Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,149 个评分
457 个审阅

课程概述

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

热门审阅

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

筛选依据:

126 - Introduction to the Biology of Cancer 的 150 个评论(共 443 个)

创建者 saptarshi s

Jul 09, 2017

Great Course, enjoyed it thoroughly.

创建者 Anna R

Mar 11, 2018

A great course, very basic though. I haven't purchased a certificate as i only wanted to get familiar with the topic. Biology of cancer is very interesting to me but absolutely useless in my job)

So this course is absolutely designed for me - there is all important information given in a very simple way.

创建者 Hossam E

Dec 05, 2017

the course is very informative and interesting ..also presentation is very good

创建者 Marcelo

Jun 10, 2018

Muy buen curso, muy nutrido. Los profesores explicaron todo de manera muy profunda. Lo volvería a hacer si pudiera.

创建者 Mostafa M

Sep 12, 2017

it was a great course with a very rich information

创建者 Lena N

Jan 22, 2018

It was a comprehensive review of the development of cancer. I only wish we had more time to go into the specific genetics of the genes related to the development of cancer.

创建者 Circe H E

Aug 02, 2017

Excelente curso introductorio

创建者 Zoe

Jun 17, 2017

Super informative and not not terribly challenging if you put in the work.

创建者 Usama A K

Jun 01, 2017

I found this course very fruitful for me . I got extra knowledge by that. Coursera is doing well to help the students to increase their extra knowledge. very Appreciable (Y)

创建者 Michel R

Jan 04, 2018

awesome course

创建者 Omar S

Dec 30, 2016

This course is absolutely ecstatic because the professor is nice and he always comes up with the smartest and most complex information a topic during the lesson!

创建者 Bio O E

Apr 24, 2017

i think this is avery good course thank you for it

创建者 Kaio M R

Jul 27, 2017

ótimo

创建者 Camilla M F

Aug 11, 2017

Great!

创建者 NISHAT F

Jul 06, 2017

It was a great experience!!!

创建者 Mai K A

Aug 17, 2017

very good

创建者 Nahla N

Oct 15, 2016

amazing course ..thanks

创建者 Joanna K

Feb 06, 2017

Great explanation of basics of cancer biology. It helped me a lot in understanding of the process of metastasis and cancer development.

创建者 Jason L

Jun 21, 2017

Love it, easy to use and understand too. Definitely recommend it

创建者 Nelson D A N

Nov 06, 2017

Simplesmente Excelente !

创建者 Fahimehsadat S

Jul 23, 2017

I just want to say thanks a million, the course has been well designed and taught. all modules are really informative.

创建者 Muhammed N A E

Jan 06, 2017

it is very informative and useful course for me

many thanks for all of you

创建者 Danny H

Oct 24, 2016

Great introductory course to cancer. I love how the course includes the clinical side as well as the biological implications of cancer and provides the information in a very simplistic style. The coursework is not overwhelming and I loved this course.

创建者 Ritaisabel V

Aug 09, 2017

Excelente curso, buenas bases sobre el cáncer.

创建者 Saheed O A

Apr 18, 2017

Good topic great teachers