Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的评价和反馈

4.4
2,177 个评分
356 个审阅

课程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

热门审阅

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

筛选依据:

251 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 275 个评论(共 345 个)

创建者 Richard W

Aug 21, 2017

The topics addressed in this course are very valuable and cover a wide range. The presentation of the material unfortunately often misses clarity and sufficient detail. Backup material with a concise treatment and optional readings would be helpful. In addition it would be good to have several guided exercises that train hands-on skills, show practical features and integrate topics. The final assignment fits in this category, it however comes late and as a hike.

创建者 Marwan E M

Mar 28, 2018

Interesting course and valuable theoretical notions. However, i would have preferred that it contains more practical (challenging) tasks especially that most if not all classmates have sufficient IT background and the hands-on were too simple. Moreover, it is easier to understand theoretical knowledge when we apply them in practice. The course creators might have thought to leave all challenging practical work for the final project but i would suggest to include mini-projet at the end of each course. Another point regarding the final assignment of the 6th week, it would have been better to do something similar before it, many classmates and I were confused and unsure about how to answer some questions and we had to evaluate each other's work while being unsure if our own submissions were correct or not.

创建者 David P

Aug 01, 2017

The course is great. The final peer-reviewed project is interesting, but very badly designed. The explanations are fairly confusing, and the peer-reviewed format really doesn't fit this assignement, as modeling can be performed in many different ways, that untrained peers might not recognize.

创建者 Christine G

Aug 09, 2017

Capstone assignment was disappointing.

创建者 Shalaka M

Aug 31, 2017

I feel the assignments were a little vague and such assignments should be reviewed by mentors and not just fellow colleagues. Also, the concept on which the questions were based, were not covered that widely.

Additionally, if someone wants to refer to the slides in future they should be able to get the information they want from the slides itself, so they could be made more descriptive.

创建者 Abhishek V

Jul 31, 2017

Final assignment needed to be more clear

创建者 Himanshu s

Dec 31, 2016

Not Very relevant and detailed as the previous course. The content is not as clear and simple as previous course

创建者 Clemens W

Nov 20, 2016

The course takes a broad approach to the subject.

What I miss: the study material should provide more and better organized (theoretical) information (e.g. on topcis like database design, data structures, etc.)

What I like: presenting of current software projects around big data

创建者 Mike D

Apr 13, 2017

Good information overall, but the "peer graded" assignment at the end is poorly designed and seems unnecessarily arbitrary. Not a clear value add over a "final exam" format to justify waiting days for someone to "grade" your work. Instructions for this assignment are poorly written and unclear - for example, completely NOT clear you are asking us to identify a primary key versus stating there is no primary key, etc.

创建者 Sergey K

Sep 09, 2016

Peer-graded assignments are bad for multiple reasons. Most important one -- If I'm paying for this course I expect my work will be verified by skilled people, not by other "students".

创建者 Ivan S

Feb 13, 2017

IMHO it's better to reduce the scope but provide more details of key technologies. Final assignment is not well explained.

创建者 Kivan I

Jul 05, 2017

I felt there was very little continuity between each of the 6 weeks of this course. Especially in week 1, where I noticed a significant jump in the level of the content and I found the lectures quite vague and ambiguous. But overall I am satisfied. Looking forward to course 3.

创建者 Tamás-Marosi P

Sep 05, 2017

The course was okay, but the last Peer-graded Assignment was totally unclear. A lot of other students reported this problem on the discussion forum, but nobody handled this. Some students tried to ask questions, but any menthor answered back in merit. Of course if nobody understand the task then how can we rate each other? It is not fair. I think some examples can help on this problem.

创建者 Tamalika M

Nov 21, 2016

This course offers very useful high level overview of concepts and ideas which make you feel confident in the long run. However, the course is extremely basic and does not go deep beyond the high level concepts. The hands on exercises are boring and do not engage students. The course needs to be improved to make it more useful for students. This course is not very worthy of the money.

创建者 Juan P

Jul 30, 2016

A good course taking into account that it does not require previous knowledge. I am giving "only" 3 stars because for a basic (no previous requirements) course I would expect much more additional readings. On the other hand, if you have programming or database experience you will find some topics too "basic".

I have liked it more than the first course on the specialization but I would expect more details (I think general topics are well explained).

创建者 Paul F

May 03, 2018

Good ogeneric versight, the excercise of week 6 is not very well elaborated and the peer review instructions/scoring possibilities are not adequate (mostly all or nothing scoring).

创建者 Abhinav S

Jul 04, 2017

The course is not very detailed and misses to explain key concepts. Terminology is used extensively without much explanation.

创建者 JUAN A R R

May 11, 2017

poco contenido práctico

创建者 Henrique S C

Apr 26, 2018

The content is good, but the final assignment is ridiculous. The instructions are horrible, the peer reviewers are a joke (there are many people there with 0 experience with databases giving wrong feedback), and you don't get the answers for reviewing other people's works.

创建者 Josep M

Nov 21, 2016

There has been very few on-hands training. It's still very very at an introductory level. At some points it goes very deep, for example with the vectors for a document, but with the rest stay at a very high level. Open an excel sheet can not be considered training ...

创建者 Naveen S

Aug 19, 2016

Although Content quality was good, the content is too much less and could have been easily integrated to first course or other course in specialisation.

Secondly Quiz were not challenging ,it was just too easy to pass, and this actually takes away the very reason they were employed in this course.

创建者 Yuzhen

Oct 11, 2016

The content of the course is very good, but the definitions and explanations are not straight forward.

创建者 Gregory S

Sep 29, 2017

Assignments were vague and hard to understand.

创建者 Kim U

Jan 17, 2018

Unfortunately, some of the videos are boring and difficult to understand, mostly because they fail to present the bigger picture, and through a lack of enthusiasm on behalf of the presenter.

创建者 ammar a m a

Dec 30, 2017

Homework's and Assignments are really harder than the course material it self, you need to go to other sources to keep up in my opinion...