development goals.

创建者 GABRIEL K A

Jun 29, 2020

Very informative and flexible to accommodate my schedule.

创建者 Dr T K K

Jul 04, 2020

Very informative course

创建者 Karampatos G

May 03, 2020

Excellent course !!!

创建者 tallapureddy a s v

Apr 26, 2020

Basics of society

创建者 Viviane G d A

Jun 29, 2020

Course Great!!!!

创建者 Sharmila

Jun 08, 2020

very informative

创建者 Akash S P

May 22, 2020

Excellent Course

创建者 Lekshmi A

May 20, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 MD. A H

May 22, 2020

Great course

创建者 P S M

Jun 02, 2020

good

创建者 Meredith S

Jun 06, 2020

Some of the courses were a little vaguer than I expected and the video quality and preparation could have been better for certain professors - also the translation is not totally accurate so you have be conscious when reading the transcripts. Overall this is a good introduction to sustainability and development.

创建者 DEVIKA T

May 30, 2020

Good course . The SDG's are must learn for every person. It teaches you to think beyond the usual and act more sensitively towards the development of the society.

创建者 Hemendrakumar G J

Jun 18, 2020

Evaluation exams needs to be more competitive and use of different questions when person opt for retest.