Chevron Left
返回到 Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation 的评价和反馈

4.9
172 个评分
57 条评论

课程概述

Chimpanzees are one of our closest living relatives, yet almost nothing was known about their behavior in the wild until Jane Goodall started her groundbreaking study of the chimpanzees of Gombe, Tanzania in 1960. This study continues today, following the same chimpanzee families that Jane Goodall first encountered over 55 years ago. Guided by three course instructors who have lived and worked with the Gombe chimpanzees, you will learn how Goodall’s early discoveries changed our view of human uniqueness. By completing the course, you will gain a new appreciation of the deep similarities between chimpanzees and humans in intelligence, tool use, hunting, personality and social relationships, as well as some key differences. You will learn how chimpanzees interact with their environment and how their behavior is influenced by ecology, as well as the severe conservation challenges they face today. And you will employ your new knowledge of chimpanzees to construct a persuasive argument for their protection. This course is open to everyone interested in learning more about these fascinating and complex beings. Knowledge of high-school level biology is beneficial but not required. Please keep in mind, however, that the content of this course will cover all aspects of chimpanzee life, including scientific discussion of sexual and aggressive behaviors....

热门审阅

AK
May 8, 2020

I knew some about chimpanzees, but this just furthered my love and knowledge even more. The course was clear and easy to follow. You get what you put into the course, so take the take and learn!

JJ
Apr 10, 2019

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

筛选依据:

1 - Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation 的 25 个评论(共 57 个)

创建者 Jessica K

Jul 29, 2019

Whether you're a zookeeper, anthropologist, or simply a great ape enthusiast, this course is great for learning about and/or furthering your knowledge about chimpanzees.

创建者 Petra F

Aug 20, 2019

I REALLY enjoyed this course. The instructors of the course are very knowledgeable and they presented the material in a clear and concise way; short videos followed by practice quizzes, discussion forums, occasional readings, and the weekly assessments. The videos were just the right length and the entire structure of the course made it possible for me (working a full-time and a part-time job) to complete this course. I wish there would be more courses offered by the same professors on this topic. Excellent course!

创建者 KateLyn M

May 13, 2019

Very much enjoyed the new information learned and the way that it was presented. Each video and activities were informative and interactive. Overall a great experience! Next, I would love to see Duke do further classes on other ape species.

创建者 Joseph B J

Apr 11, 2019

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

创建者 Sophie W

Sep 8, 2019

This style of learning fit perfectly with my current work/life routine and the course content was very thorough and easily accessible! Loved this 5 week course.

创建者 Christine C

Sep 10, 2019

Great course! I learned so many things about chimpanzees. It will help me as a new caregiver aid in a chimpanzees sanctuary. Thank you very much!

创建者 Tiffany J

May 22, 2019

This course was so interesting and helpful! I really hope more courses like this are designed for the other great ape species!!!

创建者 John C

Apr 29, 2019

I learned so much from this course. Very excellent information.

创建者 TATIANA V R H

May 8, 2019

The best course about chimpanzee

创建者 marly u r

Mar 21, 2019

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!

创建者 Editha S

Nov 12, 2020

I taught primatology at the University of Calgary from 1986-1991

and was curious to see new techniques or information from the field. I disgraced myself by not acing all the tests but you might want to examine the wording on the questions that I missed. In the question about advantages of group hunting I would agree that, in the long run, a lone hunter gets less meat but ,if he is successful in a single hunt and doesn't share, he gets more meat. Of course by age 76 my mind isn't what it used to be. Thanks for an interesting course.

M.E.Stephens

创建者 Abby L

May 31, 2020

I am a high school student, and this class was perfect. It was a fun and informative course that had its challenges but was understandable and wasn't too much of a time commitment. I learned so much and loved the professors of the course. This class inspired me to pursue some type of major in college that has to do with conservation/sustainability. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about chimpanzees and what they can do to help them.

创建者 Emily T

Aug 18, 2020

Incredibly informative, helpful and easy to digest. I know so much more about Chimpanzees and the important conservation efforts underway to preserve them and their environment. Considering how similar these great apes are to humans, learning all about their behavior was so interesting. I definitely feel a lot more informed. The modules were not difficult to follow and kept my interest throughout the whole thing.

创建者 Jessii p

May 7, 2020

Very interesting course, I learned a lot that I really had no clue about, especially how cell phones affect Chimpanzee populations and how hard they are to track and study. The professors made all the course work easy to understand and retain, and the peer review projects we had to do at the end were great.

创建者 Kylee S

Jun 7, 2020

All three instructors explained the information very well. The course was easy to follow, in a format that made it very easy to look back at any information or notes I needed to review. I took this class for fun, but I learned a lot of information that I believe will help me in my future career path.

创建者 Snigdhodeep M

May 8, 2020

This course was extremely helpful. I gained a lot of valuable knowledge from this. The course materials were very comprehensive and provided a lot of insights. This also shares a lot of information which has changed my perception on chimpanzees. Highly recommended!

创建者 Billie H

Feb 7, 2020

Up to date and relevant information throughout the 5 weeks, various topics are covered and it was fun to complete. This is a great course for any body instrested in Chimpanzees, Chimpanzee conservation or becoming a zookeeper. Thoroughly enjoyed this course.

创建者 Khalid A

May 18, 2020

I liked this course a lot. It was informative, mind opening and actually fun. I was enjoying each lesson. The instructors are well spoken and the material is clear. Nevertheless, don't expect to learn a lot of skills, it is mostly information.

创建者 Lorenzo G

Jul 27, 2020

Brilliant. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Just a shame you don't talk about other sanctuaries other than the JGI ones. Still, I strongly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in knowing our hairy relatives.

创建者 Martina

May 26, 2020

Beautiful and really interesting course where you will learn so much about this beautiful creatures. It was pleasure to listen lectures of great teachers and to be part of this journey with chimps. I will miss it!

创建者 Erma A

Sep 13, 2020

I found the class very informative and learned a lot of new information about chimp behavior and conservation. My admiration for Jane Goodall was already high and it has only been confirmed by this course.

创建者 Lynn H

May 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was well presented, in a level that was accessibnle and was enlightening!

Highly recommend tihs to anyone who has an interest in conservation, Chimpanzees, or rainforest.

创建者 Ashley K

May 9, 2020

I knew some about chimpanzees, but this just furthered my love and knowledge even more. The course was clear and easy to follow. You get what you put into the course, so take the take and learn!

创建者 Raquel D H

Jun 3, 2020

Uno de los que mas he disfrutado en esta plataforma, se aprenden muchísimas cosas que normalmente desconocemos y te incentiva mucho a leer sobre Jane Goodal y sus estudios sobre el tema.

创建者 Eva M G

Sep 12, 2020

Me ha encantado, he aprendido nociones básicas sobre la vida, comportamiento y conservación de los chimpancés, de un modo muy ameno y llevadero. Lo recomiendo y estoy muy agradecida.