Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
6,427 个评分
1,254 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

Jan 13, 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

筛选依据:

226 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 250 个评论(共 1,243 个)

创建者 Omar S

Dec 30, 2016

This course is absolutely ecstatic because the professor is nice and he always comes up with the smartest and most complex information a topic during the lesson!

创建者 dr. a

Oct 28, 2020

Thank you very much for the important and useful information. And please send me the scientific content, book or pdf, so that I can not refer to it at any time

创建者 Mahmoud E

Apr 20, 2020

This course took me from zero knowledge about cancer to a broad understanding of this disease, its causes, treatment, and screening methods. Highly recommended!

创建者 Monica M

May 18, 2017

Well put together! Great variety in experts leading the course. Amount and level of information shared was just right. I think everyone should take this course!

创建者 Shruti S

Feb 11, 2017

Thank you so much for providing such a interesting course, especially thanks for financial support, I will be always there for courser, cant forget the great he

创建者 Ogunparisa E

Sep 22, 2021

This course as really explained to the simplicity about introduction of cancer which has widening my knowledge about the cause of cancer and it will be treated

创建者 Xie R

Jul 11, 2021

Thanks so much ,it's really hopeful to achieve my career. All professors taught better than my professor in school.thanks for giving me this opportunity to me.

创建者 CICERO S L F

Aug 5, 2020

Uma ótima oportunida com professores renomados e que sabem ministrar o conteúdo em conjunto com as aulas... Uma nova forma de d se aprender, excelente escolha!

创建者 Lillian L

Dec 4, 2017

Very good course. Although I didn't purchase the certificate, I still learned a lot. I would recommend it to anyone interested in cancer and how it is treated.

创建者 Heather H

May 12, 2021

This was a wonderful course. The lecturers were engaging and the content was so interesting. I would now like to do some more pre-med courses now. Thankyou.

创建者 Fiona M C

Mar 24, 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. Definitely felt I was using my brain again and would love to go into the cancer research field after doing this course.

创建者 Bo K J

Feb 21, 2021

Professor Ken Pienta and his team really provide me inspiration and they are so talented in teaching as I in high school could fully understand the lectures!

创建者 SWAROOP G M

Aug 19, 2020

The course was very informative and best for those who want to know the basic understanding of cancer, its classification, imaging types and treatment types.

创建者 Amara T

Jul 30, 2020

this course taught me alot of interesting stuff and I do recommend it for anyone who wants to get a better understanding of cancer, and what it is all about.

创建者 Ayesha A

Apr 21, 2020

I found this course very helpful and informative. Any student from life science background can easily understand this course. I highly recommend this course.

创建者 mohadese Z

Jan 18, 2022

The course was taught very basically and many of my questions were answered. I was very satisfied with the quality of teaching because it was informative.

创建者 Chetana M

Mar 9, 2021

This one is one of the best course to get a very good knowledge of cancer and its molecular basics. the videos are quite well detailed. all over awesome.

创建者 Sana F

Apr 14, 2021

The course is very brief and gives you knowledge in every area Cancer from statistics to genetics and treatment. It has greatly helped me in my project.

创建者 STEPHEN O

Jun 11, 2020

The course instructors were very awesome I understood them perfectly this made me to really want to know more cancer as a biochemist in research field.

创建者 francisco f

Jan 14, 2022

excelente curso donde las tecnicas aprendidas se pueden poner en funcionamiento debido a que son de actualidad, gracias por la formacion y informacion.

创建者 Işıl B

Dec 26, 2020

I'm an undergraduate student and I chose this course because i want to develop my cancer biology skils. Thank you very much, it was a great journey! :)

创建者 SANDRA M S

May 16, 2020

This course is really useful.You will get info about cancer from grass root level if you are new in this field.Attend this course guys,it will help you

创建者 Jardson O

Oct 9, 2021

Congratulations to the team of scientific educators who developed this course. It is an exquisite and very complete work. I recommend it to everyone!

创建者 B M T I

Jun 7, 2020

This was really good and knowledgeable also.It really helps me to learning new things.Anyone who're interested on cancer,he'll enroll this.Thank You.

创建者 Arpan S

May 14, 2020

It was an ameging experience to gather knowledge from the honerable teachers thank you im am very much honoured to do this course under your guidence