Chevron Left
返回到 鸡的行为与福利

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 鸡的行为与福利 的评价和反馈

4.7
718 个评分
267 条评论

课程概述

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

热门审阅

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

WA

Oct 19, 2020

i learned a lot of knowledge from this course because it is very critical and important part of my field related to Poultry Behaviour and welfare\n\ni really thanks ful to coursea community

筛选依据:

26 - 鸡的行为与福利 的 50 个评论(共 265 个)

创建者 ABDUL H A K

Aug 22, 2020

THIS COURSE WAS AWESOME , AND GAVE US A NICE EXPOSURE TOWARDS BIRD LIFE AND THE WAY IT IS BEEN TAUGHT TO US WAS EXTRAORDINARY , SPECIAL VOTE OF THANKS TO MY INSTRUCTOR SHE TAUGHT US SO WELL AND GAVE MAXIMUM INFO , THANKS TO COURSERA FOR PROVIDING US THIS SPECIAL PLATFORM TO LEARN AND EXPLORE.......

THANK YOU THANK YOU VERY MUCH

创建者 Andrew P

Apr 29, 2020

Having just commenced a role as a weekend poultry worker,with absolutely zero pre employment knowledge & understanding of chicken welfare this course has really fulfilled my immediate needs. The delivery was clear and the content and quiz sections are challenging enough to make you really take note of the information.

创建者 Simon V d b

Jan 25, 2019

The course consisted of a smart alternation between lecture videos, demonstrative videos, interviews and documents. The instructor spoke clearly and at a thoughtful pace and I appreciate how the videos were filmed on-site. The course also provided tips for anyone keeping chickens in a backyard coop.

创建者 Troy S

Feb 16, 2017

I enjoyed the fact that the background was the real environment. The material was short and to the point and easy to follow yet offered deeper learning with the extra articles that were offered. I was amazed at some of the statistics and that gave me more appreciation of chickens. Thank you.

创建者 Sandra S

Jul 23, 2020

Excellent cours pour ceux et celles qui désirent n apprendre plus sur l'élevage de poules et leur mieux-être. J'aime qu'on ait des exemples de plusieurs parties du monde, pour pouvoir appliquer à notre contexte. C'est un must pour tous ceux et celles qui ont des poules à la maison.

创建者 Kelsey M

Jul 05, 2017

The woman who does the lectures for this course is thorough, well spoken, clear, and consistent. I also felt the the course information was relevant and tailored the the needs of the participant. Take it, even if it's just for fun. It wasn't terribly time consuming whatsoever.

创建者 Leslie S

Jun 12, 2016

Very worthwhile. Great overview of pertinent behavioral, environmental, physiological and biological factors influencing chicken behavior and welfare. Good videos with supplementary materials that added value to the course. Thank you for making this available through MOOC.

创建者 Cynthia C

Jan 08, 2018

I learned a lot! I only wish that there is a section that focuses solely on keeping chickens in the backyard (comparison of breeds, examples of coops, types of feeds, etc.), although I'm not sure if that would fall under chicken behavior and welfare :) Thank you!

创建者 Kimberly M

Nov 27, 2016

I started this course knowing nothing about caring for chickens and have completed it feeling like I now have the knowledge required to properly care for a flock. I have also answered some of my friends questions, leading to the improvement of their flocks lives.

创建者 Tamsin C

Feb 01, 2018

Excellent information on how chickens see the world and interact, the problems that can occur when keeping them and how to resolve these problems. Also the stark reality of modern farming. Recommended and required knowledge for all chicken owners and consumers.

创建者 Susan E E

Feb 18, 2018

Second time taking the course. It's that good. Practical information and very well presented. I have put into practice (for my backyard flock) many of the practices covered. Videos great, reading material great, recommended book a super reference. Thanks!

创建者 CIRO A

Aug 18, 2020

Cordial saludo.

El contenido del curso cumplió con mis expectativas, les agradezco que me haya permitido participar en el mismo.

Solo hablo español, pero pude acceder a los contenidos del curso usando el traductor de Google.

Atentamente

CIRO ALFONSO DÍAZ GALVIS

创建者 Anna P P C

Aug 20, 2018

If you are looking for very a very detailed knowledge about behaviour this is not what you are looking for, but if you want to have the general idea to start to get involved deeper in poultry farming is ideal, although it is perfect to start a backyard flock.

创建者 Maho C

Aug 01, 2017

The course is very easy to follow and informative. The advice I received was timely and clear, so my learning experience here made it so easy. The course structure was very good, and the videos were helpful. The instructor is clear on her explanation.

创建者 Michele

Jun 04, 2017

I've raised chickens all my life. This course has given me much insight into the rearing of chickens for egg production and/or meat. I have been given a more in depth view of problems with raising chickens and their behaviors and causes.

创建者 Melinda C

Sep 11, 2020

This is a very thorough course for the small amount of time it takes to complete. This course gave me alot of information that was not only useful to myself but to my clients as well. It allows you to take better care of your chickens.

创建者 Belen V

Apr 07, 2020

This course taught me everything about chickens. I always wanted to start a farm and raise my own chickens but had no idea how, this course explains everything in detail on what a chicken is and the many ways to care for one or many.

创建者 Chris K

Jul 08, 2020

Great course, very informative - I learned a lot of very useful information.

The format of the course material and delivery is brilliant, and enables quick, easy learning and retention.

Thank you for this and all your other courses.

创建者 Stephanie A A

Oct 24, 2016

This is a great introductory course for anyone interested in raising chickens or working in poultry science. Doesn't go much into biology of chickens; just the methods of raising and drawing conclusions based on observations.

创建者 Daniel D

Sep 13, 2016

This course was very very useful for my wife and I (backyard chicken owners). Dr. Sandilands's clear presentation makes it very easy to get the concepts and understand how to apply them in an actual flock. Highly recommended!

创建者 Lillian L

Aug 24, 2017

This course was very interesting and educational. I learned a lot about chickens - why they do things and how to keep chickens healthy. I learned a lot about the welfare of chickens.

Thanks for the great course, Coursera!

创建者 Elijah B

Sep 05, 2016

Very well-explained information is given. Anyone who is a chicken-lover or keeps chickens should take this course. It's not too much to learn. The videos are short and to the point, yet well-explained. A very good course.

创建者 Michelle H

May 27, 2020

Dr. Sandilands is a fantastic instructor -- knowledgeable, great communicator and engaging. I signed up for this course just to see how the concepts were covered. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks!

创建者 Claire M

Apr 19, 2020

Very good intro course about chicken welfare, behaviour, and overview of production industries, especially for animal science or pre-vet students like myself. Would highly recommend. I like that it is self paced too.