Chevron Left
返回到 English for Career Development

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Career Development 的评价和反馈

4.8
12,473 个评分

课程概述

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

EB

Jul 3, 2020

Thank you for letting us to use this opportunity at this pandemic situation.

I find this course has a lot example which is unstandable and illustration and so efficient for newcomer and job seeker.

KA

May 3, 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

筛选依据:

126 - English for Career Development 的 150 个评论(共 4,788 个)

创建者 WAFAA K S

Jun 6, 2020

I am excited to have wonderful learning by joining this course. I hope this knowledge will prove a milestone in the career development of all fellows. I strongly recommend this course to the professionals who want to learn the tools and techniques to start or improve them. I am thankful to the faculty for designing specific course contents and presenting in such way that the learner feels no difficulty in understanding

I participated in this course through Duhok Polytechnic University. So, Please can I be granted a certificate of participation for free

创建者 Kristi R

Jan 30, 2021

This course is a wonderful tool for everyone no matter if you´re just entering job market and preparing your first resume and cover letter or are already working. The whole job search topics has been wrapped into one well structured program which is easy to follow thanks to the videos, control questions, tests, games and assignments. I especially liked the idea that it was required to review also other´s work. This truly gave a key to pay attention to main indicators, but also taught to respectful, constructive and encouraging in the feedback given.

创建者 Devpreet S

Jun 2, 2020

This was very interesting and valuable for me. It helps me how to represent myself to get dream job in job market at international and national level, help me how to build up the social network in the world and how to improve your communication skill to compete and make intention in the crowd in the job market.

I thanks to my Instructors who help me in this regards and share their valuable experience in the lecture. Again thanks to Coursera give the chance to earn another valuable skill that helps me to improve in my professional and personal life.

创建者 Heba A H

Apr 20, 2020

I thought it will be an easy course, repeated information and I will finish it in no time, but what I actually found that this course is very rich with new information, and made me see the CV and interview processes from a different angel, letting me get the new updates of how the process is going, and I discovered that I have an out dated information, which finally led to dramatic change in my CV, and now it look away better than before.

Special Thanks to the amazing professors and for Coursera for giving us such a chance for change

创建者 Shariya M

May 17, 2020

I really appreciate the content of this course and it gives me different aspects of how I can prepare a resume and cover letter, the Do's and Don't's. I am becoming more confident and able to prepare resumes as per the job requirements, how to build with the professionals the relevant areas, how my small talk can make a big difference, how to grab the attention of the employer through the resume, all I can say every in's and out's is explain here elaborately. Moreover, the instructors of this course deserve a thumbs up from me.

创建者 Jhon A M

Apr 25, 2020

In my opinion this course is amazing because it uses very clear information and its sources are very interesting so i have many comments to recommend this course first one I could learned how I could be successful job seeker second one it gave me a lot of knowledge about how job market works when one employer needs a good candidate so it puts an advertisement to look for it and how i could find it if I am a goos match for it , also it gave good information to realized my self what i want to do in my short future time, thanks

创建者 Amnuaysak T

Jun 29, 2020

One of the good English course I ever attended. I learnt how to properly write resume, cover letter, preparing ourself for a job interview , and norm commonly accepted and practice in the U.S. and many other countries.

University of Pennsylvania and Coursera have created a good course which is useful and beneficial to all job seekers.

Thank you all people concerned to make this course available to many people who need good , constructive, beneficial in finding jobs or even who just want to improve his English language skills.

创建者 Hasan A

Aug 10, 2020

I thoroughly and rigorously loved this course. I'm very glad to have completed this course. I got to learn a lot regarding the job interviews and how to make a professional resume and cover letter. Although this course was simply amazing, it was pretty easy for me. In fact I had no troubles at all completing all the assignments before the deadline. I was expecting more of a challenge. In the future, I'd like to know the difficulty level of a course before enrolling in it. I hope coursera helps make it pretty clear.

创建者 Chrysavgi P

Feb 1, 2020

As non-native English speaker this course helped me to develop certain skills such as following the right steps to job search process, application and interview. In addition to this, I have enriched my English Vocabulary with regards to Career Development and related terms and definitions. One of the things that I liked most was the combination of interactive features and relevant knowledge especially the instructors' videos because they were pleasant and beneficial at the same time. I do recommend this course.

创建者 NAGA V S

Apr 22, 2020

After taking the course ,my perspective view about online courses have changed , the course was made in such a way ,it was simple to learn and understand , i really enjoyed the journey ,my resume is now set to one page ,and I clearly follow the instructions while applying for job interviews , separate resumes are prepared , And ensure covering letter has been sent out for every job application , if required i come back for any clarification

i have put a recommendation of the courses available in my circle .

创建者 Diego S

Sep 15, 2020

That's a good opportunity to increase the writing, understanding, and learning new subjects, sentences and words. Don't underestimate the tittle "English for Career". You really need all of those explanations, even if you are not a job seeker or an employer.

I also could found many specific and important information so different from my country

I am looking forward to the next course made by this institution.

Thank you all, specifically to my teachers Brian McManus and Robyn Turner!

Cheers from Brazil!

创建者 Bojana P

Mar 25, 2018

I am so gratefull for being a part of this great course. As a 24 young person, who is looking for a job, it was so important to learn about job applications,CV-s,cover letters and the most asked questions by employers. All those things i found here, and the most important thing i learned it.

Thanks you for organising this course, and to be a part of professional development of young people.

You are great, and i will continue with the next part, more complex and more advanced on your site.

创建者 Amare A

Jun 4, 2020

The course English for Career development is the most useful to improve the challenge on the dynamic job search. The course bring a lot of learning from the simplest to more challenging move. This course also link with other professionals in the glob with different background to review assignments, and this also a good learning each other. The instructors and their education methodology, language and procedure is very smart and I'm not tired even reading long for this training.

Thanks,

创建者 Tharindu D

Sep 4, 2021

I learned English language and a lot of things related to developing my career within this course. I am truly grateful for Coursera for offering this great opportunity to me. With all my heart, thank you instructors for making this course interesting. This is a truly amazing course for people who want to develop their skills in English language and career development. I recommend this course for everyone who is willing to learn and improve their knowledge on English. Thank you!!!

创建者 Lucas F d C M

May 2, 2019

This is a great course to better understand the hiring process and the skill the candidate should develop and explore.

It's good for people who live in the US but also for who does not because of the exchange of information between students the teachers promove, and also because many lessons are focused about the candidate her/himself that does not matter much where the person is.

I appreciate the opportunity and strongly recommend this course for those who are seeking for a job.

创建者 Nay L A

Oct 2, 2020

This is very awesome English for Career Development and I've learned a number of knowledge about grammar, communication, creating writing, resume, cover letter, interview, and many more in this course. This course is well designed and develops many videos, games, and quiz. Both lectures are specialist for career development that can able to understand clearly. From my personal perspective, this could take the person who is actively looking for a job or fresh graduate student.

创建者 Steve S

Aug 19, 2021

Designed primarily for English as a 2nd (or further) language, this course slowly works through the process of creating a resume', cover letter and the interview process. Its slow and gradual and gets in between the teeth of the opportunity to get ready and apply and find and ask for a job. Its all directed for the job search and aquisition.

More English for foreigners would help but this course focuses on the job aquisition process and is clear for what it says it is.

创建者 Baddegamage O K

Nov 25, 2020

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I learned a lot from this course. This course is really very valuable for my career. And this course was well explained to us by those two teachers. I studied with great interest. I would like to thank those teachers and the organizing committee and Google for this course again. I successfully completed English Career For Development course.Again thank you very much..I highly recommend this course for everyone...

Best regards,

Oshadie kanisha.

创建者 Mrcelebratelife

Jul 10, 2021

This is a really useful course! Thank you instructors for your dedication in the preparation of this course. Complex concepts are simplified for easier understanding. Video duration are great for easy viewing. In a time where job stability is compromised to a rather large extent, I would encourage job seekers or even any working professionals to attend this online course as they would reap the benefits long after the course has ended. Once again, a million thanks!

创建者 Aleksandr S

May 13, 2020

It was interesting experience to try this course. I had known many new things about job-searching process in US in comparison with my country. All material from this course was easy to perceive. I didn't have any problem with English in this course, it was easy and understandably for non-native speakers like me. My level of English between B2-C1. I definitely recommend it for everyone especially for someone who thinks about job in US. Thanks to the authors!

创建者 Krishna P P

May 28, 2020

Among many courses, English for Career Development is a course designed so carefully keeping the learners in mind. This is an excellent course if you are the beginner and if English is not your mother tongue. If you are searching courses and feeling difficult to choose one, this is the best of the bests. Missing this course is missing blood in body in regard to online courses. So I recommend you to involve without any delay.

Krishna prasad prasain

Nepal

创建者 melesse t

Nov 25, 2021

Hello ,i have followed these course efficiently for more than two months in that i have got astonishing skills , grammar and speaking improvements and more else. Finally i have completed the course today. So as you said initially these course is free course with certificate , that you help me by sending certificate to use for several scholar applications. Dear/sear please help me i have scholar application soon on way. You great helps needs me now.

创建者 DANIELA-IONELA A

May 31, 2020

Thank you so much for this great course that increased my english knowledge,made me understand what are the employers views and what essential skills,hoit should be a correct resume,cover letter or interview that can help me get the job I want to apply for.Wish all of the team best of luck and I will definitely reccomend this amazing course to my friends,family and other people looking for a great solution to improve English for Career Development!

创建者 Gavrila A

May 18, 2020

Hi!

I enjoyed the activities involved in this Career Development course.

I have to thank Robyn and Brian for their professional presentations. Also, mixing and alternating the content -text, videos, quiz, puzzles - helped to fix what has been presented.

Great achievements, in a professional manner! I hope I will encounter many other interesting courses on the Coursera site!

I recommend this site to all people interested to keep learning and active!

创建者 M H

May 3, 2020

It was fun going through each part of the course and I learnt a lot from the course.Right from knowing the basic teminology used in job seeking to writing a resume and cover letter followed by ways of networking to tips on presenting good interview to make a good first impression,the course is well built with every small detail required.Also presenting subtitles to videos helped the students like us who are not well versed with US english.