Chevron Left
返回到 Astro 101: Black Holes

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Astro 101: Black Holes 的评价和反馈

4.8
690 个评分
236 条评论

课程概述

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

热门审阅

SK
Jul 30, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB
Jul 26, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

筛选依据:

226 - Astro 101: Black Holes 的 238 个评论(共 238 个)

创建者 Mikaeel S

Sep 16, 2019

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

创建者 keith b

Jul 2, 2019

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science

创建者 Vincent W L

Jul 26, 2020

Prof. Morsink and team, very educational and easy to understand course.

创建者 Abdessamad M

May 10, 2019

Good course, it introduced me to the black hole theory in a easy way.

创建者 Joy S

Sep 3, 2018

Fascinating. Plus they get into Star Trek. Pretty technical, though

创建者 Pattadon N

Jun 15, 2020

I think the lecture should have pictures and colors.

创建者 KAUSTUV L

May 28, 2020

Could involve a little more mathematics.

创建者 Oleksandra O

May 10, 2020

All movies were cool.

创建者 Marc B

Jan 26, 2019

This course is very well produced and interesting. However, it is not challenging enough. It should at least propose a weekly set of problems (possibly on a voluntary basis) requiring a modicum of physics and math skills. As it stands, it tells a pretty story but does not allow a student to grasp how the story was put together. I gained much information about BHs and other celestial objects, but zero new skill. In addition, I find that lecturers reading prompters make for lifeless presentations that are not clearly superior to being assigned to read a transcript or book chapter. I thought that the staff engaged very effectively with the students on the forum.

创建者 Joseph C

Nov 24, 2020

Oftentimes one gets the impression that some of the lecturers have no idea what they are talking about; they appear to be reading from scripts off their computers. I also have the feeling that the overall course can be more "instructive" if the material is organized differently. This is a class for novices, not for experts, and it may not be necessary for a course lasting "10 weeks" to give the novice a useful overview of the subject.

创建者 Jessie A

Aug 14, 2020

Im convinced some of the questions have all wrong answers regardless. Its a very detailed course which is good but found myself getting bored often.

创建者 Salman A N

Dec 22, 2018

A good course, with satisfactory content, good for physics undergraduate students and others fascinated by the beauties of the cosmos.

创建者 Deleted A

Dec 14, 2020

Too many instructors. Exams do not qualify what is taught. Poorly constructed.