Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
3,176 个评分
664 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

筛选依据:

26 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 50 个评论(共 653 个)

创建者 María C S L

Jan 07, 2019

Excelente curso

创建者 Larissa P

Dec 08, 2018

great class

创建者 Estrella F J

Feb 14, 2019

.

创建者 Laura W

Aug 13, 2017

This course was overall a nice overview of the material. I found the subject matter interesting and I liked the mix of subjects from biology to clinical methods. I am mainly interested in the biology of cancer, but I found it quite nice to also learn a bit about treatments and imaging. The reason I am only giving it three stars is because I wished that their were some written study materials or some recommendations on further reading or activities to help re-inforce the material in the lectures. The lectures sometimes felt a bit rushed, particularly the ones with a lot of new terminology and it was difficult to feel like I was retaining the information.

创建者 Patricia C

Jan 31, 2018

Good info but very boring professionals.

创建者 Henriette P

May 01, 2016

You cannot do the quizes unless you pay.

创建者 Mohamed S M I

Aug 25, 2017

Well let me thank all the staff for this great, simple, informative course , also also thank you JH school of medicine for the second time for providing such a great course , thanks also to Coursera for accepting the financial aid .

Thanks to " Dr. Pianta's team " you made me very interested in such a branch of medical branches , It is now become a dream to join your team Dr. Pianta , fighting hand in hand together againist such a monster not only threat my Homeland Egypt or Us but also affect a huge number and harvest not a small number all over the world .

You really don't know how you encouraged me to attend lectures and events nearby in the Cancer Institute Of Minia in my city to apply and communicate all knowledge provided here in JH courses with Cancer cases here and their protocols of treatment .

I have a " Recommendation " for you : Now I'm enjoying a wonderful course called " Stories of Infection " also is here on coursera Provided by Dr. Maya Adam from Stanford SCH. Of Med . , briefly the way Dr. Maya Introduces the information in that course is very inspirational " the disease from personal history to the final recovery passing through C/P, investigations and proper types of therapies in the form of wonderful story " .So I'm really looking forward to enjoy such a course provided by your team Dr. Pianta discussing Cases of Cancers and its management .

Finally , always keep up the Excellent work as we used to see from you ^_^

创建者 Sara M A

Jan 16, 2017

I like this course it was so enjoyable helpful to me since I wanted to learn more about cancer biology and I got the perfect opportunity to sign into this course! thanks to all coursera team and Jhons Hopkins university school for giving their time and effort to make this course.

I liked the way of teaching by the doctors. at first, i thought it would be so difficult because I didn't have the right professional background about cancer biology and I wanted to start my own journey into fighting this disease but i didn't know where to start. suddenly, I found that this course and I've signed!

i have some suggestions about this course:

please put serious moderators not an ex-coursera students with some privilege

please put some sizes options for the translation

创建者 Daniel M

Jan 31, 2018

I appreciate that this course covers such a wide variety of topics, but I would love to see more than just prostate cancer examined in further depth in an independent course. I think the first instructor in this course does the best job of breaking down complex concepts into more comprehensive topics. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to expand their knowledge in how to classify cancers into carinomas, sarcomas, leukemias, and lymphomas (the four general classes caner falls into) and then how to stage them appropriately, staging of the more common types of cancer that occur, or people looking for more information about how cells interact with chemotherapies, immunotherapies, and radiotherapies.

创建者 Sharon B

Jan 13, 2017

I got out of it what I expected as a person who does not work in any medical field. But I did not like the fact that we did not see a person giving the lectures and only the diagrams were visible. Every Coursera course I have taken thus far has always had the instructor visible as he or she lectured. It gave me the feeling of being in an actual classroom setting which I like. There was some information which was well beyond my level of knowledge . I am a college graduate but my degree is in social science. Then there were quiz questions which were on the more advanced information . I passed on my third try though.

创建者 Suthasina C

Jun 19, 2019

Even though I have some difficulty studying this course especially around jargons and language (English is not my primary language and my professional background does not close to medical/ healthcare fields.), I found this course offer at appropriate length, both for course length and time required per week. It is manageable for those who is working, so do not hesitate to join.

I suggest the course to notify that the content is not that easy to understand for the one who does not have medical/ healthcare background just like me. Thank you for the course !

创建者 Rubaiyat

Oct 02, 2016

I loved this course as I found the topic fascinating (the 10 hallmarks absolutely blew my mind - those cancer cells are so conniving!). I think the instructors did a fantastic job delivering the material.

I am a Product Manager in the software industry, and I took this class for my personal curiosity.

I wish we were able to submit the answers to the quiz without officially purchasing the course. I did not purchase the course as it does not pertain to my profession and I do not really need a certification for it.

创建者 Dr N D

Oct 14, 2016

The course was excellent, with very good structure, with the right level of difficulty/complexity, with very good slides & discussions. The only couple of points for potential amendments that I would propose is a) avert from calling/mentioning drugs with their brand names, but rather use the active ingredient names only, and b) perhaps providing resources for further reading (i.e web links etc) to all material after each lecture, like you did for week 6 final lecture.

创建者 Babu Y

May 04, 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the wonderful course package provided by your Team of Members. I finished my certification at the earliest as the lectures and course content was very interesting. It was very lucid and was in brief. I thank the Course Coordinator Prof. Kenneth Pienta for the wonderful streamlining of the course content. Many congratulations to you and your team. It came as a free course for which am very indebted. Thank you all again.

创建者 KAWTHAR A

Nov 09, 2019

I am now able to Identify the major types of cancer

List and describe the hallmarks of cancer

I can differentitate that the contribution of genes to the risk and growth of cancer

Define metastasis and identify the major steps in the metastatic process

I can describe the role of imaging in the screening,diagnosis,staging,and treatment of cancer

And i can explain how cancer is treated

And importantly i can explain how cancer is treated

创建者 Henita C

Oct 13, 2019

The course was very informative and helpful. I had signed up for the certified course but still haven’t received the certificate even after completion, my mail I’d is correct because I’ve received all other mails and some link to verify my name for certification is also not opening. I hope you can look into my complaint and certify me as soon as possible. Thank you for considering. I also look forward to enroll into new courses soon.

创建者 Nesterenko Y

Sep 20, 2016

This course emphasis brief introduction to biology of cancer. Here by simple words and examples you can discover which risk factors can cause cancer and what prevention needs to be done to minimize chance of cancer occurrence etc. I will suggest this course to all my colleges. I am really pleased for passing this course.

I wish all group Introduction to the Biology of Cancer further inspiration to create new interesting courses.

创建者 Ruchi T

Apr 28, 2019

I would like to thank coursera to consider me eligible for the scholarship. I have completed the course with a cent percent result, hence proving my interest in the subject. The course was beautifully presented and explained by all the professors. It was brief and knowledgeable at the same time. The quizzes after each lecture have helped in clearing the main quiz. The course was all in all very knowledgeable. Thankyou

创建者 Mrutyunjaya P

Apr 27, 2020

This is one of the best courses I had taken on Cancer, to date. I acquired much new knowledge on the fundamentals and basics of Cancer Biology and would definitely use this knowledge as a baseline for my further academic pursuits and the lot many research works that I will do in my life. Thank You, Dr. Pienta and his wonderful team - Dr. Amend, Dr. Jelani, Dr. Valkenburg and Miss Reyes.

创建者 Vignesh R

May 21, 2019

Thank you very much, Dr. Kenneth Pienta, for providing such an engaging course throughout 6 weeks, and I enjoyed every content of this course that is well structured especially Ten hallmarks of cancer, TNM staging, cancer imaging, and various types of cancer treatments. Overall, it is a comprehensive cancer biology course. Looking forward to having an intermediate level of this course.

创建者 黄婷婷

Aug 07, 2018

I'm a project manager working in new drug discovery and IND-enalbling projects, mainly for anti-cancer filed. this course is easy to understand and involved a lot of useful knowledge to facilitate understanding of the rational of new drug, in which the mechanisms are ofter related to some of the hallmarks of cancer. Thanks you very much for making and sharing the course, very nice job.

创建者 Brita F

Dec 19, 2016

An excellent course! Whoever is interested in the development and metastasis of cancer should take this course. The lectures are very well presented and structured, so they are quite easy to follow even for a layman. I found the part on the hallmarks of cancer particularly interesting - a course that would go into more detail here would be on my wish list for future courses.

创建者 Markos V

Jul 22, 2019

This is a great course! I do not have a medical background so it helped me understand several concepts. I liked the fact that after each session I had to answer quizzes to move on. On the improvement side, I would like to see the face of the person who is lecturing to make it more personal.

Thanks a lot for the amazing course, for sure I will come back to review it again!

创建者 Sarah S

Apr 11, 2017

I work for a worldwide cancer research charity and found the course to be an excellent, challenging introduction to cancer biology. I particularly liked the fact that the course pointed towards some of the major questions that researchers are working around the clock answer, and that core materials were supplemented with examples of current research.

创建者 Dipto K S

Apr 30, 2020

This is an important topic now a days.In this course I have learned some types of cancer, which gene is responsible for cancer, how many people in the world are suffering from cancer, what is the treatment of cancer and known some chemotherapy. I hope this course will help me in future. And i thank to the instructor to help me in this course.