Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
5,409 个评分
1,095 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH
Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
Jul 31, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

筛选依据:

176 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 200 个评论(共 1,072 个)

创建者 EDEN J A

Nov 14, 2020

I was able to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in identifying common cancers, their diagnosis, progression and treatment. This course is very relevant and helpful to me.

创建者 Luiz A R C

Aug 1, 2020

Excellent course, clear and complete lectures, accessible language, actual and scientific information based on robust evidences, connected to practice. Completely recommend!!!

创建者 Nivedha M S

Jun 27, 2020

The course was amazing. l got to learn and appreciate the different types of cancer and the various concepts associated with it. It was a very satisfying experience. Thank you

创建者 Abykhair M

Aug 17, 2020

It is a very useful course for beginner. It can act as a stepping-stone for someone who wants to start learning about cancer or pursuing a profession in cancer-related fields

创建者 Aryesh A

Jan 8, 2020

A very good course to understand cancer and what are the possibilities in future to fight against it.I enjoyed this course very much.Thank you for letting me do this course.

创建者 Usama A K

Jun 1, 2017

I found this course very fruitful for me . I got extra knowledge by that. Coursera is doing well to help the students to increase their extra knowledge. very Appreciable (Y)

创建者 ALEJANDRO E F O

Aug 3, 2020

I liked this course because give the basic principles to understand the biology of cancer, I like the points of view of researchers, doctors and nurses, it helped me a lot.

创建者 Lena N

Jan 22, 2018

It was a comprehensive review of the development of cancer. I only wish we had more time to go into the specific genetics of the genes related to the development of cancer.

创建者 Nafisa N I

May 18, 2020

What an amazing story-teller the course-creators are! I have learned and enjoyed a lot. Highly Recommended for anyone who wants to further their career in Cancer Research.

创建者 Pierre G

Mar 21, 2020

It is very useful , simple , and I am looking forward to take more courses , and I think it gives a proper introduction for whoever wants to start learning about cancer .

创建者 Dmitri V

Nov 17, 2020

Easy to follow, maximally informative and professional. All lectures connected to each other finding the balance between simplicity and specificity. Thank you very much.

创建者 James M

Feb 21, 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative and exceptionally well designed. I have learnt so much that will help me with my work in Integrative oncology and botanical medicine.

创建者 Ramana M S

Jan 25, 2020

Course was grea!!!. Crisp, well framed, well presented covering every basic aspect to understand the cancer biology. I would recommend this to my friends and colleagues

创建者 Sarah Y

Oct 4, 2018

it's really an amazing course .the lecturers hit the points directly.

I just wish the next time you could provide a course that explain the molecular biology of cancer.

创建者 Shafi A T

Aug 29, 2019

It is a very informative and fundamental course for beginners aspire for cancer biology.Instructors are pretty good and explain the topic very well.Highly recommended

创建者 Anjana v

Apr 1, 2020

it was really a helpful class for me as a biotech student and i would like to have more classes in other areas.it help me to learn much more deep into cancer biology

创建者 Jamyang P

Aug 19, 2019

The entire lecture and construct of the syllabus was very simple and informative. I recommend others to kindly look up to this course and have a informative session.

创建者 Erin S

Jun 7, 2020

Absolutely worth it - boosts my CV yet fulfils my desire to know more about this topic! It helped me with learning content for my next year's modules in university!

创建者 Percy C M A

Aug 14, 2020

I really enjoyed with this course. It was a tremendous knowledge I´ve learned. Thank you for their times. It was very helpfull to me to understand what is cancer.

创建者 Ruchi G

May 22, 2020

I have learned many things on the topic of cancer and I think this course gave me more knowledge about cancer and it's risk factor and prevention and treatment...

创建者 NAVYA B S 4

Jul 14, 2020

Really loved the entire course. It makes even a person who doesn't have any knowledge about the subject understand the concepts very well. Excellent explanation.

创建者 Bharti D

Jun 26, 2020

Very interesting course! Lecturers explained all the course materials very well and made it very engaging through examples and illustrations. Highly recommended!

创建者 Bishnu B

May 6, 2020

It's great detail of knowing even for out of profession person. Learnt much about cancer, how it thrives and risk it tenders.

I am grateful for this opportunity.

创建者 sachin m

Jun 30, 2017

Very Impressed by the course content and the way the course was handled by the course instructors. Would like to take courses offered by Johns Hopkins in future.

创建者 Omar S

Dec 30, 2016

This course is absolutely ecstatic because the professor is nice and he always comes up with the smartest and most complex information a topic during the lesson!