Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的评价和反馈

4.4
2,202 个评分
363 个审阅

课程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

热门审阅

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

筛选依据:

251 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 275 个评论(共 352 个)

创建者 Swadish V

Dec 05, 2019

I am totally new to big data. This course give me an immense knowledge about modelling.

创建者 Alexander H

Dec 27, 2018

could be a bit more specific, especially for students with a classical DBMS background

创建者 Saulet Y

Jan 11, 2019

Very boring and not interesting course. The slides are just tedious. Additionally, there are some mistakes in week 4 if I'm not mistaken with evaluating weights and coSim(). Many users mentioned in the forums, but nothing has done.

创建者 Anurag S

Sep 13, 2018

As far as the content is concerned, this is a very good course. Concepts are explained well.

What I disliked about the course is the final peer-reviewed problem.

1. The instructions were unclear about what was needed to be done.

2. When submitting, the HTML of the problem got badly garbled.

3. When reviewing peer submissions, for the first part nobody could read their submission because of the garbled format.

4. Most people did not get the second and third questions right but instead of there being a way to evaluate how much they understood, it was a yes/no option to grade them (which amount to either them passing or failing).

I think this is a promising specialization but the instructors need to pay heed to the bevy of complaints in the various forums.

创建者 Norman L

Aug 12, 2018

The material does not delve into enough depth. The syllabus often moves into the next topic just as it begins to break the surface of the current topic. I want more details about the architecture and implementation of each NoSQL database

创建者 Sai L K

Oct 17, 2018

The course could have mentioned technologies which are more into the market currently and also it would have been better if there were some hands-on exercises on them as well.

创建者 rkouatly

Aug 06, 2018

The course requires more practical part

创建者 Waldo U

Dec 31, 2017

The last assignment is really vague and poorly written.

创建者 Srikanth C

Nov 26, 2017

Fairly superficial treatment of a wide variety of topics. There was only a loose connection between some of the hands-on exercises and the lectures. The final assignment questions were not clear and the marking scheme was vague, which led to quite a bit of confusion while answering and grading it.

创建者 Dan K

May 08, 2017

This is ok. There is some light theory and application of it, but even less hands-on. There is also too much of an emphasis on different big data systems and each brands specific uses. This is good information, but I think it could have been presented on a two page comparison chart. The next course is supposed to be more more hands-on, so I am looking forward to that

创建者 Jorge F d l V G

Oct 23, 2016

The level of the exercises and quizzes don't reflect the content of the course.

创建者 David T

Oct 28, 2016

I really wish I could give this course more stars, the content is great and well delivered and at a perfect level for someone like me who last worked with big data sets when 20Mb was absolutely enormous and Windows 3.1 was cutting edge technology. But and this seems to run across the whole specialisation, support from the course team varies between very patchy and none at all. Technical questions aren't answered for days if at all.

创建者 Seyyed E S

Jan 23, 2017

1. The course is very general and high level introduction.

2. During the lectures there are some examples that in some cases are presented as very small images and briefly. I personally could not understand some examples presented in week 5.

3. I found the hands-on lectures very helpful. I wish there was more that would delve into more examples in more details.

4. The course was very overpriced given the amount of information offered compared to other courses I have taken at coursera.

Thanks.

创建者 Aniruddha J

May 20, 2018

Definitely could have used more hands on practices. The hands on practice examples could've delved deeper into 'how' instead of just giving you the command lines to run. Majority of the times were spent on lectures talking about abstract concepts. While useful, more of that time would've been better spend on hands-on examples.

创建者 Ali R

Jun 24, 2016

3.5+ star course. I hope by studying the following courses, contents of this course prove to be more practical.

创建者 Cédric L

Oct 21, 2016

Reasonably good, but less structured and organized that the first course.

I hope the next one will be better on this aspect.

创建者 Fanny S

Oct 03, 2016

This was my second course of six. It was so theoretical but at the final exam it required so much exercises. I propose enrich the course with exercises and hands on

创建者 Nicolás J C

Sep 21, 2017

The course has a lot of information that is completely useful for BD, I feel that it needs more hand-on exercises. For example, all those BDMS they listed are very useful, but it would have been more practical and fun to teach with an exercise, rather than 50+ slides.

创建者 Aude M

Jan 05, 2018

Very interesting but I struggled with some of the content: the level jumps suddenly, and the course lacks some clear examples of application.

创建者 Moses B R H

Jun 19, 2017

Week 6 Peer graded assignment instruction should be more detailed.

创建者 David P

Aug 01, 2017

The course is great. The final peer-reviewed project is interesting, but very badly designed. The explanations are fairly confusing, and the peer-reviewed format really doesn't fit this assignement, as modeling can be performed in many different ways, that untrained peers might not recognize.

创建者 Christine G

Aug 09, 2017

Capstone assignment was disappointing.

创建者 Mike D

Apr 13, 2017

Good information overall, but the "peer graded" assignment at the end is poorly designed and seems unnecessarily arbitrary. Not a clear value add over a "final exam" format to justify waiting days for someone to "grade" your work. Instructions for this assignment are poorly written and unclear - for example, completely NOT clear you are asking us to identify a primary key versus stating there is no primary key, etc.

创建者 Shalaka M

Aug 31, 2017

I feel the assignments were a little vague and such assignments should be reviewed by mentors and not just fellow colleagues. Also, the concept on which the questions were based, were not covered that widely.

Additionally, if someone wants to refer to the slides in future they should be able to get the information they want from the slides itself, so they could be made more descriptive.

创建者 Barend M

Jul 13, 2017

.