Chevron Left
返回到 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的评价和反馈

4.4
750 个评分
202 条评论

课程概述

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

热门审阅

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

筛选依据:

26 - Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的 50 个评论(共 198 个)

创建者 Jordi M

Dec 25, 2016

Challenging and interesting. Only downside is the lack of help in the programming sections. I had been stuck on one of the last code challanges for more than a month without anyone of the staff answering my messages in the comments. Besides that, great course and content.

创建者 Ebrahim B

Sep 27, 2018

I found the course extremely challenging, having no background in programming. But I loved engaging with math's and statistics, and being introduced to some very difficult but fascinating concepts in bioinformatics. I hope to pursue this career path further.

创建者 Sri M K

Nov 18, 2016

I had great fun learning each week of the course. For students interested in understanding DNA, I would sincerely recommend. Also was the best experience I had learning Bioinformatics and python simultaneously. I believe in learning contextually. Thanks

创建者 Marc S

Aug 07, 2017

As a computer scientist I really enjoyed this course.

Learning about the complex problems, that biologists face, when analyzing DNA, was quite fascinating. I actually think, I will check out the specialization they are offering, as well.

创建者 刘瑞阳

Sep 23, 2017

This course really fits for beginners with zero coding background... Personally, I struggled at first for a while(and the exercises took more than 4 hours per week, as suggested in the webpage), but things are getting better then.

创建者 Grey B

Dec 21, 2019

Great intro to python, still need essential backup reads on coding but the pace is good and the explanation of bioinformatics and how coding comes into play and is very useful is perfect if you want to do this specialization..

创建者 Jessie G

Jan 12, 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

创建者 Dunja P

Apr 27, 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

创建者 Manuel A

Jul 31, 2016

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).

创建者 Do H L

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

创建者 Helen L

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

创建者 Om P

Jul 02, 2019

Very informative, easy to follow, wonderful lessons, I could go on and on. This course really helped open up my mind to this wonderful field at the intersection of bio and comp sci.

创建者 Tianyu Y

Aug 08, 2018

As the title saids, this course is pretty good for beginners. I major in biology and have no programming experience. Now I have more confidence to challenge advanced courses.

创建者 Isabella

Feb 11, 2018

Fantastic course. If you are a Python beginner it is a great way to practise solving problems with Python. While also learning about DNA, which was absolutely fascinating.

创建者 Matt W

Jun 18, 2017

Great introductory material for a new person to Bioinformatics, Python, or a both. Definitely feel more "natural" in Python and well versed in Bioinformatics concepts.

创建者 Kalaivani

Feb 11, 2020

I am a biotechnology student and this course helped me to approach a biology problem from programming angle. It is a very great course to begin with

创建者 Ratthachat C

Oct 16, 2017

Great beginner bioinformatics course for computer scientists (note that I have no Python experience before, but it can be learnt from this course)!

创建者 JUN D

May 31, 2017

Enjoyed learning this class although it is challenging. It will be better if it won't cost anything for get a certificate after finish the class.

创建者 Monica J

May 21, 2017

excellent for beginners, very informative and encourages we learners to take specialization in Bioinformatics. thank you all the instructors !

创建者 Nicholas A

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent introduction to coding in Python, as well as a great refresher on some key biological concepts and their use in bioinformatics.

创建者 Hieu D L

May 11, 2017

It's great to basically understand how to use programming language (Python) to handle biology issues. I learn a lot from this course.

创建者 Emanuele C

Sep 06, 2016

Thanks for this nice course.

I would recommend to avoid exercises with very long calculations that cause time-limit problems.

Regards

创建者 aarushi r

Oct 21, 2019

It really enhanced my programming skills and a good course for anyone who wants to start a fresh with programming and biosciences.

创建者 David A L G

Sep 04, 2017

This course is perfect as a first approximation to codes and algorithms in Bioinformatics. It will fit very well for begginers!!

创建者 Noa G

May 23, 2019

great introduction, not too hard, great explanations and videos allowing for repetition of content for a better understanding