Chevron Left
返回到 Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions 的评价和反馈

4.9
761 个评分
334 条评论

课程概述

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

热门审阅

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM
Feb 4, 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

筛选依据:

76 - Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions 的 100 个评论(共 334 个)

创建者 Ricardo j m n

May 15, 2020

Great course, with very good lecturers. managed to compile so much information and keep it interesting and focused. the course is very well structured and allow to advance at our own pace. Really well done. it would be great if there are some more specific follow up courses and a bit more on arachnids.

创建者 Mohammed S

Apr 21, 2020

Excellent!!! Glad i took this course. The subject was taught slowy and all four of the tutors made themeselves very interesting to listen to. Subject was quite expansive but really worth it. Could have gone little bit more into the different species as well. Appreciate the effort of the whole team.

创建者 Ahn f

Oct 5, 2020

Thank you so much I am an aspiring entomologist (although only 13) and was finding difficulty discovering a course about insects that fit my age group as I am very passionate I had to wildly jump around things and self teach myself and it was really nice to be guided and learn a lot of new things!

创建者 Anne-Lise D

Nov 29, 2020

After having taken multiple online courses, this one was the richest in term of provided knowledge. Its design and creation were taken very seriously. It offers strong support orally, visually and on paper. This must have been a real job to achieve for the team: very well done and thank you!

创建者 Nancy M

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course! I really enjoyed the lay out of the material and the freedom to complete each module through out an entire week. Makes it enjoyable and practical for anyone working while taking this course. The information was educational and up to date. Good Job delivering this course.

创建者 Jessica B

Jan 2, 2020

I was hoping to develop a understanding of the little creepie crawlies and gain some appreciation for them which I did - still not a huge fan yet more gratefull we have them. A very insightful course and nicely spread out not overwhelming to digest. Thanks to those involved. very well done

创建者 James B

Oct 25, 2019

Excellent and in-depth summary of the many ways in which insects impact our daily lives. I found the portion of their effects on crop management both as pests and biological controls particularly exciting! Highly recommend to anyone with an interest in expanding their knowledge base.

创建者 Fran S

Aug 19, 2019

Although I've always rather liked bugs, after having taken BUGS 101, I have a much deeper appreciation for the value of insects in my daily life and for the importance of insect life in the entire ecosystem.

The course was well-organized, well-presented, and absolutely valuable.

创建者 Shubham K

Jun 14, 2020

Thank you for this wonderful and informative course, I've learned a lot and i still am willing to learn more. Thanks to this course, now I'm more curious about what creeps and crawls around me and what benefits or harms it can cause and how I can manage them... Thank you....

创建者 Winnifred W

Jun 27, 2020

This course was amazing! I recommend it to people with some background in biology. You do not just learn the benefits of insects and other arthropods. You learn how to preserve these tiny wonders. What you do not see or barely see in the wild, effects your life every day.

创建者 Dorothy J

Sep 29, 2019

Very informative and interesting. I liked the topics from what bugs are, to how they are managed, and then cultural aspects. It is giving me a new way to look at what is in my backyard, where if I need to do a little pest management, I don’t need to use strong pesticides.

创建者 Josh C

Nov 23, 2020

This was perfect for me as a side-course to take in the evening after my kids and work have been completed. I learned much more than I expected, and really enjoyed the lessons from the whole team! Would definitely recommend to anyone who's remotely interested in insects.

创建者 Melanie d M

Dec 23, 2019

Thank you so much for such an informative and fascinatingly awesome course! I've learned so much and gained an even bigger appreciation for these amazing creatures! I would highly recommend this course to everyone, from beginners to professionals working in conservation.

创建者 Georgios K

Dec 20, 2019

I totally enjoyed this course! It was a great experience! All the instructors had done a great job and everything was understandable and clear. I learned a lot of new things and I am very happy that I had the opportunity to obtain this knowledge! Thank you very much!

创建者 Mary J B

Nov 26, 2020

This was an enlightening, intriguing, thorough, challenging, balanced entomology course that was scientifically presented. The quantity and quality of supplementary readings was outstanding, and the course notes are absolute keepers for future reference and review.

创建者 Raiyan M D

Jul 15, 2020

It's a great course for anyone who loves insects, and my gosh must I say that the prepared summary slides for each chapter is AMAZING! I am an environmental science uni student at James Cook University, and the quality of our slides do NOT even come close to these!

创建者 Anais L

Jun 20, 2020

It was an amazing course. I want to do it again, jeje. The information that you have is of excellent quality. I would like to do my master's degree at Alberta University with all of you. The interviews are great. Congratulations for an amazing and wonderful course.

创建者 Carol M

Dec 20, 2019

A very interesting course. It really opened my eyes to the fascinating world of insects and our interactions with them. The myriad adaptations that insects have made is mind boggling. Another very well done course from the University of Alberta! Thanks Coursera!

创建者 Brandon S

Sep 28, 2020

Fantastic course. Very engaging and well taught in general. This course really utilizes Coursera and online learning to an incredible degree that left me wanting more! Had a great time learning and would take another course offered by this team in a heartbeat.

创建者 Deepti R B

Jul 9, 2020

This is an amazing course that has provided me with knowledge about insects from multiple perspectives and multiple stakeholders working in this space. It has triggered my interest to learn more about these interesting creatures through observation in nature.

创建者 Tiziano G

May 6, 2020

Amazing

I really loved this course, easy to understand and awesome video-lectures. It was my second course with this university and I will definitely do more courses with them.

If you love insects, both like an enthusiast or an expert, this course is a must do.

创建者 Krishnendu S

Jul 12, 2020

Exceptionally good course for everybody. You may like insects or hate them, but you must take the course. It is also very useful for Zoology majors and those Zoology Ph.D., who have a passion for entomology but never got the chance to invest in the subject!

创建者 Sandra L

Oct 9, 2019

This was an excellent course. I was fascinated by so many aspects of the lessons, and learned a great deal about insect life, and the relationship between humans and insects. I really appreciated the obvious fascination that the lecturers have for insects.

创建者 Néstor S I

Nov 26, 2020

Really amazing course. Both the instructors and learning material are very good, they made me grow my interest for entomology that before the course was not really there. Probably, better than most of my bachellor and master lectures. Congratulations.

创建者 Jingtian Z

Apr 26, 2020

I used to lack the knowledge of insects more than any other animal groups, but with this couse, insects have a different and more important role in my knowlegde. It made me know and respect the largest (in species) and The smallest (on size) on Earth.