Chevron Left
返回到 Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions 的评价和反馈

4.9
992 个评分
439 条评论

课程概述

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

热门审阅

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

MH
Nov 19, 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

筛选依据:

126 - Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions 的 150 个评论(共 438 个)

创建者 Tiziano G

May 6, 2020

Amazing

I really loved this course, easy to understand and awesome video-lectures. It was my second course with this university and I will definitely do more courses with them.

If you love insects, both like an enthusiast or an expert, this course is a must do.

创建者 Krishnendu S

Jul 12, 2020

Exceptionally good course for everybody. You may like insects or hate them, but you must take the course. It is also very useful for Zoology majors and those Zoology Ph.D., who have a passion for entomology but never got the chance to invest in the subject!

创建者 Siobhan B

Sep 19, 2021

I am currently a first year Zoology student in New Zealand, with a goal of becoming an Entomologist. There aren't many insect related courses available in my country so I decided to take up this one. I am beyond pleased with this course, so glad i took it!

创建者 Andrea K

May 9, 2021

Excellent course! Initially I only wanted to browse and didn't expect to go all the way. But the course was so well prepared and interesting that I finished it. It is great for beginners as myself but also offers lots of in-depth material for deeper study.

创建者 Steven L J

Jan 20, 2021

An amazing course, great that all the lessons are also in Pdf format next to the video lectures for future reading. The instructors are amazing and quite frankly I wish my teachers would have been as engaging and passionate when I was attending university.

创建者 Sandra L

Oct 9, 2019

This was an excellent course. I was fascinated by so many aspects of the lessons, and learned a great deal about insect life, and the relationship between humans and insects. I really appreciated the obvious fascination that the lecturers have for insects.

创建者 maria e s

Aug 5, 2021

hi!i am Maria Eleni Sourtzi and i am an environmentalist. As a child i had so many questions about insects that nobody knew to replay to me. I am so glad i did this course, all of my questions where aswered and new were created.Congradulations!thank you

创建者 Jingtian Z

Dec 26, 2020

I used to lack the knowledge of insects more than any other animal groups, but with this couse, insects have a different and more important role in my knowlegde. It made me know and respect the largest (in species) and The smallest (on size) on Earth.

创建者 Néstor S I

Nov 26, 2020

Really amazing course. Both the instructors and learning material are very good, they made me grow my interest for entomology that before the course was not really there. Probably, better than most of my bachellor and master lectures. Congratulations.

创建者 Irene C

Jul 27, 2021

B​ugs 101 gave me a much better understanding of the importance of insects to the world and to the health of our ecosystems and thus the ability for us to thrive as well. As a result, I will look at all bugs with a new sense of respect and tolerance.

创建者 Elise B

Feb 16, 2021

They did such an amazing job with this course! The visuals, organization, and supplemental components are all so well thought-out, and it really creates such enthusiasm for the subject. You can tell that everyone involved truly loves what they do.

创建者 Muhamad A B A B

Aug 16, 2020

Well-planned course that covers in-depth topics & content related to entomology. Instructors can explain well. The course provider even goes extra miles with interviews, ILOs, supplementary readings to help learners understand the subject better.

创建者 Jill M

Jul 28, 2020

Phenomenal course, full of fascinating and real-world, practical knowledge about the stunning variety of insects and the roles they play within the plant and animal kingdoms -- affecting nearly every aspect of the human world. Highly recommended!

创建者 Shruti G

May 11, 2020

It was a phenomenal experience to learn so much about the little creatures that seem so insignificant, yet play great ecological roles. The study materials, tutorials and tutors were amazing. There was a lot to learn and the journey was exciting.

创建者 Kimaya D

Jun 8, 2020

Exceptional course containing detailed information about various insects and their impact to human life and society. Will highly recommend to anyone willing to learn a bit more about average and unusual insects as well as to insect lovers.

创建者 Christine M

May 24, 2020

I enjoyed this course. I learned a lot and it was both interesting and informative. Thanks for all the effort put into the course to make it interesting. I will never look at bugs the same way again. I certainly appreciate them much more.

创建者 Amanda C R d S

May 21, 2021

O curso é maravilhoso, muito didático e muito completo nas informações que apresenta, consegui ter acesso aos conhecimento que me fizeram perceber como a entomologia é ampla, importante e essencial. Parabéns a todos os envolvidos!

创建者 Owen T

Feb 19, 2021

My 5th grade son used this as part of his homeschooling this year. A lot of the reading was beyond his level, but this was so well done that even he could get a lot out of it. Thanks for providing this course. We learned a lot!

创建者 Liza v G

Feb 17, 2020

Thank you very much. What an interesting course!

Good teachers and nice interviews. A lot of beautiful photo's.

Insects are nearly everywhere in the world. They are very important for our ecosystems.

My favorite is the Humble Bee.

创建者 Josefina A

Mar 17, 2020

The amount of topics covered and the simple way they are presented without watering the science is impressive. I learned many new things and the course have me interesting in obtaining more details. I hope the is a Bugs 102 soon.

创建者 Sarah B

Jul 31, 2020

This course was extremely well done!! The instructors are amazing and the content was very interesting. The interviews were an lovely treat as well. I have a much greater understanding and appreciation for bugs now. Thank you!!

创建者 Franky A

Feb 2, 2021

The only course of its kind that I could find anywhere. The instructors are fabulous and the amount of content for the price is crazy! I highly recommend it for anyone wanting to become more involved with insects academically.

创建者 Andrew G

Sep 7, 2020

This was really a good course. Interesting and well structured. I studied Ento in 1985 before, shifting to agronomy. This was a good refresher and I was surprised how well this course was compiled. I will give you guys 10/10.

创建者 N R

Jul 11, 2020

This course gave a fulfilling insight into the world of insects and insect related research which is easier to understand even by layman. The love towards insects shown by the instructors towards the insects was heart felt.

创建者 Raymond I

May 3, 2021

Loved the course. Great facilitators! Learned so much...more aware, more thoughtful and much more appreciative of insects and our relationship (i.e. dependence). Thanks so much for opening up a whole new world of insects!