Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
6,108 个评分
1,211 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH
Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS
Oct 15, 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

筛选依据:

226 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 250 个评论(共 1,196 个)

创建者 Heather H

May 12, 2021

This was a wonderful course. The lecturers were engaging and the content was so interesting. I would now like to do some more pre-med courses now. Thankyou.

创建者 Fiona M C

Mar 24, 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. Definitely felt I was using my brain again and would love to go into the cancer research field after doing this course.

创建者 Bokeum J

Feb 21, 2021

Professor Ken Pienta and his team really provide me inspiration and they are so talented in teaching as I in high school could fully understand the lectures!

创建者 SWAROOP G M

Aug 19, 2020

The course was very informative and best for those who want to know the basic understanding of cancer, its classification, imaging types and treatment types.

创建者 Amara T

Jul 30, 2020

this course taught me alot of interesting stuff and I do recommend it for anyone who wants to get a better understanding of cancer, and what it is all about.

创建者 Ayesha A

Apr 21, 2020

I found this course very helpful and informative. Any student from life science background can easily understand this course. I highly recommend this course.

创建者 Chetana M

Mar 9, 2021

This one is one of the best course to get a very good knowledge of cancer and its molecular basics. the videos are quite well detailed. all over awesome.

创建者 Sana F

Apr 14, 2021

The course is very brief and gives you knowledge in every area Cancer from statistics to genetics and treatment. It has greatly helped me in my project.

创建者 Stephen o o

Jun 11, 2020

The course instructors were very awesome I understood them perfectly this made me to really want to know more cancer as a biochemist in research field.

创建者 Işıl B

Dec 26, 2020

I'm an undergraduate student and I chose this course because i want to develop my cancer biology skils. Thank you very much, it was a great journey! :)

创建者 SANDRA M S

May 16, 2020

This course is really useful.You will get info about cancer from grass root level if you are new in this field.Attend this course guys,it will help you

创建者 Jardson O

Oct 9, 2021

Congratulations to the team of scientific educators who developed this course. It is an exquisite and very complete work. I recommend it to everyone!

创建者 B M T I

Jun 7, 2020

This was really good and knowledgeable also.It really helps me to learning new things.Anyone who're interested on cancer,he'll enroll this.Thank You.

创建者 Thirza H P v ' S

Jan 26, 2020

It was an awesome course to do, I learned so much and the learning material was handed to me in a interactive way. Which made it easy for me to learn

创建者 Mahmoud A

Apr 30, 2017

this is a really good one and of course I had a very good time during the course and really great thanks to the educators of the course and coursera

创建者 Riya J

Sep 7, 2020

It was well taught and I was able to understand a lot more than basics of cancer. Thanking all those who took an effort in providing the knowledge.

创建者 Agasthya S

Aug 9, 2016

A very good primer on the most common cancer types. I hope to see a more advanced iteration of this course for those who want deeper understanding.

创建者 Gerda S

May 7, 2018

Very good explained and slides that are very helpful. I learned a lot in a course with quite short lectins. Very appreciated to get the course in

创建者 Vanessa L

Feb 24, 2018

This was a very interesting course and well put together I enjoyed the lessons and the variety of information about the existing types of cancer.

创建者 Marisa B

Sep 26, 2020

Super Informative and easy to follow! I'm a high school students, and it was very accessible to me. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

创建者 307 1

May 1, 2021

It's very helpful for students who want to explore their interests and those who want to learn more about medical field. Sincerely recommended.

创建者 Surekha C

May 20, 2020

The Course on "Introduction to the Biology of Cancer" was very good and useful. The lectures were so good in understanding the concept clearly.

创建者 Naveen K

Aug 25, 2018

This is an excellent introduction to Cancer Biology. Occasionally you do need to clarify a term from the Internet, but that is not a big issue.

创建者 Nils C

Jul 5, 2020

Curso muy funcional, interesante e importante para personas interesadas en el funcionamiento y tratamiento del cáncer. Muy buena introducción.