Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,824 个评分
853 条评论

课程概述

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

热门审阅

AM

Dec 15, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 28, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

筛选依据:

751 - Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的 775 个评论(共 855 个)

创建者 Federica M

Apr 16, 2018

Thank you for your course. Teaching statistics to the ones (majority) who do not have maths background is incredibly hard and the works for teacher is humongous. Few flaws to highlight: some parts where a little bit too "simplistic" like for instance; sampling and frequency distribution , ANOVA Z and T tables. These parts I believe requires a little bit more insight in the nature of the maths behind it to grab a better understanding of it. I have to say I had to integrate your material with other you tube videos on the web to get a deeper sense of it. An introduction to ROC curve and Meta-analysis is something to consider for future courses

I have also noted a lack of reply to many questions written on the Forum.

But overall a very good course which delivers basic concept of statistics. I think I have improved the ability to better understand the methodology behind research and research manuscript.

创建者 Sergio F

Nov 25, 2020

You get understanding about basic statistics in biomedical reasearch but not deep. If you will to know how to perform the tests either by problem-solving and getting to know how to develop those calulations in each case for each test, you might have to further study in other places. I wish it also had that possibility with learning how to process the data for those test in informatics programs too such as R. I expected to learn from this course how to apply that knowledge (which was great taught) to my own research to produce conclusions over my trials

Overall, very nice explained and you get to learn a lot about data types and analyses. Now I will be able to understand what statistics is telling me in researching papers although I will not know how they did the maths underneath or how to apply it to my own research. I guess this is a first step ans basic knowledge was gathered here

创建者 ANOZIE I A

Mar 13, 2022

Such a great course!. Although it is most suitable for persons with some expereince in clinical research and/or stastics, persons from other career backgrounds can cope and will find the course illumating. The content is rich and has been designed to appeal to participants from a wide range of backgrounds. However, more visual illutrations could be addded to the course material as the course presentation commentary was overly verbose at places. Nonetheless, as a person with a background in law and who had never had anything to do with clinical research prior to taking this course, I can say that this was a valuable course.

创建者 Tri L

Dec 19, 2017

I'm thankful for the fact that there is little mathematical detail about the statistics, which is indeed a good choice for anyone who just want to correctly "read" a clinical research. The knowledge of the last 3 weeks is, however, too concise. I would love know more about story/nature behind each test, or at least, some good material too read or listen to. But I think, the course is very well structured, lectures are short and clear, examples are interesting and practical.

创建者 Hannah C

Jun 5, 2020

I found this course very helpful in breaking down the subject matter well and making it easy to understand. I however think there can be improvement in terms of the manner in which the information is conveyed in the videos. They should be made more exciting and more images and graphs should be used to help the student understand, not just the lecturer speaking. I also found the readings rather redundant as all they information was already relayed in the video before.

创建者 Sohaib S

Feb 5, 2022

I found this course very intuitive. Dr. Juan Klopper's way of describing things was very concise, and easy to understand. It helped me understand a lot of the basic key concepts used in medical research and gave me an insight into how to use it to read research articles along with using the knowledge to conduct my own research. The short quizzes were very helpful in recalling the previously learnt knowledge and testing my understanding of the subject.

创建者 hussien i

May 15, 2020

I took this course because I heat statistic and I want something easy to understand it, now I have finished the course I would say I did understand a lot of the concepts that will help me in reading and understanding and even criticize some research papers. special thanks to de.juan he really breaks things down to make it looks very easy. now I still heat statistics but I have its basic now ^_^

创建者 Rianne d B

Feb 6, 2016

Very useful course when you have very little background in statistics. You are taught the basic ideas behind the most commonly used statistical tests. The course really gives you a solid base to understand statistics described in scientific medical articles. Actually, after completing this course I felt confident enough to start doing basic statistical analyses on my own research data.

创建者 Nicholas Y

Apr 18, 2016

-Would highly recommend for anyone looking to quickly get a basis for evaluating statistics and logistics of medical literature. Notes sections after videos are an excellent supplement to the videos (which are not too long), and does a great job of hitting high points.

-If I could make 1 change I would expand the test section to explain more tests (logistic regression, etc.)

创建者 itai p

Apr 22, 2020

It was pretty good course. The movies parts were done at high level. Very easy to follow and gives a good general view. It would be easier to me to read the statistical part in papers. There are still some small parts, that I believe, could being explain better (I am afraid I still not sure about the central limit theorem :( ) but all in all it was very good.

创建者 Anand P

Mar 28, 2020

This is a good intro to bio-statistics course.

It has one of the most intuitive explanations of p-values and alphas.

Some of the explanations, like for sign and rank tests are confusing.

at times I wished there were more problems to do and reading material, but this is perfect for someone who doesn't want a very math heavy introduction to biostats.

创建者 Joan Y Z L

Feb 14, 2016

It's a good course if you want a general overview of the statistics of clinical research. Personally I was hoping for a little more depth in some of the statistical methods. Some links or suggested readings on the methods would be great as we move along the course. Overall a delightful course. Everything is clearly explained. Thank you Dr. Koppler!

创建者 Deleted A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a true course of statistics for beginner especially tailored for health professional. I learn so many basic terms and concept behind the statistics. The 2 to 10 minutes videos combined with keynote are really helpful for understanding. However, I do wish there is similar course that use longer time to include more depth in all aspects.

创建者 Husam E A M I

Jul 22, 2016

have learn too much interesting concepts and perspective regarding interpreting the results of an statistical analysis, also knowing how to chose the perfect statistic tool for a given data set>>>>really enjoyed to have such course with that excellent explanation

Note:can you guys make a better presentation image to visualize hard concepts.

创建者 Elham M

Jan 24, 2022

I was looking for a course to check if I perform the basic analysis on my patients' data correctly. This course was exactly the answer I was asking. an abstract but enough explanation on types of variables, sampling methods, study designs and proper epidemiological tests for each type of variables and design.

创建者 Saleh N S A M

Jun 7, 2020

Good overall course but I felt a bit lost during the last two weeks of the course as I felt that it was not explained clearly by the tutor. Also because of the tutor accent it was hard at times to keep following what he says so I had to refer to the reading sections in order to understand what he was saying.

创建者 Dinul D

Dec 4, 2020

The course was very well articulated. He covered all the relevant parts and built from the basics up. We could maybe benefit from a bit more description of the background of the different statistics especially around week 3. I felt like there was a small gap there. But overall a wonderful experience

创建者 Kamesh R

Nov 26, 2019

This is a very nice introductory course to clinical research with explanation about various research methodologies and statistical tests and which test to use in what scenario. It makes many concepts clear and lays a good foundation for pursuing further interests in the area of clinical research.

创建者 Elena S T

May 17, 2020

The course is broad and covers information pertaining to different types of clinical studies, the difference between them, and statistical analysis associated with such studies. Good overview for beginners and a refresher for people that are familiar with either clinical studies or statistics.

创建者 Peerada N

May 16, 2017

Overall okay, but touches each of the subjects only at the basics. Makes you unable to understand the different types of research and what tests/assessments to use for different kinds of data. Additional self study is required, as they will not go deep into the maths and actual calculation.

创建者 Luigi M

Apr 18, 2020

my personal opinion is that the course is quite well designed, very finely trimmed in many aspects. The only thing I would say is that possibly the course should focus slightly more on which statistical test one should choose. This is the only thing, otherwise it was an outstanding course!

创建者 Morgan G

Sep 1, 2017

The course content was good but I wished for a little more hands on experience with the statistics. I particularly like the optional excel lessons and wish there were more of those. Perhaps add exercises in excel or other spreadsheet software to reinforce the learning?

创建者 John W

Nov 18, 2017

Very good overview of the basics clinical study design and data analysis. I feel that sections 5 and 6 were dealt with a little cursorily with very brief mentions of the different types of statistical analyses. That's why I rated the course 4 stars instead of 5.

创建者 Erum S

Jun 16, 2020

It is a very helping course and made maximally convenient in terms of time management. Sessions were both at the beginners level in early weeks but became little bit complicated later well this is the part of the study overall good helping station for us.

创建者 Kathryn M

Mar 4, 2019

Great intro or review for healthcare workers. A little more info and more examples would have been appreciated for all the statistical tests in week 5. Paired t-test is not mentioned in the notes or videos and yet appears in a number of the quizzes.