Chevron Left
返回到 鸡的行为与福利

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 鸡的行为与福利 的评价和反馈

4.7
550 个评分
208 条评论

课程概述

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

热门审阅

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

筛选依据:

151 - 鸡的行为与福利 的 175 个评论(共 204 个)

创建者 Crystal G

Jun 15, 2016

Learned a lot!

创建者 Wolf

Nov 18, 2019

Good Course

创建者 fernando g u

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent

创建者 U M M M U

May 18, 2020

dazzling

创建者 Raquel B

Oct 19, 2016

Excelent

创建者 Ruben E B

Jun 28, 2016

Great!!

创建者 Rafik S

Aug 07, 2017

thanks

创建者 Emma N

Apr 06, 2020

brill

创建者 Kyros T

Apr 05, 2020

Nice

创建者 Steve E

Sep 15, 2019

I realize this course is offered by the University of Edinburgh, however I wish there was less emphasis on unnecessary facts related to the UK such as "What percentage of chickens were free range in the UK in 2013" which in no way matters to me as someone trying to learn about raising and caring for chickens. That said, I learned A LOT in this course. So many things I did not know that I did not know. Chicken behavior, feeding, watering, transport, feather pecking, as a few examples. I will recommend this course to anyone I meet who asks where to learn more about chickens, raising them, or caring for them.

创建者 Emlynn C

Jul 01, 2017

Course was very dense but well organized so that this 6 week long course can be knocked out in a weekend. Has a lot of different views on methods of poultry farming that are all treated with respect and is a great way to learn the basics of poultry whether it's for commercial or backyard production. Only complaints are that it's test-only, no written or free answer exercises (which may be par for coursera, I wouldn't know) and that treatment options for a few common illnesses/injuries/abnormalities such as being egg bound or egg eating were not discussed

创建者 Johan T

Jun 17, 2016

Very interesting course. Truly enjoyed studying the behaviour of the animals I started appreciating a lot. Nevertheless 4 out of 5 stars because I felt the course is typically focusing on the large scale agro industrial side more then the (increasing number) of small scale/hobby keepers. Also I would have loved to learn more about typical chicken health care issues and how to prevent. All in all very informative and definitely a course I recommend!

创建者 Julián C

Mar 01, 2019

Me fue de muchísima utilidad para mi proceso de enriquecimiento en mi carrera de Medicina Veterinaria y Zootecnia, gracias a que abarca todos los aspectos básicos que acarrean un adecuado bienestar y el consiguiente rendimiento de las aves en los sistemas de explotación existentes. Lo único que echo en falta es más imágenes y/o vídeos explicatorias, en vez de ver a la experta en el área hablando la mayor parte del tiempo.

创建者 Charlotte G

Jul 30, 2016

A very informative and interesting course, a good cover of both behaviour and welfare. Each section was explained well, so no background knowledge was required. I appreciated the additional video content to explain concepts. I would have liked a little more information on disease and nutrition but I understand it is difficult to cover everything in a short course.

创建者 Michelle B W

Jan 10, 2020

This course was extremely interesting and informative, with any technical or complex terms explained. It would have been useful to have more images in the videos to further explain each point, such as examples of the different slaughter methods, etc. I'd highly recommend this course for anyone with an interest in chickens, either personal or professional.

创建者 Paul M

Apr 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course thank you. As a suggested improvement for future courses; access to transcripts for all videos would be a great learning aid. I would be very interested in participating in a similar course focusing on Broiler Behaviour and Welfare - from hatchery to slaughter. Thanks again. Kind regards. Paul Morrell

创建者 Marian v d K

Apr 18, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. I hope to see more animal specific behaviour and welfare courses in the future.

This course mostly covered parts of the poultry industry, I would have enjoyed it even more if non commercial farming was included, like chickens at home or at the children's farm.

创建者 Pauline B

Dec 14, 2016

Honestly, I am absolutely delighted to have access to that course. Information is reliable, strong, you can have access to a huge number of articles, studies... It is well structured. My only regret, is that there is a lack of actual images of the actions and the process described.

创建者 Noah B

Feb 20, 2020

The content was of the course was exceptional and easy to follow. Despite my hectic work schedules, the presentation of the course made it easy to pick up where I left off and enabled me to complete this amazing course. Many thanks.

创建者 Dirk C B

Jan 24, 2017

The individual lectures are kept short and the exams at the end of the week felt "fair".

The course itself is very informative and comprehensive . I learned a lot and I feel somehow ok prepared to keep a few backyard chicken :)

创建者 Jordan K

May 02, 2017

Generally pretty well put together. There were more then a few times some of the videos probably should have been combined into one, so as to be less cluttered. Otherwise overall a pretty pleasant experience.

创建者 Melissa L

Aug 19, 2018

Informative. However sometimes it was hard to hear the lecture over the chicks. I would have also liked a bit more photos or videos of what was being talked about instead of a video of the lecturer

创建者 Caroline C

May 05, 2020

There is some super helpful information in this course, at times it was difficult to maintain concentration with the background noise of the chickens and a monotone speach delivery.

创建者 Zelal ِ A

Sep 08, 2018

The course is fun with valuable content but it needs more illustrations, Talks about behaviors in general but would be desirable if there is more expansion in commercial farms.

创建者 Pritom D

May 18, 2020

On the video section,the process should be shown by technically.It was just about telling the processes.But if the process was shown on the video,it would be more effecient.