Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,305 个评分
491 个审阅

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

筛选依据:

251 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 275 个评论(共 476 个)

创建者 SaRa A A T

Dec 19, 2016

Thanks professors. Great course & good efforts.

创建者 Kartiksachdeva

Aug 30, 2016

very intresting course

创建者 Shruti S

Feb 11, 2017

Thank you so much for providing such a interesting course, especially thanks for financial support, I will be always there for courser, cant forget the great he

创建者 Esther Z

Jul 14, 2017

Como introducción me parece muy completa.

创建者 VICTOR F Y A

Nov 05, 2016

MUY BUENO

创建者 Pavithra K

Jul 09, 2016

I was working at a lab last summer where I worked on breast cancer cells. A lot of the signalling pathways taught as examples in this course is what I worked on. I loved this course. The Professors are fantastic and very knowledgeable. I would recommend this course for anyone who is very passionate about cancer biology.

创建者 Lana G

Apr 13, 2016

Excellent introduction to subject matter.

创建者 Juan G C M

Jun 26, 2016

I did not think to find an on line free course about biology of cancer nonetheless this one is great.

创建者 Tom M

Oct 22, 2016

Thanks so much! Professor Kenneth Pienta and your team, you are so well prepared and the presentation is empowering. One is able to follow the step by step flow of information and tips. I enjoyed this course. As a health educator/promoter, it helps me act as a good source of information. Thank you once again.

创建者 Brenda G F

Feb 20, 2017

Great course!

创建者 Mohanaa S

May 28, 2016

very interesting course..!!!

创建者 Lidemarie v d W

Mar 05, 2017

Excellent course. Introduction to cancer at a general biological and pathofysiology level, as well as specifically in terms of risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment of the six most common types of cancer.

创建者 Massiel C

Dec 08, 2017

Entendí muchas cosas y te hace consiente

创建者 Levan C

Jul 07, 2017

Very nice introduction reviwing all common theories of cancer development, metastasis. All common cancers and therapies were also reviewed.

创建者 Pierre J

Mar 22, 2017

Nice course.

创建者 Swetha K

May 25, 2016

Fabulous!!!

Absolutely loved every bit ...was a great learning experience!!!

Thank you ! :D

创建者 marihan

Oct 08, 2016

This Course is so interesting , it is full of alot of treasures and alot of informations. Thank You

创建者 Hassnain Q

Jul 17, 2017

The course provided me a broader knowledge in the field of cancer biology. It also allowed me to explore the various aspects of cancer biology through different resources that were available for the students.

创建者 Frank S

Nov 20, 2017

A great intro level course. Open the gate to dip deeper. Expecting the following courses.

创建者 Dominique F

Jul 05, 2016

Useful for health professions!

创建者 Danae G V

Nov 22, 2016

Excellent curse.

创建者 Zhang Y J

Sep 19, 2016

The course is quite simple and easy to follow. Very suitable for students who have no understandings in this area. The workload is also small so I suggest those who were major in biology or chemistry you dont have to follow this course.

创建者 Dr N D

Oct 14, 2016

The course was excellent, with very good structure, with the right level of difficulty/complexity, with very good slides & discussions. The only couple of points for potential amendments that I would propose is a) avert from calling/mentioning drugs with their brand names, but rather use the active ingredient names only, and b) perhaps providing resources for further reading (i.e web links etc) to all material after each lecture, like you did for week 6 final lecture.

创建者 Benjamin T

Jun 18, 2016

Very excellent introduction to the biology of cancer from a high level University.

创建者 Sofia M

Jan 04, 2017

Very interesting for those that are not specialists and cancer and want to understand better it biology.