Chevron Left
返回到 Astro 101: Black Holes

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Astro 101: Black Holes 的评价和反馈

4.8
376 个评分
129 条评论

课程概述

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

热门审阅

FC

Jun 01, 2020

Amazing course for astronomy enthusiasts! Lectures are well-presented with visual effects and demonstrations. After completing this course I became so much more interested in physics and astronomy.

MH

Jun 27, 2020

it was a great experience..the staff made a huge effort to make this strange subject easy to learn\n\nafter 10 weeks of learning, i have answers to all the questions that i had about black holes.

筛选依据:

101 - Astro 101: Black Holes 的 125 个评论(共 132 个)

创建者 Sehajdeep S B

Apr 19, 2020

Brilliantly explained . Loved it!!

创建者 Ian T

Feb 01, 2019

very good high level introduction

创建者 Thiago d S V

Jan 27, 2019

very best course that I have seen

创建者 Xiaocan L

Sep 14, 2019

A good introduction course.

创建者 Kevin A

Aug 22, 2019

Nice informative course

创建者 Vivekanand

Jan 11, 2020

BEAUTIFULLY EXPLAINED

创建者 Armughan A

Oct 01, 2019

Very Informative

创建者 Nehal p

Jul 02, 2020

excellent .

创建者 SANTOSH B R

Jun 16, 2020

wooooow

创建者 Markus W

Aug 06, 2019

T

创建者 Hussain Y

Dec 25, 2018

=

创建者 Robert C C

Nov 01, 2018

G

创建者 Miranda H

Jan 05, 2019

Very interesting course. Between the colourful backgrounds of the speakers, simple imagery and the food analogies, they made astronomical theories and evidence much easier to understand for those who do not come from a physics background. Perhaps minor issues here and there with sound and when the speaker was not looking directly at the screen it could be a little off-putting, but other than that, it was an amazing course. I come from a biological sciences background (specifically health sciences) and I found this quite easy to understand. Tests were also fair as they were based on theories and confirmed evidence rather than equations, and weren't too difficult if you paid attention to the videos. Even if you didn't 100% understand a concept, the images presented to you stick quite well in your mind to the point you are able to answer the test questions easier. Coming out of this, I now have a greater understanding of some of the greatest physics concepts from Newton, Einstein, and so on. I have also expanded my knowledge of astronomy and the universe, as I have been studying it since I was a little girl, but was unfortunately able to pursue it due to my strong dislike for physics (you know, boring plain Earth physics). This helped me to continue on my passion for astronomy while also avoiding those icky physics courses. Thanks to the UofA and their group of astronomers for putting this together for anyone needing their astronomy fix.

创建者 p v k

Mar 02, 2019

With professors who can shrink astronomical distances and explain concepts in time, space and cosmology with such lucidity and more importantly joy, this course was bound to be one ,which in literal sense, has transformed the black hole into a living vibrant entity. The team has rekindled the joy of learning in me and am sure in all students. Heartfelt thanks .

创建者 Amanda S

Feb 11, 2020

I took this course mainly as a refresher course for myself. I learned some new things that I enjoyed! I know this was a beginner course but I would have preferred the instructors showing how to calculate the few equations that they talked about at least. I feel a lot of information was spoken about briefly and not depthfully enough to fully grasp.

创建者 John B

Mar 22, 2019

Great pace and great teachers! Would have loved more math-based problems to practice the formulas and calculations, but that's just me. A must-take course if you're starting out on your quest to understand the Universe.

创建者 Steven G

Jul 10, 2019

An excellent introductory course into the physics of black holes. I only gave it four stars since I felt it could have had more mathematics content for students that want to dig a little deeper into the material.

创建者 Shivanshu K

Jul 05, 2020

This is a pretty good course give you a really good insight into the Black holes. The only problem I had was that most of the queries are unanswered, which is a little problematic in cementing the foundation.

创建者 Kirubarani.T

May 16, 2020

Super course...there are many informations about black holes are presented. and their communication language was easily understand to all..thank you so much for offer the course

创建者 Lionel L R Q

Jul 05, 2020

Pretty decent course for an introductory level. However, the teaching assistants aren't that responsive so you got to wait a little longer. Overall a satisfactory course.

创建者 Mikaeel S

Sep 16, 2019

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

创建者 keith b

Jul 02, 2019

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science