Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,207 个评分
469 个审阅

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

筛选依据:

426 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 450 个评论(共 458 个)

创建者 Amy C

Apr 13, 2018

Good basic introduction to cancer biology, some of the information was a little dry but all in all worthwhile. Some prior knowledge of basic biological concepts needed.

创建者 Karima B

Apr 25, 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot. Some of the lecturers spoke too quickly or in an overly complicated manner making the lessons hard to follow. But overall, this is a great introduction to the subject and can be completed much more quickly than suggested.

创建者 Deleted A

Jul 09, 2017

Its a good course that outlines the basics of cancer biology. Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding cancer.

创建者 Renata Z D

May 02, 2017

El curso es muy educativo sin embargo me hubiera parecido importante profundizar un poco más en cada tema.

创建者 Akshaya R

Jan 21, 2018

It was a knowledgeable experience

创建者 Angel Z

Apr 24, 2019

I really like the class in a way how the class is structured, introducing common types of cancers, hallmarks, development process etc. I have learned a lot! The only thing I wish for the class is less technical or more time in explaining terminology etc.

创建者 ZIHAN X

Apr 27, 2019

Repetition can be reduced.

创建者 Humera S

Jun 23, 2019

It was very interesting. but the recent critiques of cancer Hallmarks and theories related to cancer heterogeneity should be included

创建者 Preksha J

Jul 28, 2019

great course enjoyed thoroughly the entire video series will continue to do different courses

创建者 purvank

Jun 09, 2019

the course was easy and super helpful.

创建者 Alexander J S

Sep 14, 2019

I did a module, just like this during my undergraduate days. Whilst I found it quite basic and just a refresher, the content is well presented and clear.

创建者 Martina S

Oct 18, 2019

Thank you, it was a nice course, my first coursera. I find lectures quite general but definitely interesting. Good starting material. There is always space for improvement :)

创建者 Иван А С

Feb 21, 2019

Too simple for that price. For very beginners.

创建者 Charandeep J

Nov 18, 2018

Videos could be better, too short and narrated robotically

创建者 Jade B

Sep 05, 2016

Not done... All 5?

创建者 Laura W

Aug 13, 2017

This course was overall a nice overview of the material. I found the subject matter interesting and I liked the mix of subjects from biology to clinical methods. I am mainly interested in the biology of cancer, but I found it quite nice to also learn a bit about treatments and imaging. The reason I am only giving it three stars is because I wished that their were some written study materials or some recommendations on further reading or activities to help re-inforce the material in the lectures. The lectures sometimes felt a bit rushed, particularly the ones with a lot of new terminology and it was difficult to feel like I was retaining the information.

创建者 Patrina L

Jun 11, 2016

I found this course useful and appropriate in the material offered and the assessed questions as an introduction and an update in cancer biology for CPD purposes. It is rather disappointing that the final grade achieved is not printed on the certificate. For A$65 to join the course and not have the full information such as the hours involved and the final grade achieved makes it very disappointing not to reflect the effort I put in as well as tricky to include this course as part of a CPD program.

创建者 Lukas P

Apr 16, 2016

I think that the course itself is very interesting and useful, but unfortunately you have to purchase the course straight away to be able to do the tests.

创建者 Randy C

May 19, 2016

Tough call on this. The course itself is excellent [5] but the "money grab, you must pay attitude" is horrible [0].

创建者 Deleted A

Jun 23, 2016

I would prefer to see the speaker during the lecture.

创建者 vell n

May 23, 2017

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

创建者 Daniel N

Sep 02, 2016

Very good introduction. light-weight explanations.

Better animations and videos could enhanced the learning process.

questions are too easy.

Needs more complex tasks to integrates the different sections together.

创建者 Liliana C P M

Sep 28, 2017

Superficial information/knowledge and boring presentation.

I think we should be able to do the graduate tests and purchase the course in the end of it.

创建者 Gerald V

May 23, 2016

I wish that the classifications of the major cancer groups were more descriptive. concerning the treatment for different types of lung cancer for example. Nothing is mentioned about childhood cancers or the area of lymphomas. I realize that this is an overview of cancer but cancer cell biology and current treatment practices based on immunologic findings were not given the coverage they deserve.

创建者 Ivan T

Jul 13, 2017

The content is uneven. Lecturers are generally good, but they speak to the limited collection of static slides and often just read slide contents. Given that slide graphics is repetetive (there are probably 10 images overall that are reused over and over), a lot is left to the imagination. Overall amount of content is quite low for 6 week course. E.g. one of the weeks only has 15minutes of video and a 10-question quiz.

Quizzes and in-video questions seem like they were prepared by different people altogether. There are spelling mistakes, there are terms used during quizzes which have not been used during the videos, some of the questions are just poorly worded or bad from grammar point of view. Generally they are useful nevertheless.

If you don't set your expectations too high (this is no Andrew Ng's course by no means) and come with the desire to learn basics about biology of cancer, you will learn just that and upon completion will certainly know more than any non-medical person around you.