Chevron Left
返回到 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的评价和反馈

4.2
1,269 个评分
384 条评论

课程概述

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

热门审阅

DL
Apr 17, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
Apr 14, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

筛选依据:

176 - Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 的 200 个评论(共 383 个)

创建者 Fatimah A A S

Apr 12, 2021

it was interesting course

创建者 박지호

May 19, 2017

Amazing! Perfect! Lovely!

创建者 Carlos K

Mar 1, 2020

Incredibly interesting

创建者 Feng-tsan C

Feb 25, 2017

Step by step method.

创建者 Junya L

Dec 4, 2016

awesome!!Keep going!

创建者 Madhavi P

May 3, 2017

Excellent course!!!

创建者 JOSE C D S F

Apr 11, 2017

It's amazing course

创建者 Ashitha K S

May 6, 2020

Awesome course ..

创建者 Amy

Nov 1, 2017

very useful class!

创建者 Sophiezz

Jul 12, 2021

Excellent course!

创建者 Dhiraj S

Jun 11, 2020

It was excellent

创建者 Achala S K

Feb 8, 2019

it was enjoyable

创建者 Igor O

Dec 29, 2018

Great course.

创建者 Twesigomwe D

Mar 5, 2018

So remarkable

创建者 Yan T H

Jun 10, 2017

Nice course

创建者 yeet

Mar 29, 2016

Awesome!

创建者 Rohak S

May 12, 2021

Amaz0ng

创建者 Prathipati P

Sep 26, 2020

Awesome

创建者 Ibrahim H E E

Mar 11, 2021

nicee

创建者 Shunkai X

Dec 12, 2016

Funny

创建者 Roberto R

Oct 20, 2016

cool

创建者 DNA-AND-NAD

Jul 9, 2016

很好

创建者 Markella M

Jul 19, 2019

When it comes to the subject and the learning outcomes, I would rate 5/5. However the methods and the exercises would rate quite lower. Often it's really hard to understand what is wrong with your submissions and the hints given are minimal, so it's not uncommon to be stuck in an exercise for hours not knowing what you're doing wrong. It might be an entry level course but the material is quite demanding if you don't have a programming background. It was the second time I attempted it, the first one was a couple of years ago and I gave up after the first week. This is why I would say that the time required for the completion of this course is wildly understated. Other than that, as a biology graduate I found the skills learned during this course precious. I got hold of some basic Python commands, learned how to implement them to answer questions of biological nature and started thinking a little bit like a programmer. If you have the time and the patience, I would recommend this course.

创建者 Filipe M d M

Dec 30, 2019

It's a great course, but as some people pointed out, it's not the most friendly towards beginners. Ate the end of the fourth week the course tells how to install python and to download pycharm. In my opinion these should have been done on the first week. A good tool for code editing make things so much easier that the student can focus more on the code and on the subject matter than trying to find where the got their code wrong. I read a lot of comments in the comment section of people not knowing what they got wrong only to find out that a piece of code was wrongly indented or that they were missing a colon.

Nevertheless, this couser taught me a lot of interesting stuffs. The way we slowly build our methods, solving problems in small steps, and actualy being able to see it being applied to real Dna string like the E_coli genome and the DosR. I thorougly enjoyed this course i'll certainly be back for the specialized ones.

创建者 Ellen G

Aug 1, 2017

This was an extremely challenging and time-consuming course for me, a non-programmer, non-biologist health care IT professional. My only negative criticism is that for absolute beginners, the estimated time for most exercises is very very very low. Exercises that were estimated at 39 minutes sometimes took me 8 hours of actual labor.

However! Our course instructor, Niema Moshiri was wonderful - very responsive, very patient, and excellent at coaching students without giving away the answers. I learned to read the assignment, then go directly to the comments, reading all of them, and taking especial note of the "instructor replied" answers. I had a good correspondence with a learner for a while - really helped morale and let me feel connected to the community.

And wow! did I learn a lot about the necessity for computational techniques in bioinformatics, and loads about Python programming!