Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
4,998 个评分
1,022 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

筛选依据:

976 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 1000 个评论(共 1,002 个)

创建者 John M

Aug 18, 2020

Very inconsistent level of commitment. Some sections were very simple, then the fifth section was just a long list of drugs for different cancer types, without any explanation as to why they work for these different types. Not a rich learning experience.

创建者 Daniel N

Sep 02, 2016

Very good introduction. light-weight explanations.

Better animations and videos could enhanced the learning process.

questions are too easy.

Needs more complex tasks to integrates the different sections together.

创建者 Lukas P

Apr 16, 2016

I think that the course itself is very interesting and useful, but unfortunately you have to purchase the course straight away to be able to do the tests.

创建者 Liliana C P M

Sep 28, 2017

Superficial information/knowledge and boring presentation.

I think we should be able to do the graduate tests and purchase the course in the end of it.

创建者 FATHIMATHUL F V

May 26, 2020

Superb💯 first time idont know about cancer &its process but now it is really easy able....thanks for ur commitment tnks all professors 🥰😍

创建者 Shakira

May 16, 2017

Very interesting content, some of the lectures good have made more effort in bringing across the content in a more exciting manner.

创建者 Rayan A

Sep 26, 2020

The course provides a good introduction to cancer and how it can be treated, very informative and easy to keep up with

创建者 Randy C

May 19, 2016

Tough call on this. The course itself is excellent [5] but the "money grab, you must pay attitude" is horrible [0].

创建者 Alicia C

Aug 25, 2020

Hello, my finish the course and I do the honors extra questions but I didnt get my certifícate with honors

创建者 Charandeep J

Nov 18, 2018

Videos could be better, too short and narrated robotically

创建者 Abhi B

Jul 18, 2020

There is a problem with receiving the honors certificate.

创建者 Keith L

Nov 11, 2019

Nice introduction. Statistics could do with an update.

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 23, 2016

I would prefer to see the speaker during the lecture.

创建者 Ivan S

Feb 21, 2019

Too simple for that price. For very beginners.

创建者 Lev R S

May 23, 2017

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

创建者 Esraa M A M n

Sep 07, 2020

it was a good experiment and I learn a lot

创建者 Shivani M

Jul 03, 2018

The lectures can be more interactive

创建者 IJAZ A

Apr 16, 2020

realistic and advanced knowledge

创建者 Sufia B

May 30, 2020

good course. i enjoyed so much.

创建者 Nur A A P

May 26, 2020

Neither best nor worst!

创建者 Jade B

Sep 05, 2016

Not done... All 5?

创建者 Sakina S S

Aug 16, 2020

very informative

创建者 Mariya L

Mar 19, 2017

Too basic knowledge, not enough information about targeted therapy, everything is explained without going into any details

创建者 Dr. B

Sep 16, 2016

Hello all. I'm glad I took this course successfully. However, I have some notes. As a 4th year medical student, I see that the information is superficial. I finished the course in around 3 weeks, so medical students wouldn't get so much benefit out of the course. I wanted to learn more details, specially in depth about each type of the 5 cancers from the basics to clinical. Secondly, there was no interaction between the students and the doctor supervising the course in the discussion blogs. Thirdly, I believe that the assessment was too easy. I suggest a 60% passing grade with a more challenging assessment. Finally, this is my personal opinion. I enjoyed the course and I would like to see more improvement in the future.

创建者 YUSUF M A

Aug 01, 2020

I don't think its for beginners. I didn't understand a lot of biological terms.