Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的评价和反馈

4.4
2,124 个评分
347 个审阅

课程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

热门审阅

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

筛选依据:

151 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 175 个评论(共 336 个)

创建者 Md S F

Aug 20, 2019

best big data course

创建者 Mohamad K

Aug 20, 2019

Its extremely an important course to understand the different between DBMS and BIG data and why DBMS changed to BDMS. Its also give nice intro to unstructured data process such images and graph Nodes. Study this course will remove many questions in your mind.

创建者 Mohamed H A

Aug 25, 2019

Great thanks to the team worked the course.

创建者 Novan Z

Aug 26, 2019

Easy and understandable

创建者 Misty S

Aug 28, 2019

While the course content is very good, I feel this is not for beginners as one needs a basic knowledge of traditional relational databases for starters. The assignment helps clear the concepts and makes it understandable enough to work on it.

创建者 Vítor L d S

Nov 19, 2018

Would have more extra papers/material to read. The hands-on would also bring some problems/challenges without resolution to let us try by ourself (with answers).

创建者 Shuai M

Dec 23, 2018

good course to know different types of data models and some BDMS.

创建者 Jimmy F

Dec 11, 2018

I wanted to see more big data issues in the final test.

创建者 Apurva T

Feb 03, 2019

Course was very good, some concepts were a little tough to understand, like the graph network and other topics of first 3 weeks. But on the whole a very good course to understand basics of data modeling and management.

创建者 Ilya P

Jan 24, 2019

Decent course, fair information. Although sometimes instructors seem to forget the audience they are talking to, so it is hard to power through some lectures.

创建者 Andrea P

Jan 24, 2019

The final assignment is unclear in some passages, but it is a very good introduction to the modelling and management systems overall.

创建者 Jorge d l C

Feb 11, 2019

Basic for database developers

创建者 shreya k

Feb 15, 2019

Really nice course. Had a chance to rediscover my data modelling skills. Surely looking forward to more courses in this specialization.

创建者 Parinya H

Feb 28, 2019

Good content and recommend for modeling Big Data.

创建者 nchang

Mar 11, 2019

nice course ,assignments are well explained and are well organised

创建者 Ruben

Oct 17, 2016

Interesting. Sometimes a little bit overwhelmed by a lot of information within a single video but it gives you an overview of what is big data modeling and management systems.

创建者 Wentao Z

Aug 18, 2016

Not too much useful and practical knowledge. full of basic concepts

创建者 leila M

Aug 27, 2016

it was nice but a bit complicated for beginner though i like it

创建者 Mujtaba A

Dec 18, 2017

It was a good course for beginners of big data modeling. I benefited much from it from the theoretical perspectives.

创建者 Spencer

Oct 16, 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.

创建者 Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

创建者 Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

创建者 Aleksandar R

Jul 02, 2017

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

创建者 Alireza A B

Aug 07, 2017

Lectures where good but some effort is needed to have more practical assignments

创建者 Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.