Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
4,314 个评分
901 条评论

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

筛选依据:

776 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 800 个评论(共 883 个)

创建者 Angel Z

Apr 24, 2019

I really like the class in a way how the class is structured, introducing common types of cancers, hallmarks, development process etc. I have learned a lot! The only thing I wish for the class is less technical or more time in explaining terminology etc.

创建者 1813253

Oct 23, 2019

Really an excellent course and course material and the way of teaching.Thank you very much for all the instructors and appreciating their effort in this work.I Learned lot about the screening, diagnosis, staging and treatment of Cancer.

Thanks a lot.

创建者 Venkat R R

Jul 01, 2020

The course is a good intro to cancer biology and a refresher to people with previous cancer knowledge. It covers the cancer cell hallmarks and the steps in metastasis. Also there is a session on cancer imaging and widely used treatment options.

创建者 Nabajit K B

Jun 03, 2016

So far it's a very good course. I always wanted to learn about cancer as it took two lives from my family. I would give it a FIVE STAR if the professors could explain more elaborately as I have very little experience in this field. Thanks a lot

创建者 Mohit A

Jun 13, 2017

The course can include a little advanced training like showing some surgery videos and appropriate pictures and how treatment is actually given to the patients. This may help basic science researchers to understand more of the clinical part.

创建者 Prejith S

Mar 05, 2019

I am a postgraduate student of Oral Medicine and Radiology. Cancer is part of our curriculum and I found the lesson on hallmarks of cancer interesting. This course is a good introduction before you leap into detailed books on the subject.

创建者 Ayan B

May 30, 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot of things from it. First 5 weeks were very good, but the last week was a little advanced. I think I would have understood better if I the videos had a little more explanation. But overall it was good.

创建者 Rae R

Jun 05, 2020

Although I completed all course material, very frustrating that I could not complete the course without paying for a certificate. Out of the 6 courses I am taking, this course is the only one requiring this. Disappointing.

创建者 Eric S

Sep 03, 2018

Very informational and a helpful introduction. Structured very well and is easy to complete assignments. However the quizzes sometimes ask for minute details that do not result in good retention of the information.

创建者 Anna W C

Jul 01, 2020

Pretty good, shorter than some other courses I've taken. I think it should be spiced up more because I almost fell asleep once and that the quizzes should be more difficult but other than that, great course.

创建者 Nicole M

Aug 16, 2016

I think this was a very good course and I definitely got out of it what I expected. I think anyone interested in advancing their knowledge on the general basics of cancer, this is a good place to start.

创建者 Ishak Z

May 31, 2020

I benefited hugely from this course although I don't have background in clinical practice. The introduction to Medical imagery was a little bit challenging for me, It could've been further simplified.

创建者 Rebal N

Feb 11, 2020

i enjoyed the information gthat i have learned in this course. however, I already learnt the majority of these information i my university. hope that there is more detailed course about cancer

创建者 Alaa H B E

May 21, 2020

Very interesting course for one have to be a good fighters against cancer ,first step and be strong , I hope in future give more about genetic of cancer.

Thank you very much.

创建者 Martina S

Oct 18, 2019

Thank you, it was a nice course, my first coursera. I find lectures quite general but definitely interesting. Good starting material. There is always space for improvement :)

创建者 Amy C

Apr 13, 2018

Good basic introduction to cancer biology, some of the information was a little dry but all in all worthwhile. Some prior knowledge of basic biological concepts needed.

创建者 Roberto L D

Apr 08, 2017

It was a great course form my favorite university, thanks very much for giving us this types of courses, I would like to be tested as a free course, but I coudn't

创建者 Dr. A B

Oct 22, 2019

This is a great course for those interested in gaining more basic clarity on this topic. I would recommend it to all with a need for more information on Cancer.

创建者 Helen L

Jul 31, 2017

If there is a more detail description about that different kind of the six most common cancers that would be great. The 10 hallmarks of cancers are very useful.

创建者 stephanie a

Jun 18, 2020

very good and insightful course.it has helped me a lot to gain understanding of basics in cancer biology even though i am an undergraduate biochemistry student.

创建者 Matthew B

Jul 13, 2020

The information in this course is great. I only wish the assessments were more comprehensive and challenging to test your true understanding of the material.

创建者 Ranim A Z

May 13, 2020

screening and treatment parts were hard for me because I'm not a specialist, yet the course is a perfect introduction for non-specialized interested people

创建者 Sudarson B

Nov 17, 2019

It is a basic course to get you interested in the field of cancer biology. Suitable for undergrads and above. The course delivered on what they promised.

创建者 Alexander J S

Sep 14, 2019

I did a module, just like this during my undergraduate days. Whilst I found it quite basic and just a refresher, the content is well presented and clear.

创建者 Khin S O

Nov 23, 2016

This is very interesting course of basic of cancelling pathway and the biology of cancer that can fundamental to the study of research of cancer. Thanks.