Chevron Left
返回到 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的评价和反馈

4.2
1,275 个评分
385 条评论

课程概述

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

热门审阅

DL
Apr 17, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
Apr 14, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

筛选依据:

51 - Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的 75 个评论(共 384 个)

创建者 Morgan M

Aug 7, 2017

Definitely challenging. If you are new to Python, you will need to do the CodeAcademy course and have a solid grasp of dictionaries, lists, and string manipulation. Even if you do know programming, you will likely spend more time than estimated on each week. I spent probably 8 hours per week. That said, it is extremely rewarding. I highly recommend this.

创建者 NARAYANA S K

May 8, 2020

This course is designed very well. In all chapters teachers have taken us from step step programming procedure, that helped me to follow this topics well. If they had not followed this procedure, Biologist like me could not do this. Thanks to the teacher. Faq and forum discussions also helped me to know where I am doing wrong. Thank you

创建者 denglh

Apr 18, 2020

Nice beginner's course about bioinformatics. You have to have some Python programming basics in order to smoothly complete all the coding tasks. What I learned most from this course is how to split your final tasks into several fundamental steps and them put them together to make things work. Appreciate all the provider for this course!

创建者 Anna K

Oct 20, 2021

Very engaging course packed with information at just the right level of technicality. I think the authors picked interesting problems from bioinformatics and presented them very well. Thank you!

Judging by others students' comments, maybe better suited for people with at least a little experience in programming.

创建者 Reina Y

Jun 18, 2020

At the beginning of the course, I had zero knowledge of Python. I just followed the instructors' guidance and leaned how to code little by little. It took me a while to finish up this course, but I am satisfied with their guidance and how to teach from scratch to those who are totally new to bioinformatics.

创建者 Harikrishnan R N

May 21, 2020

It was a good course. I found it interesting because I was interested in learning more about the Biological aspect of Bioinformatics. I already had some experience in programming in Python so I could find the programming part not so difficult. For a beginner in programming, this may be a difficult course.

创建者 Vidisha G

Apr 21, 2017

Personally, I never believed I would enjoy coding, but I had a deep interest for biology. This course not only helped me develop an interest and grasp the basics of programming in python but also gave me an insight as to how I can use this knowledge I gained in various fields such as bioinformatics.

创建者 José P S M

Sep 3, 2019

As a Computer Science undergrad that works with Python, I considered the programming tips very begginer-friendly and could easily follow the presented biological knowledge that was required to complete the course. The course certainly made even more interested in Bioinformatics and Biology.

创建者 Jeremy P

Aug 4, 2020

I found this course to be very engaging, and it helped my programming abilities immensely. I do wish that we would be able to see solutions on the stepik modules after a certain number of attempts, but this course helped me a lot and will definitely play a role it my career choices

创建者 Dasha P

Nov 20, 2018

I loved the course so much! I have never programmed before and I've always been afraid of mathematics, but this course happened to be so exciting! I liked, how difficult (for me, at least) concepts are explained step-by step. I am sincerely grateful to the authors of the course.

创建者 AHMAD A Z

Mar 24, 2020

Honestly, this course is very difficult and not suitable for a beginner. This course is suitable for matured programmers and biologists. More time is needed to answer all the exercises and quizzes. So far, thanks to the teachers and friends for helping me with this course.

创建者 Jordi M

Dec 25, 2016

Challenging and interesting. Only downside is the lack of help in the programming sections. I had been stuck on one of the last code challanges for more than a month without anyone of the staff answering my messages in the comments. Besides that, great course and content.

创建者 Ebrahim B

Sep 27, 2018

I found the course extremely challenging, having no background in programming. But I loved engaging with math's and statistics, and being introduced to some very difficult but fascinating concepts in bioinformatics. I hope to pursue this career path further.

创建者 Sri M K

Nov 18, 2016

I had great fun learning each week of the course. For students interested in understanding DNA, I would sincerely recommend. Also was the best experience I had learning Bioinformatics and python simultaneously. I believe in learning contextually. Thanks

创建者 Joao V P d S

Jun 29, 2020

The course presents several challenges for students from the biological field of sciences. Nevertheless, It was fun to challenge myself and the practical examples used for teaching code were really good. I extremely recommend the course!

创建者 Marc S

Aug 7, 2017

As a computer scientist I really enjoyed this course.

Learning about the complex problems, that biologists face, when analyzing DNA, was quite fascinating. I actually think, I will check out the specialization they are offering, as well.

创建者 刘瑞阳

Sep 23, 2017

This course really fits for beginners with zero coding background... Personally, I struggled at first for a while(and the exercises took more than 4 hours per week, as suggested in the webpage), but things are getting better then.

创建者 Hugo M

Jul 9, 2020

This course needs a lot of time and dedication. You will learn a lot in only 4 weeks, I really recommend it. If you are a teenager in 11th or 12th grade interested in biological sciences, you must do this course during vacations!

创建者 Grey B

Dec 21, 2019

Great intro to python, still need essential backup reads on coding but the pace is good and the explanation of bioinformatics and how coding comes into play and is very useful is perfect if you want to do this specialization..

创建者 Angelo A d F

Aug 3, 2020

An experience I will always remember. I was introduced into a 'landscape' of bioinformatics, a valuable sharing of map for beginners like me so that I may be able to find my way whenever I get stuck in my own 'local optimum'!

创建者 Jessie G

Jan 12, 2017

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

创建者 Dunja P

Apr 27, 2017

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

创建者 Manuel A

Jul 31, 2016

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).

创建者 Huynh L D

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

创建者 Maria Z

Apr 15, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.