Chevron Left
返回到 Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries 的评价和反馈

4.7
433 个评分
144 条评论

课程概述

This course challenges you to consider how one might lift societies out of poverty while also mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. We explore the inherent complexity of developing country governments wanting to grow their economies in a climate friendly way. You will be introduced to an approach with which to address this challenge. The approach consists of a facilitated process whereby academic researchers and high-level influential actors within society co-produce knowledge. You will track this process in four Latin American countries - Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and South Africa. You will hear from various professionals about their contexts and the different challenges and opportunities the process includes. This course will cover topics such as facilitation process techniques, energy modeling, scenario building, innovation and policy making. You will have the opportunity to respond to these topics with ideas and reflection from your own context. Whether you are a climate change practitioner, work in development or are simply curious about how climate mitigation is understood, this course will give you insights into the complexity of how countries from the South pursue development goals while addressing climate mitigation. The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion, which you become eligible for if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

热门审阅

MG
Oct 3, 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

CO
Nov 9, 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

筛选依据:

126 - Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries 的 145 个评论(共 145 个)

创建者 Arjun P

Nov 3, 2021

I find the course very useful to those who are working in climate change field. Topics and the processes included in the course will help provide a guide to the students, bureaucrats and development practitioners engaged in environmental management and climate change.

创建者 Crystal H G

Jun 14, 2021

Este curso me ayudo a comprender de una mejor manera como podemos reducir la huella de carbono en diferentes aspectos sociales y personales.

This course helped me to better understand how we can reduce our carbon footprint in different social and personal aspects.

创建者 Carlos E M R

Jul 5, 2017

Es un gran curso para comprender los retos que enfrentamos para lograr mitigar el cambio climático, así mismo brinda una visión de las herramientas necesarias para lograr una mayor divulgación de conocimientos relacionados con el tema.

创建者 Sroeurng L

Jun 14, 2016

If people can mitigation a climate change the world will be solve the problems . I hope this course can make me clear about climate change in the world . why's climate change ? what's the problems ?

创建者 SANJEEV K K

Sep 3, 2021

Thank you for the course. In order to improve it further I suggest- 1. Session wise summary of the lectures 2. To keep sessions in flow . These help in better grasping and minimize the redundancy

创建者 Sreelatha V

Sep 3, 2019

Very practical course that explains the ground-level reality about climate change and how research organizations cope with government, society and industries to get policies implemented.

创建者 Andre D

Jul 20, 2020

I learned a lot! What prevent me from giving 5 stars is that the last data mentioned are from 2017 and we are now, 3 years later, in a deeply changed world....

创建者 Carlos R C G

Dec 22, 2020

Excellent course, however this needs more practical videos like activities in the field that is why I only watch speakers explaining about the process.

创建者 Bla Y A

May 27, 2021

r​eally interesting course, i learned so much. I feel much more equipped to work in a climate change related field

创建者 Martins O

Jun 6, 2017

It bridged the gap between conceptions about adverse effect of climate change and practical mitigation.

创建者 Fébé P

Jul 21, 2019

Course very useful for an introduction to climate change issues and policy.

创建者 Zumrad S

Jul 28, 2020

Gives a good idea of what is MAPS through various country experiences.

创建者 Katya V C S

Jul 14, 2021

Interesting

创建者 HIMANSHU K S

Aug 6, 2020

good

创建者 Edyth M

Feb 15, 2018

G

创建者 legakwa

Jun 18, 2016

g

创建者 Grace A M R

Feb 15, 2016

Sugiero que las clases sean mas visuales, es decir que puedan tener mayor contenido visual, ya que es bueno escuchar las experiencias, pero hay escasas presentaciones y videos, lo cual haría mas ameno el curso

创建者 Lucía V I

Oct 8, 2020

Their experience on MAPS is interesting to learn but the way of communicating with just interviews makes it tedious

创建者 Adrien P

Jan 10, 2021

Hello,

I would like to draw the attention to the fact that the title of the course is misleading. By readinf its title, one could reasonably infer, at least I do, that the course deals with how mitigation must be different between developed and devoloping countries as well as among developing courses, taking into account local contexts such as resources, sociall demands, different climates, etc.

Actually, the course is about a defining a "super-wiked" problem and the building different models scenarios. The authors of the course have implemented these tools in some developing countries but they could be applied just the same way in developed countries.

Best regards,

Adrien Poisson

创建者 BRYAN L C O

Jul 2, 2021

.