Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的评价和反馈

4.4
2,205 个评分
364 个审阅

课程概述

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

热门审阅

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

筛选依据:

151 - Big Data Modeling and Management Systems 的 175 个评论(共 353 个)

创建者 Aldo F B

Apr 03, 2017

I've learned a lot of things about data models and new ways to process the information. I want to learn new knowledge of big data because I want to apply in my professional life

创建者 Santiago E L

Jan 04, 2018

You guys are rock stars

创建者 Francisco A

Jun 24, 2017

Excellent material, well explained

创建者 King W N

Nov 27, 2017

The content and assignments I've found so far are pretty spot on.

创建者 Routhana L

Apr 10, 2019

As a undergraduate data analytics student, this course was an enlightening experience that complemented my more theoretical, less-applicational on campus course very well.

创建者 SKK

Dec 09, 2017

Very good starting point for Data Modeling!!

创建者 Srinivas B

Sep 26, 2016

Excellent

创建者 Ashenafi

Jul 06, 2017

well organized and precise hands on exercises that helped me to understand the subject in detail.

创建者 Syed M Z H

Apr 10, 2018

Great course! As described in the course info, the course didn't cover Neo4j, Impala, SparkSQL, is it covered in some other course?

创建者 Selim S

Nov 02, 2016

LEarned a lot, wasn't easy but it was manageble for someone like me who has no IT background

创建者 Lola B

Oct 10, 2017

Provides a got exposure to major big data management concepts.

创建者 Lisbeth R S

May 05, 2017

great

创建者 Esteban E C

Nov 30, 2018

I learnt a lot of things with this course, It doesn't matter we are at 2018, stills pretty asertive with the topics. :)

创建者 shreya k

Feb 15, 2019

Really nice course. Had a chance to rediscover my data modelling skills. Surely looking forward to more courses in this specialization.

创建者 Andrea P

Jan 24, 2019

The final assignment is unclear in some passages, but it is a very good introduction to the modelling and management systems overall.

创建者 Parinya H

Feb 28, 2019

Good content and recommend for modeling Big Data.

创建者 Jorge d l C

Feb 11, 2019

Basic for database developers

创建者 Apurva T

Feb 03, 2019

Course was very good, some concepts were a little tough to understand, like the graph network and other topics of first 3 weeks. But on the whole a very good course to understand basics of data modeling and management.

创建者 Wayne S

Apr 06, 2019

This material in this course seems to be based on a belief that the student has significantly more knowledge than assumed for the first course in the Big Data series. Because of this unfounded assumption, without regard to explanation, I have marked it down to four stars vice the five for the first course.

I think by providing the student with an adequate background, or additional resources, this course could easily be ranked as a five-star course.

In short, for no apparent reason, it quickly becomes more difficult than the first course; and instead, I wish it had been more of a natural transition from the first course.

创建者 Brian S

Apr 15, 2019

Expected more hands-on activities and more advanced tasks

创建者 nchang

Mar 11, 2019

nice course ,assignments are well explained and are well organised

创建者 Shuai M

Dec 23, 2018

good course to know different types of data models and some BDMS.

创建者 Xing Z

Jul 09, 2018

The content is good overall, but the final project assignment is awful. It's not about whether the questions are too easy or too hard, it is the way in which the assignment is organized that seems confusing.

创建者 Snehal B

Sep 08, 2018

I would rate it 4/5.

First 4 weeks, we can still relate and keep up to pace with context. But week 5 onwards it becomes difficult to understand. Please come up with more real life scenarios to explain different BDMS models.

创建者 Oscar J M T

Sep 23, 2018

I enjoyed this course, the topics was more clear and deep in contrast with level 1.