Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
6,113 个评分
1,211 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH
Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS
Oct 15, 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

筛选依据:

1051 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 1075 个评论(共 1,197 个)

创建者 Yuewei X

Aug 20, 2017

The course is very informative and I've learnt a lot.

However, the lectures are quite dry since there are no more than just PPT slides. Meanwhile, some questions or quiz are not designed very well. They cannot effective assess how much content the students have really leant.

创建者 赵健

Oct 31, 2016

这是第一门自己申请助学金的课程,而霍普金斯大学也是我非常敬仰的学校,然而这门课程却不如我预想中的完美,第一是视频上来看,图形资源比较匮乏,多媒体资源没有很好的和讲课内容匹配,比如课程音频说的here 在屏幕上并没有显示出来具体的指示标识;第二是相关的资源太少了,如果相比莱顿大学的腹部解剖那门课程来说的确是比较枯燥。不过因为自己本身是这个专业的所以看起来障碍不是太大,不过对于没有肿瘤学基础的人来说上面的问题可能影响会比较大一些,希望团队能在这一方面继续改进。最后还是要感谢各位老师带来这么一门优秀的课程,我从中学到了很多!再次感谢!

创建者 Karima B

Apr 25, 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Some of the lecturers spoke too quickly or in an overly complicated manner making the lessons hard to follow. But overall, this is a great introduction to the subject and can be completed much more quickly than suggested.

创建者 Angel-Hongrui Z

Apr 24, 2019

I really like the class in a way how the class is structured, introducing common types of cancers, hallmarks, development process etc. I have learned a lot! The only thing I wish for the class is less technical or more time in explaining terminology etc.

创建者 Vrushali S

Sep 29, 2020

The course was good and very informative and reflects all the basic knowledge of introduction to cancer. I had also completed optional honors content but I didn't receive the certificate with honors. Thank you for making such a incredible online course.

创建者 1813253

Oct 23, 2019

Really an excellent course and course material and the way of teaching.Thank you very much for all the instructors and appreciating their effort in this work.I Learned lot about the screening, diagnosis, staging and treatment of Cancer.

Thanks a lot.

创建者 Venkat R R

Jul 1, 2020

The course is a good intro to cancer biology and a refresher to people with previous cancer knowledge. It covers the cancer cell hallmarks and the steps in metastasis. Also there is a session on cancer imaging and widely used treatment options.

创建者 Nabajit B

Jun 3, 2016

So far it's a very good course. I always wanted to learn about cancer as it took two lives from my family. I would give it a FIVE STAR if the professors could explain more elaborately as I have very little experience in this field. Thanks a lot

创建者 Mohit A

Jun 13, 2017

The course can include a little advanced training like showing some surgery videos and appropriate pictures and how treatment is actually given to the patients. This may help basic science researchers to understand more of the clinical part.

创建者 Prejith S

Mar 5, 2019

I am a postgraduate student of Oral Medicine and Radiology. Cancer is part of our curriculum and I found the lesson on hallmarks of cancer interesting. This course is a good introduction before you leap into detailed books on the subject.

创建者 Moral R

Oct 28, 2020

I love the structure, organization, content and the teaching. Courses offered by the John Hopkins are very invigorating. However, I also believe, a guided project, or a practical experiment/assignment would make this course more valuable.

创建者 Ayan B

May 30, 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot of things from it. First 5 weeks were very good, but the last week was a little advanced. I think I would have understood better if I the videos had a little more explanation. But overall it was good.

创建者 Shikhar v c

Sep 7, 2021

This course was very informative and helped us understand the basic knowledge about cancer and how it has been a devastating diseases for everyone worlwide. This course is perfect for anyone who wants to know the etiology of cancer.

创建者 Rae R

Jun 4, 2020

Although I completed all course material, very frustrating that I could not complete the course without paying for a certificate. Out of the 6 courses I am taking, this course is the only one requiring this. Disappointing.

创建者 Eric S

Sep 3, 2018

Very informational and a helpful introduction. Structured very well and is easy to complete assignments. However the quizzes sometimes ask for minute details that do not result in good retention of the information.

创建者 Anna W C

Jul 1, 2020

Pretty good, shorter than some other courses I've taken. I think it should be spiced up more because I almost fell asleep once and that the quizzes should be more difficult but other than that, great course.

创建者 Nicole M

Aug 16, 2016

I think this was a very good course and I definitely got out of it what I expected. I think anyone interested in advancing their knowledge on the general basics of cancer, this is a good place to start.

创建者 Ishak Z

May 30, 2020

I benefited hugely from this course although I don't have background in clinical practice. The introduction to Medical imagery was a little bit challenging for me, It could've been further simplified.

创建者 Rebal N

Feb 11, 2020

i enjoyed the information gthat i have learned in this course. however, I already learnt the majority of these information i my university. hope that there is more detailed course about cancer

创建者 Alaa H B E

May 21, 2020

Very interesting course for one have to be a good fighters against cancer ,first step and be strong , I hope in future give more about genetic of cancer.

Thank you very much.

创建者 Martina S

Oct 18, 2019

Thank you, it was a nice course, my first coursera. I find lectures quite general but definitely interesting. Good starting material. There is always space for improvement :)

创建者 Amy C

Apr 13, 2018

Good basic introduction to cancer biology, some of the information was a little dry but all in all worthwhile. Some prior knowledge of basic biological concepts needed.

创建者 Jose A d A R

Jan 8, 2021

Content is tailored to the general audience but a some lectures are spoken at a very high pace, which I though made it a bit difficult to catch all the information.

创建者 Roberto L D

Apr 8, 2017

It was a great course form my favorite university, thanks very much for giving us this types of courses, I would like to be tested as a free course, but I coudn't

创建者 Dr. A B

Oct 22, 2019

This is a great course for those interested in gaining more basic clarity on this topic. I would recommend it to all with a need for more information on Cancer.