Chevron Left
返回到 Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development 的评价和反馈

4.7
475 个评分
107 条评论

课程概述

We’re excited you’re here! This course, “Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development,” is the first course in the Sustainability and Development MasterTrack® Certificate, but you can also take this course as a stand-alone learning opportunity. Sustainability and development pose unprecedented challenges as human societies grow and seek to ensure future wellbeing and prosperity. In this course, we’ll focus on addressing the twin challenges of sustainability and development with actionable knowledge for innovating solutions to the world’s most pressing problems like climate change, poverty and inequality, and biodiversity loss and ecosystem degradation. Rather than sustainability being a qualifier for development (e.g. sustainable development), we conceptualize Sustainability and Development as co-equal fields of inquiry and action that seek to build bridges between the natural, social and applied sciences and the humanities. When sustainability and development are placed on an equal footing, it requires us to think more explicitly about the trade-offs, co-benefits and synergies between them, which we will be exploring in depth in each week. Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the theoretical currents in Sustainability and Development, and will garner an in-depth understanding of the United Nations’ 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). We will also consider the methods and skills necessary for designing innovative solutions to sustainability and development problems through the emerging field of Sustainability Science. In this course, we will explore three of the most pressing challenges undergirding the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) including climate change, poverty and inequality, and ecosystem degradation and biodiversity loss, with case studies to guide and challenge our thinking. In the final week of the course, we will discuss the trade-offs, co-benefits and synergies between these challenges, especially as they relate to designing innovative solutions for achieving our sustainability and development goals. By the end of this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand and explain the world’s most pressing problems with a specific focus on poverty & inequality, ecosystem degradation and biodiversity loss, and climate change. 2. Critically analyze the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and their relationship to the world’s most pressing problems. 3. Use frameworks and evidence necessary to develop solutions. 4. Assess relevant solutions that would help realize the SDGs and at the same time solve the pressing problems. 5. Apply skills learned to implement solutions....

热门审阅

CT

Dec 6, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Great insight into addressing sustainability and learning about the SDG's. I believe it will help me greatly in my education and will help me live a more sustainable life.

HE

Oct 27, 2020

a great course! not stressing just the right amount of difficulty. they give so many references, articles, and reading materials for students to learn more than what they discussed.

筛选依据:

26 - Beyond the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): Addressing Sustainability and Development 的 50 个评论(共 108 个)

创建者 Aruneswar M

Dec 26, 2020

It's the one of the best course that I have learned in Coursera. This course is for everyone in the world either to improve their sustainable & development or to make the world a better place for both present & future generations. I thank all the wonderful faculties & University Of Michigan!

创建者 Mehri H

Dec 28, 2020

It is very convenient to acquire basic and important knowledge related to sustainable development goals through this course. Teachers' lessons are very careful, with examples and detailed explanations. Additional materials, charts and videos used during the course deserve special attention

创建者 Dr D G

Nov 28, 2020

The course is indeed very introspective of the actions we are engaged in our day to day life. It effortlessly accommodates people from all discipline. I hope the university now comes up with another course addressing other areas of SDGs.

创建者 Valentina M R

Apr 20, 2022

It is an excellent course if you have begginer knowledge in SDGs and you would like to explore more specific challenges in how to adress them, as well as undestanding trade-offs and synergies between them. I greatly recommend it.

创建者 Iryna S

Dec 22, 2020

In overall, the course well organized and provide overview on Sustainable Development. However, some materials were out-of-date and slide decks weren't easy to find. I was searching them on purpose, but found accidentally.

创建者 Murilo M

Apr 14, 2021

Curso sensacional! Pude ter uma visão teórica e prática dos ODS aplicados à Erradicação da Pobreza, Redução da Desigualdade, Mudanças Climáticas. Docentes altamente qualificados. Indicarei para meus colegas.

创建者 Hannah S E

Oct 28, 2020

a great course! not stressing just the right amount of difficulty. they give so many references, articles, and reading materials for students to learn more than what they discussed.

创建者 Airiz J M T P

Oct 14, 2020

Course topics and materials are up to date. It even gives a sustainability and development lens on the Coronavirus and COVID-19 Pandemic

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 11, 2022

It was indeed great to know about the concepts put forth by various experts in the field of sustainability and development goals.

创建者 Fatema-Tuz-Zohura L

Oct 13, 2020

It is a good practices for gathering a knowledge,, i am very thankful to arrange this types of courses by Michigan University..

创建者 Loretta N

Nov 25, 2021

very detailed, resourceful and contributes greatly to the knowledge needed to attain the sustainable development goals.

创建者 Charles M

Feb 4, 2021

Very informative course and an eye opener regarding the details of the 17 SDGs, and how they communicate to each other.

创建者 Avishek G

May 15, 2020

Excellent. Got a broad view on implementation part. if possible start a course on Methodology to assess SDG indicators.

创建者 Moshoeshoe M

Jul 28, 2020

This is one of the most important courses that help improve and nourish individuals......I have learned a lot from it.

创建者 Judith F

Jun 7, 2020

I Loved this course, it was exactly what I was looking for in terms of content and the work load was perfect for me!

创建者 Argyrios G

Dec 21, 2020

A great course! Easy to attend and with innovative thinking! Some more citations would make it perfect!

创建者 Sharon K

Feb 22, 2021

Well thought and executed. This course has elevated my interest in SDGs and climate change overall.

创建者 fer7db

Dec 29, 2020

Excelente curso para poder aprender las bases de la sostenibilidad con un enfoque globalizado.

创建者 Jonathan D M

Aug 25, 2020

Short and insightful course. Expertise was delivered by a variety of faculty and researchers.

创建者 Abhisek G

Jun 8, 2020

It is an excellent course and highly informative and effective for the sustainability studies

创建者 Simona M T

Jul 8, 2020

It is a very useful course for those interested in understanding what Sustainability means.

创建者 Gabriela C

Aug 19, 2020

A clear overview of the current knowledge of sustainability science and how it is applied.

创建者 Anand S

Oct 9, 2020

very informative course on interdependence of different programs in achieving SDGs

创建者 So C K

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very useful to me, I learn concepts of SDGs ,esp Goal 1,5,10,14,15

创建者 Ratin R

Jul 24, 2020

That course was really effective for me as a student of Development Studies