Chevron Left
返回到 The Truth About Cats and Dogs

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 The Truth About Cats and Dogs 的评价和反馈

4.7
804 个评分
222 条评论

课程概述

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

热门审阅

HR

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

MB

Dec 07, 2019

I am enjoying this course and am learning quite a bit. Behavior is one of my main interests as a trainer as I think understanding it helps to design training and living programs for the animal.

筛选依据:

26 - The Truth About Cats and Dogs 的 50 个评论(共 219 个)

创建者 Dagmar K ( n B )

Jun 14, 2018

I was mainly a dog person and I am glad I'm starting understand cats more. I didn't know many things in cat's area which was confusing for both sides. I am giving 5 stars because I can easily use everything what was said here and apply it in every day encounters with feline friends.

创建者 Jodie L K

Mar 12, 2018

What a wonderful way to learn about caring well for your cat or dog! This simple course is packed FULL of useful information. I was able to take this information and run with it - making use of it immediately. I will recommend this course to everyone who has a cat or dog!

创建者 Jennifer S

Jul 19, 2017

Very insightful, especially the myths of the alpha dog theory. The lecturers were very engaging as well as the videos where we see examples and reinforces what you learn before taking the assessments. The resources were also really interesting and I checked out a few.

创建者 Mav C R

May 31, 2018

Very interesting course with a lot of great insight into the world of our pet cats and dogs, and well as street cats and dogs that we should be responsible for within our communities. This is a great foundation class for anyone who owns or wants to own a pet.

创建者 Ya H C L

Mar 24, 2019

I have great time while watching all the videos with very cute dogs / cats there, and surely i had 5 cats before, they were family, but i didn't know we should give each one food container and even spread apart, so now I learn and really very informative!

创建者 LaTonia W

Jul 15, 2019

This was a great course full of valuable information about cats and dogs. It includes lots of truth dispelling the myths about them. I'd recommend this course to anyone wanting to know more about these creatures we chose as our companion animals.

创建者 Sophie P K

May 28, 2018

I loved The Truth About Cats and Dogs and I want to take this course again sometime! It was a very inspiring course and I can say my dog will now love my company! I highly recommend this course to people who want to improve their pets' welfare!

创建者 Lucia G

Dec 01, 2019

It is really helpful to learn and understand our dogs and cats physical and emotional needs, which often are different from ours, and understand their verbal and non verbal communication to build a healthy and happy relationship with them.

创建者 Cheryl H

Aug 11, 2017

Really great course! I learned a lot and I feel like a lot of what I have learned can be used in my career. It was great to hear everything put into a clear and understandable way and the additional resources/websites were very helpful!

创建者 Vanessa M C

Oct 08, 2019

Excellent introductory course to learn more about ethology and continue learning. Updated, practical and very, very interesting, that has refreshed my previous knowledge and added others that I did not know (I love the acronym PETS!)

创建者 Tony S

Nov 27, 2017

Very well structured and easy to follow with key issues consistently emphasised and opportunities for discussion. Quiz assessments were a great way of checking understanding of the materaisl and videos were clear and well presented.

创建者 Muhammad F A

Aug 25, 2019

This course helped me acquire a basic understanding of cat and dog behaviour, a topic I'm very interested in exploring. Thanks to all the instructors who put in their effort to deliver this course. It was easy and interesting both.

创建者 Ida S N M

Jun 18, 2017

I have owned cats my entire life, but I learned so much from this course! For example, I had no idea how much cats hunt in the wild. This course has already changed how I manage my animals, and it has far surpassed my expectations

创建者 Samantha N

Sep 28, 2019

I very much enjoyed this course! It was very organized and easy to follow! I would recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about dog and cat behavior, socialization, and more interesting lessons about your furry friend(s)!

创建者 Fiona B

Feb 20, 2018

This was a very good course for finding out about behaviours and the reason for different signals. They don’t always mean what we think they do and this course gives us a clearer idea of what we should be paying attention to.

创建者 Steven R

Aug 19, 2017

Excellent course, highly recommend. You gonna learn a lot of worth info about the life od your cat and dog. If you are interesed in pet wellfare and how to apply in your daily life, this a perfect point to start.

创建者 Saira T

Nov 26, 2017

Excellent course to understand how dogs and cats are communicating with us. Whether it is your own pets or one's you may meet in your life, strays, owned, in rescues or shelters they all need some understanding.

创建者 Shira B S

Sep 11, 2017

I liked it and did learn from it. I hope to have now a better relationship and understanding of my pets (especially the cats that I am less involved with.. it is my husband who is being their main parent)

创建者 Bettina S

Jul 30, 2019

Thanks a lot for that interesting course! As a cat owner I knew quite a lot already, but there were some very interesting insights and findings. Learning more about dog behaviour was also very helpful.

创建者 Heather R

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

创建者 Mary B

Dec 07, 2019

I am enjoying this course and am learning quite a bit. Behavior is one of my main interests as a trainer as I think understanding it helps to design training and living programs for the animal.

创建者 Cristina N

Mar 04, 2018

This is a very informative, interesting and well prepared on-line course with lots of documentation that one can read later on in order to get more knowledgeable about dogs and cats. Thanks!

创建者 Xin S

May 24, 2017

A quick stab at some base concerns of animal welfare issues nowadays focus on cats and dogs, good start point to view with objective and scientific measures for anyone that is interested.

创建者 Melinda M

Jul 03, 2019

This course was informative on many street and pet dogs and cats. I do want to know more about the shelter element of how these animals can be better suited in a shelter environment.

创建者 Julia K

Oct 15, 2017

Thank you! I do enjoyed this course. I got a lot of new information about cats stress, dogs and cats welfare. I will use this knowledge with my pets and in my dogtraining practice.